Results 1 to 15 of 15
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 62, Level: 1
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 88
    Overall activity: 28.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6
    Points
    62
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Problems with 42PFL4208/H12 Model

    Out of the box, no HDMI port would work (tv would crash), the update fixed that.

    Current problems:

    Every now and then, the TV stops responding to the remote. Sometimes I can turn it off and on using the buttons on the TV and it will then respond. Other times I have to switch it off at the plug and then back on to respond again. This is very annoying, is there a solution and why is it happening?

    New problem: today had the TV at standby for a few hours with the usb attached, then later left the house (TV was still in standby).
    I come back home after 1 hour, and to my surprise TV appears to be ON and shows a grey screen, and after a few minutes it turns on by itself and goes on to the USB browser!!!

    using the latest 3.000000000000001 firmware

    thanks
    Last edited by brainii; 01-09-2014 at 05:10 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 10,819, Level: 31
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 431
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive3 months registered10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,399
    Points
    10,819
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 65 Times in 52 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by brainii View Post
    Out of the box, no HDMI port would work (tv would crash), the update fixed that.

    Current problems:

    Every now and then, the TV stops responding to the remote. Sometimes I can turn it off and on using the buttons on the TV and it will then respond. Other times I have to switch it off at the plug and then back on to respond again. This is very annoying, is there a solution and why is it happening?

    New problem: today had the TV at standby for a few hours with the usb attached, then later left the house (TV was still in standby).
    I come back home after 1 hour, and to my surprise TV appears to be ON and shows a grey screen, and after a few minutes it turns on by itself and goes on to the USB browser!!!

    using the latest 3.000000000000001 firmware

    thanks
    Hi brainii,

    Please try to reset your remote control:

    1.
    Remove the batteries from the remote control.

    2.
    Place the remote control with the buttons down on a flat surface. Press down firmly but carefully so all buttons are depressed for 4-5 seconds.

    3.
    Reinsert the batteries.


    In regards to the grey screen appearing and the TV then appearing to "wake up", this could be due to a channel update being in process. This update would have come from your channel provider.
    You can check if Automatic Channel Update is enabled here:
    HOME > [Setup] > [Channel settings] > [Channel installation] > [Automatic channel update]

    If a USB device is connected to the TV when waking up from standby, the TV will automatically switch to the USB source. This is a feature of the TV.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 62, Level: 1
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 88
    Overall activity: 28.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6
    Points
    62
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    thanks for the reply, indeed the problem waking up was due to channel auto update which I have now disabled.

    However, there are 3 problems that remain:
    1) The TV still doesn't respond to the remote (or to it's buttons on the actual TV) at times, only solution I found was to turn it off and on at the plug.
    2) Some channels show message "Enter pin".. I have set no pin and the channels are unlocked, turn it off and on at the plug fixes this also..
    3) SmartTV features such as youtube after some time freeze and the TV restarts itself..

    Any solutions??? I'm sure most of these glitches can be fixed by a new firmware update, will we be expecting one any time soon?
    thanks

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 445, Level: 4
    Level completed: 95%, Points required for next Level: 5
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1
    Points
    445
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    i have sinds yesterday the same problems with my 32pfl4508h/12 the tv does not response to the remote control , is extreem slow, en i can not get into the home setting from the tv .
    on my older model the 42pfl7565 no problems

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 62, Level: 1
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 88
    Overall activity: 28.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6
    Points
    62
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    this situation is absolutely ridiculous.
    I will be taking the TV back and after they check it at the store and even send it back to Philips, (and I'm sure they won't be able to fix the issues), I'll be exchanging it for a different brand, that will hopefully work. I've been lucky with Samsung TV's in the recent past, so maybe get one of those.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 20, Level: 1
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 30
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3
    Points
    20
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    ok iv got that same problem on my 46pfl4908h... That same problem with no working remote controler and side buttons on tv. But when i disconnect my tv from internet... evrything is ok.. I dont understand this!?!
    btw; im using new software... and i try connect to 2 diffrent routers . When i connect by my phone (thetering) it was ok ...
    Last edited by han2; 01-25-2014 at 10:06 AM.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 180, Level: 2
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2
    Points
    180
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    same problem her. I have a 40PFL4508T/12. It started yesterday and the tvset is very slow when trying to access setup menu or go online. I am quite sure it has something do do with Philips server.....

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 62, Level: 1
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 88
    Overall activity: 28.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6
    Points
    62
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    well, the problems I have remain whether or not the TV is connected or not to the Wifi..

    Even if I shut down my wifi router, the TV still doesn't respond randomly.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 20, Level: 1
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 30
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3
    Points
    20
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    yes but when you turn off your internet connection.. and reset your tv evrythingh should be ok. But we have still that problem.. i bought that tv because i want a smart tv.. no piece of &*^$&

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 29, Level: 1
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 21
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6
    Points
    29
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello,

    I have the same problem, sometime it works, but often it stalls. I doesn't respond on the remote control and on the buttons on the back.

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 62, Level: 1
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 88
    Overall activity: 28.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6
    Points
    62
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by han2 View Post
    yes but when you turn off your internet connection.. and reset your tv evrythingh should be ok. But we have still that problem.. i bought that tv because i want a smart tv.. no piece of &*^$&

    I have reset everything and reinstalled all applications (as Philips support suggested). With or without internet, the TV still doesn't respond untill you turn it off at the plug..

    Even if it did work without Internet, this is supposed to be a Smart TV so no Internet shouldn't really be an option.

    I'm sad to return it because when it does work (e.g. when playing stuff from USB, the audio and visual quality is very good).

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 29, Level: 1
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 21
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6
    Points
    29
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    At this moment the tv works fine. Since yesterday I have no problems. Strange

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 20, Level: 1
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 30
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3
    Points
    20
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    that same here.. now its evrything ok with my tv. I think it was problem with philips servers.

    LOL !! now i get " Due to maintance the ... And smart tv doesnt work. And next problem .. when i watch movie (file size 17 gb 3d movie) from usb or dlna serwer... its freez ... all time . I watch movie and after about 20-30 min video freez. and i must go back to main menu and turn on again movie...
    Last edited by han2; 01-28-2014 at 09:26 PM.

  14. #14
    New Member
    Points: 29, Level: 1
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 21
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6
    Points
    29
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I had the same problem with the net tv down, but since this morning everything is okay.

  15. #15
    Moderator
    Points: 10,819, Level: 31
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 431
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive3 months registered10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,399
    Points
    10,819
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 65 Times in 52 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi all,

    If you have updated to the latest software version, please report any software issues in the relevant software threads.

    Thank you!

    Ina
    Forum Mod

Similar Topics

  1. Model 8008 wireless connectivity problems
    By bbelkar in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-06-2014, 01:01 PM
  2. new model remote control with old model Smart TV
    By tampa_trick in forum Smart TV: Model Numbers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-29-2013, 02:31 PM
  3. problems with Model: 42PDL7906H/12
    By microvip in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-28-2012, 10:13 PM
  4. 42pfl6007(/k12) Problems, problems, problems, and I'm done with it!
    By FifthAxiom in forum TV: Software 2012 models
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-20-2012, 10:08 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •