Results 1 to 7 of 7
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,272, Level: 9
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 78
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,272
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    8605 - Picture Format - Watching SD from antenna in 4:3 ?

    Hi all,

    Is there a way to watch SD tv broadcasts coming in through the TV's antenna input in 4:3 aspect ratio?
    (which I believe is the ratio these broadcasts naturally have, but there is no 'unscaled' picture format option in the TV's menus).

    When I use 'Auto fill' the TV starts out for a few seconds at 4:3 and there switches to a different aspect ratio (fills the screen), which causes the top and bottom of the picture to be cut out.
    'Auto Zoom' and other available options don't display the picture in 4:3.

    No way this sophisticated TV can't accomplish that ... (?)

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Posts
    158
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    I would also like to have the Unscalled option in "Watch TV".
    It's strange that it doesn't have this possibility.
    My TV is a 7605, btw.

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,446, Level: 10
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 104
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,446
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 1,272, Level: 9
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 78
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,272
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    It's a no-go

    Hey dude, thanks for answering,
    but the page on the link you provided gives instructions that I cannot execute since the menus I'm seeing are not the ones the page refers to.

    I downloaded a software update, what I got now is version Q5551-0.140.34.0

    My menus have no mention of "AUTO FORMAT".
    All I have are the options under SETUP > Picture > Picture Format :

    - Auto fill (not want I want - cuts out parts of the picture)
    - Auto zoom (shows SD broadcasts in 4:3 for a couple of seconds and then zooms-in)
    - Super Zoom
    - Movie expand 16:9
    - Wide screen

    I have no PC connected to the TV like the page you provided mentions.

    What do I do ???

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,446, Level: 10
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 104
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,446
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Question
    My picture format keeps changing with different channels. How can I set a specific format?
    Answer
    When the TV picture format is set to AUTO FORMAT, you have the option to set the picture format to automatically fill the screen or to display the format according to the broadcast format.

    If you wish to set a specific format, press the button on the remote control repeatedly to select WIDESCREEN option or any other format that you feel comfortable with.

    NOTE: The 4:3 option only appears in the list of available picture formats if you connect a computer by VGA or HDMI. If you want to view TV channels or material from other sources in the 4:3 format, you need to set the picture format to ´AUTO FORMAT´ and select ´AUTO ZOOM´ in the AUTO FORMAT MODE menu.

    Follow these steps to set the AUTO FORMAT MODE;

    1.Press the button on the remote control to access the home menu.
    2.Use the cursor button to select SETUP and press the cursor 'OK' button to confirm.
    3.Press the cursor down to select PICTURE and press the cursor right.
    4.Press the cursor down to select PICTURE FORMAT and press the cursor right.
    5.Select AUTO FORMAT and press the ‘OK’ button to confirm.
    6.Press the cursor down to select AUTO FORMAT MODE and press the cursor right.
    7.Select the option according to your preference and press the ‘OK’ button to confirm.
    ◦When AUTO FILL is selected, the picture will expand to fill the screen regardless of the broadcast format, eg 4:3 or 14:9. No black bar is visible.
    ◦When AUTO ZOOM is selected, the picture will be displayed according to the broadcast format, i.e. TV will display 4:3 broadcast in 4:3 format & 14:9 broadcast in 14:9 format.
    8.Press the 'BACK' button to exit the menu.

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,446, Level: 10
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 104
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,446
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    or change the source, philips 2009 + 2010 models unable to change the image format if the source is HD

    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...er-power-cycle

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 1,272, Level: 9
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 78
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,272
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi, thanks again for your responses,

    yet, like I said, I don't have the PICTURE > AUTO FORMAT and PICTURE > AUTO FORMAT MODE menu options, all I got is the PICTURE > PICTURE FORMAT ...

    Is Philips serious? No fixed 4:3 mode for SD broadcasts on the 40PFL8605?

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •