Results 1 to 6 of 6
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 47, Level: 1
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    3
    Points
    47
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    32PFL9705 ticking sound when using HDMI connection

    Hi,

    I recently changed my connection on my 32PFL9705 from a SCART connection to a HDMI connection. Since that day we hear , sometimes multiple times per minute , ticking noises coming from the TV sound speakers.

    I found at http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/c...w_partial.html a similar issue for a 50PF9631D TV device. The problem in that case was resolved by installing the latest firmware.

    Unfortunately I am already running the latest firmware for the 32PFL9705... I even replaced the HDMI cable with the highest available quality one...unfortunately this did not resolve the issue. Please provide a fix .

    regards,

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 15,876, Level: 38
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 574
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,914
    Points
    15,876
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 95 Times in 79 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred van der Hoorn View Post
    Hi,

    I recently changed my connection on my 32PFL9705 from a SCART connection to a HDMI connection. Since that day we hear , sometimes multiple times per minute , ticking noises coming from the TV sound speakers.

    I found at http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/c...w_partial.html a similar issue for a 50PF9631D TV device. The problem in that case was resolved by installing the latest firmware.

    Unfortunately I am already running the latest firmware for the 32PFL9705... I even replaced the HDMI cable with the highest available quality one...unfortunately this did not resolve the issue. Please provide a fix .

    regards,

    Hi Fred,

    The solution for your TV is in fact the same as for the one you linked to.

    Could you please confirm the actual software version installed on your TV?

    It should be version 140.046 or above to resolve the issue.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 47, Level: 1
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    3
    Points
    47
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    Hi Fred,

    The solution for your TV is in fact the same as for the one you linked to.

    Could you please confirm the actual software version installed on your TV?

    It should be version 140.046 or above to resolve the issue.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Hi Ina,

    As stated in my previous message, I am already running the latest firmware (140.048)... the problem is still there.
    Any suggestions ???

    Regards,
    fred

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 15,876, Level: 38
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 574
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,914
    Points
    15,876
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 95 Times in 79 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred van der Hoorn View Post
    Hi Ina,

    As stated in my previous message, I am already running the latest firmware (140.048)... the problem is still there.
    Any suggestions ???

    Regards,
    fred

    Hi Fred,

    How odd...

    Try to force reinstall this software version via USB again this way:

    - Download the autorun.upg file if you don't still have it on your computer here:
    http://philips.to/1kuIiNP

    - Extract the files and rename the autorun.upg file to test.upg

    - On an empty USB stick create a folder and name it UPGRADES. Put the test.upg file into this folder.

    - Turn on TV and go to Software update > Local updates

    - Insert USB stick into TV and start the update.

    - When update is complete, remove USB stick and remove the TV power cord for 2 minutes. Reconnect power cord and start up TV.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Forum Mod

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 47, Level: 1
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    3
    Points
    47
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    Hi Fred,

    How odd...

    Try to force reinstall this software version via USB again this way:

    - Download the autorun.upg file if you don't still have it on your computer here:
    http://philips.to/1kuIiNP

    - Extract the files and rename the autorun.upg file to test.upg

    - On an empty USB stick create a folder and name it UPGRADES. Put the test.upg file into this folder.

    - Turn on TV and go to Software update > Local updates

    - Insert USB stick into TV and start the update.

    - When update is complete, remove USB stick and remove the TV power cord for 2 minutes. Reconnect power cord and start up TV.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Hi Ina,

    Executed your proposed procedure with success. Unfortunately the problem remains.

    Best regards,

    fred

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 15,876, Level: 38
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 574
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,914
    Points
    15,876
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 95 Times in 79 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred van der Hoorn View Post
    Hi Ina,

    Executed your proposed procedure with success. Unfortunately the problem remains.

    Best regards,

    fred

    Hi Fred,

    In that case let's try and look at other possible causes then, as it doesn't appear to be the same issue then.

    What device is connected via HDMI?
    - If possible, please try to adjust the audio settings on the connected device to stereo or equivalent.

    Do you use the TV speakers or external speakers?

    Try to connect headphones to the TV. Does the ticking also come through there?

    If you remove the HDMI device, do you also experience this ticking sound?


    Best regards,
    Ina
    Forum Mod

Similar Topics

  1. HDMI sound connection between HTS9520 and 42PFL7008
    By pauldg in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-16-2013, 06:29 AM
  2. HTS7202/12 lost HDMI ARC sound connection from TV
    By JustMe in forum Blu-ray: HTS Series
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-21-2013, 07:41 AM
  3. HDMI sound connection between HTS9520 and 42PFL7008
    By pauldg in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-03-2013, 09:42 AM
  4. Problem with connection to Sound Bar via HDMI
    By vtsymbal in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-06-2013, 06:11 AM
  5. 46PFL5507H/12 lost image and sound with HDMI connection
    By dragon2012 in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 11-06-2012, 03:39 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •