Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 90

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Moderator
    Points: 82,899, Level: 89
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 851
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    825
    Points
    82,899
    Level
    89
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Thumbs up Electronic Program Guide (EPG) accessibility overview.

    The availability of the program guide provided via IP (IP-EPG) is depending on:
    - your location,
    - the TV model,
    - TV-tuner used.

    For IP-EPG, an internet connection must be provided.
    This IP-EPG availability matrix gives an overview on availability:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	EPG compatibility matrix Jan 2013.jpg 
Views:	1054 
Size:	111.1 KB 
ID:	1666


    When using digital cable, the Program Guide of the cable company (DVB-EPG) can be selected.

    When watching via a settop-box, EPG is (usually) provided via the settop-box.

    Dec-2011: Update for the Netherlands: read here.
    Last edited by Philips; 01-15-2013 at 04:13 PM. Reason: Text updated with info on NL changed situation.
    Forum Mod

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,492, Level: 72
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 1,058
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,146
    Points
    54,492
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 198 Times in 177 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    will IP-EPG be EVER available for 2010 TV models in the future?

    Toengel@Alex
    Last edited by Toengel; 05-09-2011 at 01:15 PM.

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,392, Level: 10
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 158
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    35
    Points
    1,392
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    will IP-EPG be EVER available for 2010 TV models in the future?

    Toengel@Alex
    I'm interested too, if there is no mandatory confirmation that there will be an update to archieve this feature in DVB-S on my model 46PFL9705K i send the TV back and buy another manufacturer!

  4. #4
    Gold Member
    Points: 4,927, Level: 20
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 123
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    382
    Points
    4,927
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I donot understand this. I have Ziggo CI+ DVB-C in the Netherlands. So I cannot get the IP-EPG ????
    For what reason ???? Ziggo is not the one that can make out if i can get the IP-EPG or not ???

    Above it does work with the 2011-models with Ziggo en CI+ DVB-C !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    And I see that in all other contries it works too on the 2010 models.

    So why cannot the 2010-models have IP-EPG. Philips, this is not right. I paid for this feature on my tv and I expect it to be there (like on all other models you produce).

    Please explain, I donot understand this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Points: 82,899, Level: 89
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 851
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    825
    Points
    82,899
    Level
    89
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Erikrijnders View Post
    I donot understand this. I have Ziggo CI+ DVB-C in the Netherlands. So I cannot get the IP-EPG ????
    For what reason ???? Ziggo is not the one that can make out if i can get the IP-EPG or not ???

    Above it does work with the 2011-models with Ziggo en CI+ DVB-C !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    And I see that in all other contries it works too on the 2010 models.

    So why cannot the 2010-models have IP-EPG. Philips, this is not right. I paid for this feature on my tv and I expect it to be there (like on all other models you produce).

    Please explain, I donot understand this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Your TV is Ziggo certified. In line with Ziggo requirements it supports the Ziggo program guide.
    Forum Mod

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,392, Level: 10
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 158
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    35
    Points
    1,392
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    No answer on my question above by Philips? One customer less....

  7. #7
    Gold Member
    Points: 4,927, Level: 20
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 123
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    382
    Points
    4,927
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips View Post
    Your TV is Ziggo certified. In line with Ziggo requirements it supports the Ziggo program guide.
    Nope, Ziggo cannot force me to use their guide. Furthermore their guide doesnot come via IP !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    So this reason is total bullshit. Philips please come with better answers than this, becaouse this makes me even angrier int he way I am treated as a customer of PHILIPS (AND DAMN I DID BUY A PHILIPS-TV, NOT A ZIGGO-TV!!!! Ziggo is not the one who paid for my tv, so Philips, come with a better explenation or make sure that ALL Ziggo customers can use the new IP-EPG !!!!!!!!!!

    It cannot be true that Ziggo van force me to use a basic EPG, where I paid for the IP-EPG of Philips. SO PHILIPS FIX THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Last edited by Erikrijnders; 05-10-2011 at 04:49 PM.

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,399, Level: 13
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    hippie67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Anywhere
    Posts
    26
    Points
    2,399
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Erikrijnders View Post
    Nope, Ziggo cannot force me to use their guide. Furthermore their guide doesnot come via IP !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    So this reason is total bullshit. Philips please come with better answers than this, becaouse this makes me even angrier int he way I am treated as a customer of PHILIPS (AND DAMN I DID BUY A PHILIPS-TV, NOT A ZIGGO-TV!!!! Ziggo is not the one who paid for my tv, so Philips, come with a better explenation or make sure that ALL Ziggo customers can use the new IP-EPG !!!!!!!!!!
    It cannot be true that Ziggo van force me to use a basic EPG, where I paid for the IP-EPG of Philips. SO PHILIPS FIX THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Hey mister "CAPS LOCK and EXCLAMATION mark", maybe you are not aware, but Ziggo also decides which channels you can see, so that is also Philips to blaim? Stop using ZIGGO then, instead of blaiming Philips all the time! In the overview you can see what to use to get it all..... Maybe then you will also have your much wanted NOW/NEXT feature

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,910, Level: 12
    Level completed: 20%, Points required for next Level: 240
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,910
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hippie67 View Post
    Hey mister "CAPS LOCK and EXCLAMATION mark", maybe you are not aware, but Ziggo also decides which channels you can see, so that is also Philips to blaim? Stop using ZIGGO then, instead of blaiming Philips all the time! In the overview you can see what to use to get it all..... Maybe then you will also have your much wanted NOW/NEXT feature
    Hi Hippie,

    I do not agree. It would be stunning if a cable provider (Ziggo, or in my case UPC with CI+) determines which functions a TV manufacturer is allowed to offer. Allthough the certification is with Ziggo or UPC, and not with Philips.
    On the other hand, I see no reason why Ziggo or UPC would demand not offering IP-EPG. You would only get angry reactions as posted above. The standard EPG is way to basic.

    BUT....

    Examining the table in the first post, I think this is all about marketing from Philips. Just look at the situation in the Netherlands. Buy a 2011 model and the problem is solved!

    Greetings,
    Huub

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 1,348, Level: 9
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,348
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips View Post
    Your TV is Ziggo certified. In line with Ziggo requirements it supports the Ziggo program guide.
    Does this mean that we should have bought a 'non-ZIGGO-certified' model in order to get more function??

  11. #11
    Gold Member
    Points: 4,927, Level: 20
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 123
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    382
    Points
    4,927
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lobota View Post
    Does this mean that we should have bought a 'non-ZIGGO-certified' model in order to get more function??
    Thats what Philips says... this is total bull-shit. Ziggo Certified doesnot mean that Ziggo can say what MY tv can do or not. I paid for the IP EPG of Philips and like ALL OTHER CUSTOMERS I demand this from Philips..

  12. #12
    Gold Member
    Points: 4,927, Level: 20
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 123
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    382
    Points
    4,927
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips View Post
    Your TV is Ziggo certified. In line with Ziggo requirements it supports the Ziggo program guide.
    Please read what A Ziggo official is saying about this:

    http://ziggo-gebruikers.nl/forum/sho...431#post349431

    Post nr.9


    I think Philips this means that you CAN change this and there are no requirements from Ziggo on this point at all only that the normal EPG from Ziggo can be selected and must be supported, but not as the only choice. IP-EPG must be a possibility to select and like this official says can co-exist on the 2010 models with CI+. There is no statement from Ziggo or what so ever that the IP-EPG must be blocked by Philips because of the certification, Ziggo states that IP-EPG can and must co-exist next to the Cable-EPG.

  13. #13
    Gold Member
    Points: 4,927, Level: 20
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 123
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    382
    Points
    4,927
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The promised update for IP-EPG in the netherland (with CI+/Ziggo) is still not there. In august Philips said it was online in a few weeks... 8 weeks are gone now, when can we finally expect this?

  14. #14
    Moderator
    Points: 30,870, Level: 54
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 1,080
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!25000 Experience Points
    Philips - Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    423
    Points
    30,870
    Level
    54
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Erik,
    We tested the IP-EPG and found out that the automatic channel mapping gave a poor performance at TV’s with the Ziggo channel list.
    Reason: Ziggo has strange channel names, like “NED1HD”. Those channels are not recognized.
    So we are updating our program list with the Ziggo channel names to have this improved.
    All changes are performed with severe testing and lots of safety instructions.
    That is what is causing the delay.
    Forum Mod

  15. #15
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,112, Level: 12
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    85
    Points
    2,112
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    How is the availability by location (country) determined? By IP-accessing? By NIT found in channel search? Or by Country settings used in channel search? 'cause in my case I'm located in Germany and did a channel search for Germany. And if I reregister with club philips after clearing internet cache I'm guided to something like philips.co.uk So may be Philips is assuming I'm in UK and so denying access to IP-EPG?

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •