Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 160, Level: 2
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 90
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    12
    Points
    160
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    CED780 - Not working with iPod

    Hi

    I have recently installed a new CED780 car entertainment system which is very good, ,except it does not seem to work with my iPod classic (160gb) it does seem to work (although a bit intermittently) with my iPhone 4, any clues as to what the problem could be? It just does a fairly brief 'reading' and then goes back to what ever it was doing previously.

    Also I would like to upload Western Europe MAPS to the nav system, but the unit only came with 2gb micro sd card and will not have enough space, can I just buy a bigger card and port the maps on to that?

    Many thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 7,752, Level: 26
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 398
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive5000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Rafal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,265
    Points
    7,752
    Level
    26
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 48 Times in 45 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear p1mtl,

    Can you please advise the following:

    1. Your location.
    2. What kind of connection are you using: wired or bluetooth?
    3. Have you tried resetting the device? Please see page 36 of the following user manual:

    http://download.p4c.philips.com/file...55_dfu_aen.pdf

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 160, Level: 2
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 90
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    12
    Points
    160
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Rafal View Post
    Dear p1mtl,

    Can you please advise the following:

    1. Your location.
    2. What kind of connection are you using: wired or bluetooth?
    3. Have you tried resetting the device? Please see page 36 of the following user manual:

    http://download.p4c.philips.com/file...55_dfu_aen.pdf

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Hi My Location is UK (Guildford)

    Wired connection - I tried with removing and only putting a few songs on the iPod (upto date on SW) and it recognised initially then failed after a 2nd time! This is with 2 different iPods as well. ALso, not great with iPhone to...

    I have reset the device BTW - it makes a huge click when pressing the reset.


    I copied the existing small 2gb micro SD card to my PC and copied back to a lager one 8gb. Naviextras then allowed and completed the transfer (after paying for the maps!), but then when inserting in the CED780 it says I dont have a license for these maps?

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 160, Level: 2
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 90
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    12
    Points
    160
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Forgot to mention:

    Wired iPod, or iPhone

    Yes I have reset the CED780, BTW it makes a huge click/burst in the speakers when you do this!

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 160, Level: 2
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 90
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    12
    Points
    160
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Further information and this is getting very very frustrating!!!!!

    I tried to put my music on an SD card, and the unit wont read that either!!

    Any help would really be appreciated!!

    Is there a size limit with SD cards? Seems to work with smaller cards.
    Last edited by p1mtl; 02-14-2014 at 06:09 PM.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 7,752, Level: 26
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 398
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive5000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Rafal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,265
    Points
    7,752
    Level
    26
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 48 Times in 45 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hello,

    1. The system supports max. 32GB, so iPod (160GB) is not supported.

    2. You can only use the provided SD card for GPS.

    Can you please advise the following:

    1. Your iPhone iOS version and system software version.
    2. What is the capacity of SD card not supported?

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 160, Level: 2
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 90
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    12
    Points
    160
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    OK thanks for getting back to me.

    It's very frustrating that it is not mentioned anywhere that 32gb is the units maximum. I was using a 64gb SD card, and find it works with 32gb.
    I have 2 iPods one 160gb but also one at 30gb, and this one does not work either.

    Again very frustrating on the GPS sd card, as it mentions every where about being able to upgrade but with the 2gb standard it does not have much space available - you as a large consumer product company should make these limitations very clear in your marketing!!!

    I purchased this unit specifically to work with my iPod - which is standard at 160gb, and wanted the western European maps on the gps, which are typically available on any cheap and cheerful gps product.

    Do Philips have different kits for the GPS system? It was strange that the sd card and the antenna appeared to be an add on and not standard?

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Points: 7,752, Level: 26
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 398
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive5000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Rafal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,265
    Points
    7,752
    Level
    26
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 48 Times in 45 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear p1mtl,

    Can you please advise your CED780 software version?

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 160, Level: 2
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 90
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    12
    Points
    160
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    ARM D0917 - 2.0.18RVL

    Servo 13_06_19 SV780 V01

    MCU CED780 RDS1031 - 2A

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 120, Level: 1
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 30
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    5
    Points
    120
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi.
    I have the same issue as P1MTL

    I have a 160GB iPod Classic 7th Gen.

    I believe to be the issue of the iPod hard drive format when setting up the iPod.

    P1MTL -
    Are you a Mac user?

    on your iPod - to view this formatted info - SETTINGS > ABOUT > SCROLL ACROSS TO THE VERSION OF SOFTWARE AND SERIAL NUMBER etc IS DISPLAYED.
    MAC OR WINDOWS?

    Mine is Mac formatted.

    I have a 60GB iPod 4TH GEN - Windows formatted and it recognises the iPod Classic Fine.
    Sometimes I can't Skip Tracks as it doesn't respond - but swap to iPod control skip track and Swap back to Philips head unit control and all is fine again. This problem seems intermittent.

    So my Honest opinion is the iPod formatting - Mac VS Windows.
    I believe once a hard drive on an iPod is formatted to Windows or Mac it can not be re-formatted.


    Rafal (Philips) - Is there a later software version for the Philips CED780/98?

    If so - How do I update?

    I have
    ARM version - C1215-2.0.17R
    Servo version -
    MCU Version - CED780 RDS10107-2A

    Regards,
    Craig
    Last edited by mushroom079; 02-19-2014 at 09:31 AM.

  11. #11
    Moderator
    Points: 7,752, Level: 26
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 398
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive5000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Rafal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,265
    Points
    7,752
    Level
    26
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 48 Times in 45 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear p1mtl,

    What is your iPhone iOS version please?

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 120, Level: 1
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 30
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    5
    Points
    120
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    VIEW IMAGE HERE:
    https://db.tt/nPDI5GjA

    Screen Shot of Software version

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 160, Level: 2
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 90
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    12
    Points
    160
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for the info Craig

    Both my iPods are Windows formatted, even though I have a mac and wondered myself about writing to the iPod on the mac - but iTunes and Mac sw in general is such a pain, I stick to the PC.

    So that blows your theory somewhat I'm afraid. I have got it working with the 30gb iPod and a smaller amount of music on it, so I am now just updating with a smart list to keep it at below 25gb on the iPod and see if that works.

    Cheers

  14. #14
    New Member
    Points: 43, Level: 1
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 7
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    4
    Points
    43
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    P1MTL -
    I also wanted to mention that the 32GB max size iPod classic information is incorrect, As mentioned - I am using a Windows Formatted 60GB 4TH GEN Fine.
    If you can confirm if you have an iPod 7th Gen 160GB formatted with Mac or Windows - I believe this to be the issue after a lot of research - I hope this is actually the problem.

    Using the guide I mentioned on the iPod Classic -
    SETTINGS > ABOUT > SCROLL ACROSS TO THE VERSION OF SOFTWARE AND SERIAL NUMBER etc IS DISPLAYED.
    Is the iPod Classic MAC OR WINDOWS formatted? Please confirm.

    In regards to the SD Card and playing Music - Have you created a folder (call it say - Music), and moved all the MP3 music into this folder?
    A folder is like a directory and it seemed to work for me when reading in the CED780.
    Just be careful to check the file types - they need to be MP3
    I also can confirm that you can use multiple folders - Music 2013 and Music 2014 was set up and played fine. I can access and enter either folder to play the MP3 Files.


    **OFF TOPIC**
    The log in of this forum is doing my head in.
    Issues logging in - password and user name association.
    I think it's Mac software in general! Hopeless.
    Last edited by mushroom079_2; 02-19-2014 at 10:25 AM.

  15. #15
    New Member
    Points: 43, Level: 1
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 7
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    4
    Points
    43
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by p1mtl View Post
    Thanks for the info Craig

    Both my iPods are Windows formatted, even though I have a mac and wondered myself about writing to the iPod on the mac - but iTunes and Mac sw in general is such a pain, I stick to the PC.

    So that blows your theory somewhat I'm afraid. I have got it working with the 30gb iPod and a smaller amount of music on it, so I am now just updating with a smart list to keep it at below 25gb on the iPod and see if that works.

    Cheers
    My iPod Classic 60GB works - It was windows formatted. Now synced with Mac.
    My iPod Classic 160GB doesn't work. It "reads" after detecting - then nothing.

    Yesterday arvo - I did manage to "reformat" my iPod Classic 160GB with Mac iTunes.
    After re-syncing all of my Music to the iPod Classic, approx 120GB of music, - I connected the iPod Classic 160GB 7th Gen to the CED780/98 - it worked. Detected, "read" the iPod and I played a few tracks, scrolled to different play lists. I Thought i'd fixed the issue.

    After disconnecting the iPod and reconnection -
    Back to square one. It will not read the iPod again.
    Last edited by mushroom079_2; 02-19-2014 at 10:26 AM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. AJB7038D/10 *iPod not charging
    By Mcflozza in forum Sound: Other Apple Docking Solutions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-30-2013, 09:46 AM
  2. Philips classsic radio ORD7300/10 not working with my iPod 5g 80GB
    By Tomasz in forum Sound: Other Apple Docking Solutions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-14-2013, 11:23 AM
  3. HTS 7202 ipod dock doesn't recognize ipod
    By bart in forum Sound: Sound Hub (2.1 system)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-10-2012, 11:55 AM
  4. Wireless headphones not working with ipod
    By smpm in forum Sound: Other Models
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-18-2011, 11:01 AM
  5. Ipod on the lcd tv 37PFL9604H
    By shendric9528 in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-12-2010, 11:38 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •