Results 1 to 3 of 3
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 26, Level: 1
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 24
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2
    Points
    26
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Philips 32PFL4258H/12 wireless issues

    Hello there.
    Just bought myself a 32PFL4258H/12 model and can't be more happier with it.
    The TV is great everything works as it should except for the wireless connectivity.

    As we know this tv has a built in Wi-Fi.
    So the first days when I bought it I used Wireless connectivity, DHCP & Auto IP,
    Standard connection,
    searched my router, entered key (pass) and the Smart function came to life.

    All good but for some reason I couldn't open my network (can't see the PC and the laptop).
    The tv shows 192.168.5.1 ip address in the menu.
    That's strange because the router is setup to
    distribute addresses from 192.168.0. from 100 to 200.
    - Gateway is 192.168.0.1
    - Subnet 255.255.255.0
    - DNS - 192.168.2.1 all good.

    Then I made some changes, set to Static Ip the tv to ...0.103, and I bound the tv's mac with the IP I give it,
    so every time the tv connect to the network gets the same ip address. All good, I switch to network source,
    I see my servers, and can play videos, music or what ever using the WMP 12 on Windows 7 x64.
    No problems, except I can't access the internet.
    Hmm...now what?

    Here's what happened later, I set the tv to DHCP & Auto Ip but I still keep the Mac bound to 192.168.0.103.
    Go to work in the morning, come home later, tv's on for several hours.
    I ping the tv 192.168.0.103 using cmd, get steady response 2-30ms.
    Tv shows 192.168.5.1 ip address, which is not correct.
    I see the tv on my network, can stream from pc, and now can access internet. Playing youtube for some time
    and no connection has been lost an hour or so. I turn it off. My sister is watching tv now. After some time I see that the connection has been lost with the tv, but it reconnected it self after some time. (using ping function, Request timed out).

    Now that was the most perfect day using the wireless connection. The thing is that this doesn't happen always,
    the tv needs some time to get it self connected once started and that's if it gets connected. This morning I've
    waited some two hours and the tv hasn't connected to the network.

    So picked up my crossover cable, Wired, DHCP & Auto IP, and bam... instant access to my network and internet.
    Ip shows correctly 192.168.0.110 on router and tv. SPECTACULAR.

    What I'm asking now is there something I'm missing so I can make my tv work perfect in wireless mode?
    I can update the firmware but I'm not sure that could solve the problem or do more damage.
    If ain't broken don't fix it.

    Tv firmware was some 2.0039...i think or whatever.
    Newest is: 003.000.000.001
    Made in Poland, using it in Macedonia.
    Router: Tenda W311R using mixed 802.11b/g/n mode.

    I can provide you with more technical details if needed.

    Thank You.
    Last edited by RoyOBannon; 01-11-2014 at 10:19 AM.

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 394, Level: 4
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 56
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!250 Experience Points31 days registered
    lhave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    73
    Points
    394
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Rep Power
    1
    There is literally no reason not to update the firmware -- might fix the issue. You could also try on another wireless network to see if it's a router setting not playing well with the TV? A wireless hot spot (on a phone for example) is a good test case.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 26, Level: 1
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 24
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2
    Points
    26
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    An update.
    Changed the router settings, unbound the Mac address
    with the ip, set the lease time to a week for the Ip
    (doesn't change anything,but...),
    and set the TV to DHCP & Auto IP.

    It gets 192.168.0.101, but cannot get a stable connection. Haven't dropped while streaming over the network,
    but it drops at random when not using smart/network function and sometimes can't establish connection when reconnecting it from the menu.

    About the firmware it would have been nice what issues does
    the newer firmware solve, because I only have most likely compatibility ones.

    Hot spot? Not familiar with that one will do some research.

    If I fix the problem I'll post.

Similar Topics

  1. Coonect Philips Smart TV to a wireless keyboard
    By Luc Timmermans in forum Smart TV: Installation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-15-2014, 11:21 AM
  2. Philips WACS700/05 Streamium Wireless Music Centre
    By JumpingJack in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-10-2014, 01:48 PM
  3. Philips Fidelio HTL9100 - Soundbar with wireless subwoofer
    By shovon in forum Sound: Sound Bar (1.1 system)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-13-2013, 10:07 AM
  4. 32PFL4258H/12 compatible wifi keyboard
    By Carogiva in forum Smart TV: Installation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-01-2013, 06:08 PM
  5. Cannot connect to wireless router(Philips In.sight Monitor)
    By tedski_1 in forum Apps: In.Sight Wireless Monitor and In.Sight App
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-03-2013, 02:18 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •