Results 1 to 10 of 10
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,265, Level: 13
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 185
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Eindhoven/Netherlands
    Posts
    31
    Points
    2,265
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Question Choose USB hard drive

    I have a 40PFLK8007K/12, what would be the best characteristics for a USB hard drive used for Time Shift and recording?

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 394, Level: 4
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 56
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!250 Experience Points31 days registered
    lhave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    73
    Points
    394
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Rep Power
    1
    A minimum of 250GB data, and a transfer rate of 30MB/s. Also, it's preferable to have a hard drive with an external power source.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to lhave For This Useful Post:

    Mark (01-07-2014)

  4. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,265, Level: 13
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 185
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Eindhoven/Netherlands
    Posts
    31
    Points
    2,265
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lhave View Post
    A minimum of 250GB data, and a transfer rate of 30MB/s. Also, it's preferable to have a hard drive with an external power source.
    Currently I have a 1TB WD HDD with power over USB, however combined with regular freeze-problems. How can I be sure a smaller disk and/or external powered one will solve these problems

    Thanks, mark

  5. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 18,054, Level: 41
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 896
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,109
    Points
    18,054
    Level
    41
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 104 Times in 88 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark View Post
    Currently I have a 1TB WD HDD with power over USB, however combined with regular freeze-problems. How can I be sure a smaller disk and/or external powered one will solve these problems

    Thanks, mark
    Hi Mark,

    If your WD HDD requires more than 500mA power supply the TV cannot supply this via USB. This can cause disturbances with your recordings as the HDD is not working under optimal conditions. Therefore having a HDD with own power supply is ideal when using larger/USB 3.0 HDDs.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Forum Mod

  6. #5
    New Member
    Points: 43, Level: 1
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 7
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2
    Points
    43
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello,

    I’ve recently bought an 32PFL5008H/12. It supports the recording via an USB disk. However, I’ve tried multiple disks with various sizes but I can not get the tv to accept a disk. Every time I connect a disk and follow the steps, during step 3 it reports that the drive is not fast enough. I’ve bought a 1Tb USB3 disk, one of the fastest in its class, just for the purpose of recording, that I cannot use. Is there an other way to get the tv to accept that disk?

    With regards,

    Chris

  7. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 18,054, Level: 41
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 896
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,109
    Points
    18,054
    Level
    41
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 104 Times in 88 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Chris,

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris Blom View Post
    Hello,

    I’ve recently bought an 32PFL5008H/12. It supports the recording via an USB disk. However, I’ve tried multiple disks with various sizes but I can not get the tv to accept a disk. Every time I connect a disk and follow the steps, during step 3 it reports that the drive is not fast enough. I’ve bought a 1Tb USB3 disk, one of the fastest in its class, just for the purpose of recording, that I cannot use. Is there an other way to get the tv to accept that disk?

    With regards,

    Chris
    Have you checked the below?

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    If your WD HDD requires more than 500mA power supply the TV cannot supply this via USB. This can cause disturbances with your recordings as the HDD is not working under optimal conditions. Therefore having a HDD with own power supply is ideal when using larger/USB 3.0 HDDs.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Forum Mod

  8. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,265, Level: 13
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 185
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Eindhoven/Netherlands
    Posts
    31
    Points
    2,265
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Ina,
    Please tell me how can check this and how can I be sure buying another HDD would solve the problem. I already spend over 60 EUR on the current HDD, that's a WD 1TB 2.0 & 3.0 USB My Passport (WDBBEP0010BBK)
    Phlips only specified it needed to be USB 2.0 compliant and that's the case.


    Thanks for your answer.
    Kind regards,
    Mark

  9. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 330, Level: 3
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    35
    Points
    330
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    mark, you need to get external hdd which has its own power supply. Usually they are 3,5" HDD. They are cheaper than 2,5" and bigger in sizes though less portable and more chunky.
    Like this one

  10. #9
    New Member
    Points: 43, Level: 1
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 7
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2
    Points
    43
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Ina,

    Thanks for your reply. Iíve tried a special cable, that uses both usb port on the tv. The amount of power should be sufficient enough to power the disk. In my experience, if a disk does not get enough power, it will not work at all. In my case the tv completes stage 2 and only failed to complete the speedtest. And as stated before, the disk is the fastest in it class. Iíve also tried the disk with an other Philips tv, a 8007k/12, and the disk works just fine. I hope you can help me with this problem

    With regards,

    Chris



    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    Hi Chris,



    Have you checked the below?




    Best regards,
    Ina

  11. #10
    Moderator
    Points: 18,054, Level: 41
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 896
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,109
    Points
    18,054
    Level
    41
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 104 Times in 88 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris Blom View Post
    Hi Ina,

    Thanks for your reply. I’ve tried a special cable, that uses both usb port on the tv. The amount of power should be sufficient enough to power the disk. In my experience, if a disk does not get enough power, it will not work at all. In my case the tv completes stage 2 and only failed to complete the speedtest. And as stated before, the disk is the fastest in it class. I’ve also tried the disk with an other Philips tv, a 8007k/12, and the disk works just fine. I hope you can help me with this problem

    With regards,

    Chris

    Hi Chris,

    We cannot guarantee that the TV will supply power though a dual USB adapter in this fashion. So if it does not work, then your HDD probably uses more than 500mA of power and needs it's own power supply.

    However, you can try to format the HDD on a PC in FAT16, FAT32 or NTFS and try again.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Forum Mod

Similar Topics

  1. USB Hard drive Partitionning
    By Marqueux in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-23-2012, 12:07 PM
  2. Hard Drive not detected??
    By Nico in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-27-2012, 06:15 AM
  3. Not playing mkv from USB hard drive
    By polsturm in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-18-2012, 06:44 PM
  4. USB Hard Drive for 7606T
    By Rotvig in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 09:56 AM
  5. 42PFL9603 - using USB hard drive?
    By jtoxford in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-02-2011, 07:53 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •