Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Topic: auto turn on

  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 14, Level: 1
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    1
    Points
    14
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    auto turn on

    Hi,
    I have a 32PFL5507 tv .
    The TV backlight sometimes automatically is turned on.

    It's related to the automatic channel update, which is turned ON and I can not switch this off (greyed out).
    I have the latest SW version, tried a hard reset, and new installation, but the problem remains!

    This is the second time it occurs, along with the issue that channel up/down buttons from the remote don't work.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.

    Bye
    Hans

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 511, Level: 5
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 39
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    12
    Points
    511
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    This problem have not yet solved. Every day search updates that although this option disabled.

    I have the same problem a year ago. At the end turn off the tv and I do not leave it in stanby.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Points: 16,949, Level: 39
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 301
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,027
    Points
    16,949
    Level
    39
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 102 Times in 86 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi!

    To be able to disable Automatic Channel Update this also needs to be allowed by the channel provider. Some providers (for example Ziggo in The Nederlands) do not allow this feature to be disabled.

    Please check with your channel provider if this is allowed with the service you receive.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Forum Mod

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,598, Level: 14
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 152
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    MartiniB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Riga, Latvia
    Posts
    50
    Points
    2,598
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    i have found a way how to avoid visiting Philip's slow+complicated+user unfriendly menu system -
    connected power cord of 46pfl9707h in to PCW-MS2G
    which's USB goes to Dreambox dm8000sstt
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PCW_MS2G_c1.jpeg 
Views:	30 
Size:	11.8 KB 
ID:	2402

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,426, Level: 10
    Level completed: 38%, Points required for next Level: 124
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    19
    Points
    1,426
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    I did...contacted UPC. They have no access to change the menu in my TV.

    I have only a coax connection, analog subscription with a few free digital channels.
    Quite annoying to be woken up in the middle of the night by your TV
    After 1st complaint to Philips I got another TV (same model).
    But the issue remains, and after contacting supportI was informed the problem is known, and there is no solution...(why swap the tv then in the 1st place?).

    The only solution remaining is to unplug the tv...

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 23, Level: 1
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    2
    Points
    23
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi all,

    Wanted to share my experience and workaround for this issue. Just to verify, my turning-on issue symptoms are similar to "thepaddo" last report. My TV doesn't turn on the screen itself only the audio. That happens every day...
    There is an audio output for around 5 seconds for 3-4 times over a period of an hour, and that happens around 4-5am. The problem is even worse as my audio is routed via the optical output to a receiver which is hidden and I leave running on, so you can expect the noise level if the volume is left on a high settings....

    Anyway, after trying all of the options/FW to no avail, my current workaround that at least mitigates the impact is turning off the automatic clock setting and adjusting the clock 5-6 hours BACKWARDS, which moves the daily turn-on issue to around 10am which is more tolerable.

    my 2 cents...

    And to Philips - There is no excuse not to solve this or at least have a REAL WORKING workaround immediately....

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 16,949, Level: 39
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 301
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,027
    Points
    16,949
    Level
    39
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 102 Times in 86 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi!

    Quote Originally Posted by thepaddo View Post
    I did...contacted UPC. They have no access to change the menu in my TV.

    I have only a coax connection, analog subscription with a few free digital channels.
    Quite annoying to be woken up in the middle of the night by your TV
    After 1st complaint to Philips I got another TV (same model).
    But the issue remains, and after contacting supportI was informed the problem is known, and there is no solution...(why swap the tv then in the 1st place?).

    The only solution remaining is to unplug the tv...
    Have you checked the automatic channel update? Is this available to you?

    UPC do not as such have access to your TV, that is correct. But through the channel installation the menus can be altered in accordance with the channel provider.


    Quote Originally Posted by cornypop View Post
    Hi all,

    Wanted to share my experience and workaround for this issue. Just to verify, my turning-on issue symptoms are similar to "thepaddo" last report. My TV doesn't turn on the screen itself only the audio. That happens every day...
    There is an audio output for around 5 seconds for 3-4 times over a period of an hour, and that happens around 4-5am. The problem is even worse as my audio is routed via the optical output to a receiver which is hidden and I leave running on, so you can expect the noise level if the volume is left on a high settings....

    Anyway, after trying all of the options/FW to no avail, my current workaround that at least mitigates the impact is turning off the automatic clock setting and adjusting the clock 5-6 hours BACKWARDS, which moves the daily turn-on issue to around 10am which is more tolerable.

    my 2 cents...

    And to Philips - There is no excuse not to solve this or at least have a REAL WORKING workaround immediately....
    Changing the time perhaps a work around that works for some. However, the time would need to be returned to correct time if any kind of internet services need to be used. Such as for SmartTV, scheduling recordings and IP-EPG.

    I do sugguest you check the Automatic Channel update as well.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Forum Mod

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,426, Level: 10
    Level completed: 38%, Points required for next Level: 124
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    19
    Points
    1,426
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    Hi!



    Have you checked the automatic channel update? Is this available to you?



    Best regards,
    Ina
    Automatic channel update can not be turned off.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 23, Level: 1
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    2
    Points
    23
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for the fast reply. my "automatic channel update" is already set to "off" for a long time, this never had any impact in my TV.
    For now, there is no working solution other than my time adjustment workaround , I can giveup the smartTV and any other feature and still this is a serious annoyance.

    Can you please update whether there is a real solution in progress?

    Thanks!

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,426, Level: 10
    Level completed: 38%, Points required for next Level: 124
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    19
    Points
    1,426
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cornypop View Post
    Thanks for the fast reply. my "automatic channel update" is already set to "off" for a long time, this never had any impact in my TV.
    For now, there is no working solution other than my time adjustment workaround , I can giveup the smartTV and any other feature and still this is a serious annoyance.

    Can you please update whether there is a real solution in progress?

    Thanks!
    Hi Cornypop.
    FYI, I am also an unhappy customer, not working at Philips Support...

    Just an idea, put the AC plug of your TV on a timeswitch that puts power off inbetween 04AM and 06AM?
    It's not a solution, I know.

    bye
    Hans

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to thepaddo For This Useful Post:

    cornypop (02-28-2014)

  12. #11
    Moderator
    Points: 16,949, Level: 39
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 301
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,027
    Points
    16,949
    Level
    39
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 102 Times in 86 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by thepaddo View Post
    Automatic channel update can not be turned off.

    Hi thepaddo.

    If this option is disabled in the menu it would be due to your channel installation. Your channel provider has chosen to disable it for your channel service.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Forum Mod

  13. #12
    Moderator
    Points: 16,949, Level: 39
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 301
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,027
    Points
    16,949
    Level
    39
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 102 Times in 86 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by cornypop View Post
    Thanks for the fast reply. my "automatic channel update" is already set to "off" for a long time, this never had any impact in my TV.
    For now, there is no working solution other than my time adjustment workaround , I can giveup the smartTV and any other feature and still this is a serious annoyance.

    Can you please update whether there is a real solution in progress?

    Thanks!

    Hi cornypop,

    Could you please specify which solution you are enquiring about? This topic has multiple issues mentioned.

    If your TV turns on by itself (thread topic), please ensure your TV is up to date with the latest software and please report any issues in the relevant software thread.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Forum Mod

  14. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,426, Level: 10
    Level completed: 38%, Points required for next Level: 124
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    19
    Points
    1,426
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    Hi thepaddo.

    If this option is disabled in the menu it would be due to your channel installation. Your channel provider has chosen to disable it for your channel service.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    hi Ina,
    They state they can not do that. Even with the coax unplugged I can not turn it
    off.

    I still am awakened by my tv on regular basis around 0500 am...the hdd starts
    spinning now.

    A very nasty error in this model, not acceptable. Other series like 37pfl9606
    don't have this problem.

    What is your solution?
    Thanks.
    Bye
    Hans

  15. #14
    Moderator
    Points: 16,949, Level: 39
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 301
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,027
    Points
    16,949
    Level
    39
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 102 Times in 86 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by thepaddo View Post
    hi Ina,
    They state they can not do that. Even with the coax unplugged I can not turn it
    off.

    I still am awakened by my tv on regular basis around 0500 am...the hdd starts
    spinning now.

    A very nasty error in this model, not acceptable. Other series like 37pfl9606
    don't have this problem.

    What is your solution?
    Thanks.
    Bye
    Hans


    Hi Hans,

    The solution is to contact your channel provider. It is not an error in the TV. The TV simply does what it has been instructed to do when the channels were installed from your provider.

    A channel provider that is known to not allow this is for example the Dutch provider Ziggo.

    The reason why, when you remove the coaxial antenna cable, you still can't select it is because the channels are already installed. This does not change by removing the cable.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Forum Mod

  16. #15
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,426, Level: 10
    Level completed: 38%, Points required for next Level: 124
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    19
    Points
    1,426
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    Hi Hans,

    The solution is to contact your channel provider. It is not an error in the TV. The TV simply does what it has been instructed to do when the channels were installed from your provider.

    A channel provider that is known to not allow this is for example the Dutch provider Ziggo.

    The reason why, when you remove the coaxial antenna cable, you still can't select it is because the channels are already installed. This does not change by removing the cable.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Ina,

    The fact that the tv spontaneously switches on IS an error in this tv. That was also confirmed by the Philips support phone. We have another philips tv that does not show this issue, so it is definitely related to this type.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. TV auto turn on after release new firmware
    By Deon in forum TV: Software 2012 models
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-18-2013, 11:37 AM
  2. my tv just turn off and it won't turn back on
    By DAVE@REVENUEDOGS.COM in forum TV: Experience and Insights
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-21-2013, 09:16 AM
  3. HTL5120/12 auto turn off problem
    By Blindless in forum Sound: Sound Bar (1.1 system)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-05-2013, 05:58 AM
  4. Auto Fill & Auto Zoom
    By elihay in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-24-2011, 10:40 AM
  5. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 05-10-2011, 04:56 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •