Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 18, Level: 1
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 32
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    2
    Points
    18
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    How can I get Netflix on my Smart TV?

    Hi

    I have a Philips tv model 550r4. It is a SmartTV, coe nnected to the internet via WiFi. On the "desktop" I can acces e.g. YouTube, Facebook, weather forecast, news etc. But I cannot find the Netflix-logo - not even when I search for it...

    Is it possible to get Netflix or HBO on my SmartTV?

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 59,013, Level: 75
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 1,037
    Overall activity: 87.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,252
    Points
    59,013
    Level
    75
    Thanks
    178
    Thanked 210 Times in 188 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    Netflix is not supported on your TV platform (necessary hard and software is missing).

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 18, Level: 1
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 32
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    2
    Points
    18
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for the explanation. Is it possible to get a software upgrade, or do I need some hardware too?

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 25,134, Level: 48
    Level completed: 59%, Points required for next Level: 416
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!VeteranOverdrive25000 Experience Points
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2,032
    Points
    25,134
    Level
    48
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 58 Times in 49 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    you need Hardware too. Check for latest Philips BD Players or HMP Devices.

    Regards
    Thomas

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 16, Level: 1
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 34
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3
    Points
    16
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi,
    you need Hardware too. Check for latest Philips BD Players or HMP Devices.
    Regards
    Thomas
    Hmm, I find this hardware incompatibility rather puzzling. Would you care to explain that in more detail? This sounds more like, we don't want to port the netflix app to the y2k12 Smarttvs (what is there to change, it's the same OS).
    Only explanation that would make sense is, because of the hardware codec that is not available on the 2k12 models (h264 L4 profile maybe?).

  6. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 59,013, Level: 75
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 1,037
    Overall activity: 87.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,252
    Points
    59,013
    Level
    75
    Thanks
    178
    Thanked 210 Times in 188 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    TVs beginning from 6xx7 should support Netflix. Below dont...

    Reason is, that the 4xx7 and 5xx7 don't have the DRM capablities for netflix

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 16, Level: 1
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 34
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3
    Points
    16
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Those DRM capabilities could be done in Software theoretically. So it _is_ no hardware problem. Or is there really a separate lets call it a DRM CPU / Chip built in?

  8. #8
    Diamond Member
    Points: 59,013, Level: 75
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 1,037
    Overall activity: 87.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,252
    Points
    59,013
    Level
    75
    Thanks
    178
    Thanked 210 Times in 188 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    also hardware is needed...

    Toengel@Alex

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 16, Level: 1
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 34
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3
    Points
    16
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Ok, I give up with this abundance of details, sorry for beeing sarcastic here.

  10. #10
    Points: 1,061, Level: 8
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 89
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1
    Points
    1,061
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Netflix support for 55PFL6007H/12

    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    TVs beginning from 6xx7 should support Netflix. Below dont...

    Reason is, that the 4xx7 and 5xx7 don't have the DRM capablities for netflix

    Toengel@Alex
    I have a TV Philips model no: 55PFL6007H/12.

    How can I have Netflix support?

    My software version is: QF1EU-0.150.99.0

    François Lorea

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi I have got the Model 32PFL6606D/77. The Netflix app does not show. How Can i download Netflix app. Is there any way to watch Netflix with this Model?

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    2
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have 32PFL7605H/12 and i want also know how i can install Netflix on my tv. At this moment am viewing through XBOX360.

  13. #13
    Diamond Member
    Points: 59,013, Level: 75
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 1,037
    Overall activity: 87.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,252
    Points
    59,013
    Level
    75
    Thanks
    178
    Thanked 210 Times in 188 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    your TV is a 2010 TV. You will never be able to install Netflix on your TV. You always need an additional device.

    Toengel@Alex

  14. #14
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    2
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    your TV is a 2010 TV. You will never be able to install Netflix on your TV. You always need an additional device.

    Toengel@Alex
    And you said TVs beginning from 6xx7 should support Netflix. Below dont...

    You want we must buy new TV, forgot it. Why RTLXL and NPO is working and not Netfix.

  15. #15
    New Member
    Points: 16, Level: 1
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 34
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    3
    Points
    16
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Is Netflix available on a brand new HTB3520G Home Theatre system? and if so how can I access or download the app please?

    Living in UK -Firmware version 1.29.00 downloaded yesterday and installed.

Similar Topics

  1. Netflix
    By bbuchan in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-18-2014, 10:21 AM
  2. I Can't use netflix
    By piludo in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-29-2013, 05:06 PM
  3. Netflix
    By TageM in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-22-2012, 11:26 AM
  4. Netflix
    By SVGeorge in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-19-2012, 05:56 AM
  5. Netflix
    By Jason in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-12-2012, 02:11 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •