Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 302, Level: 3
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    16
    Points
    302
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0

    46PFL8008S Perfect Natural Motion problem...

    Hello everyone.
    I am big fan of so-called 'soap opera effect' and I use PNM function set to miedium/max.
    Problem is, that in my 46PFL8008S it is not perfectly smooth...
    In fast motion of moving up/down and left/right objects (for instance action/fighting scenes) or big objects on the first plan (like cars/people moving from left to right) there are something like judders/stuttering of those objects.
    Picture lacks its smoothness at the moment.
    In more static or less dynamic scenes - the smoothness is perfect.
    Does anyone have similar experience?
    Besides that I noticed, that during playing .MKV files ( I use external HDD or pendrive) from time to time there are visible light lags of picture...
    What can it be?
    Is my TV set broken?

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 323, Level: 3
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    29
    Points
    323
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gelo29 View Post
    Hello everyone.
    I am big fan of so-called 'soap opera effect' and I use PNM function set to miedium/max.
    Problem is, that in my 46PFL8008S it is not perfectly smooth...
    In fast motion of moving up/down and left/right objects (for instance action/fighting scenes) or big objects on the first plan (like cars/people moving from left to right) there are something like judders/stuttering of those objects.
    Picture lacks its smoothness at the moment.
    In more static or less dynamic scenes - the smoothness is perfect.
    Does anyone have similar experience?
    Besides that I noticed, that during playing .MKV files ( I use external HDD or pendrive) from time to time there are visible light lags of picture...
    What can it be?
    Is my TV set broken?
    Hello,

    I have a series 6000, this happens since the last upgrade before it worked much better. Who happens to upgrade to the 173.46, hopefully it gets fixed soon because it's horrible as it looks.

    Please fix quickly, the only strong point of these TVs is the image and now does not work properly.

    Thank you,

  3. #3
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,538, Level: 69
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 612
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,981
    Points
    50,538
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 171 Times in 153 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    what about firmware 173.48 - is this fixed with it?

    Toengel@Alex

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 323, Level: 3
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    29
    Points
    323
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    what about firmware 173.48 - is this fixed with it?

    Toengel@Alex
    No, 173.48 only "fix" the TV reboots.

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 302, Level: 3
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    16
    Points
    302
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    No,
    unfortunately - it is still not fixed.
    I think it's even a little worse...

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 302, Level: 3
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    16
    Points
    302
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    I've checked it on two other 46PFL8008s TV sets and on 46PFL9705 set.
    The same bug.
    It looks, like this is common and known issue.
    Not solved from years.
    This is far from smooth motion and in my opinion it shouldn't be called Perfect Natural Motion at all.
    Shame on You, Philips...

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 28, Level: 1
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    3
    Points
    28
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi !
    I can tell that it is the same problem with my 46PFL8008S/12.
    And i think it`s gone worse in the latest uppdate
    So i really hope they fix it !!!!

  8. #8
    Silver Member
    Points: 450, Level: 4
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!250 Experience Points3 months registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    79
    Points
    450
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    1
    Are you using minimum level for Perfect Natural Motion.

    I reported in the firmware list that there is something wrong with the minimum setting. Firstly, it forces Clear LCD to on even if Clear LCD is set to off in the menu! Secondly it seems to be too aggressive as if it isn't really minimum at all. I think the menu option is messed up and we are not seeing the right output. I actually find medium to be better than minimum at the moment!

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 16,327, Level: 38
    Level completed: 85%, Points required for next Level: 123
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,977
    Points
    16,327
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 98 Times in 82 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi all,

    If you can quantify the PNM changes from one software to another I would very much appreciate it. Anything you can tell me about your PNM experience would be great (negative, regressive changes over software versions only please!).

    Please report it in the software threads if you haven't already. The information I receive, then more I can do with it.

    Thanks to those of you who have already reported your observations.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Forum Mod

  10. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 450, Level: 4
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!250 Experience Points3 months registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    79
    Points
    450
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    Hi all,

    If you can quantify the PNM changes from one software to another I would very much appreciate it. Anything you can tell me about your PNM experience would be great (negative, regressive changes over software versions only please!).

    Please report it in the software threads if you haven't already. The information I receive, then more I can do with it.

    Thanks to those of you who have already reported your observations.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Hi Ina,

    Is there a way for me to install old firmware versions? My TV came with 46 (now 50)..and everyone says it was older versions that were better. I have a .42 firmware file, but it refuses to install, probably because its older than the one the TV came with....

    Otherwise I could do some controlled tests with motion test blu-rays and .mp4s that I have.

  11. #11
    Moderator
    Points: 16,327, Level: 38
    Level completed: 85%, Points required for next Level: 123
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,977
    Points
    16,327
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 98 Times in 82 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by jonstatt View Post
    Hi Ina,

    Is there a way for me to install old firmware versions? My TV came with 46 (now 50)..and everyone says it was older versions that were better. I have a .42 firmware file, but it refuses to install, probably because its older than the one the TV came with....

    Otherwise I could do some controlled tests with motion test blu-rays and .mp4s that I have.

    Hi jonstatt,

    We do not advise to downgrade the TV software outside an authorised service centre environment for several reasons, so we won't advise you on this via the forum.

    I don't so much need controlled test, but any kind of experience you may have noticed in terms of changes to the PNM effects between softwares is fine.

    "Worse", "bad" and "rubbish" doesn't work for me unfortunately. But rather, "I noticed that x, y and z has changed" etc does. So anything specific you are able to describe would be helpful.

    Thanks!
    Ina
    Forum Mod

  12. #12
    Silver Member
    Points: 450, Level: 4
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!250 Experience Points3 months registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    79
    Points
    450
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    1
    Hi Ina,

    I have a couple of observations for you although as I have never run the older firmware I don't have a basis for comparison.

    I have noticed 2 things
    1) Sometimes when the scene is panning quickly, particularly in a vertical direction, there is a judder..like a frame gets missed completely. However if you rewind the same bit of video and play it again, the judder does NOT happen! In other words, it looks like the processor became overloaded and the judder was caused by a CPU cycle issue rather than a PNM algorithm problem.

    2) I have noticed more frequent glitches and judder when playing a video from BBC iPlayer (not the iPlayer built-in to the TV but fed from an external HDMI box). There are less glitches when watching the same program on BBC directly. I can't think of a good reason why that should be, although the streamed version of the video will be more compressed than the transmitted version. The compression may be "tripping" up the PNM algorithm.

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 28, Level: 1
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    3
    Points
    28
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello again

    Lets talk about that next Wednesday so it should be a reporatŲr and change the motherboard in my tv. So apparently, he knows you there is something wrong with it after all,
    So I will be back with facts if it got better or how it looks.

  14. #14
    Silver Member
    Points: 450, Level: 4
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!250 Experience Points3 months registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    79
    Points
    450
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    1
    Over the weekend when I noticed a frame skip with PNM switched on, I rewind and play the same segment again and the frame skip did not happen.

    As my per my comment earlier, I have now proven that some of the jumps/skips during panning is caused by a CPU contention issue with the TV. I know this TV is a bit underpowered, but surely it has enough power to do its basic picture processing without interruption!

  15. #15
    Bronze Member
    Points: 302, Level: 3
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    16
    Points
    302
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    jonstatt,
    I think this is inefficient CPU (or software bug).
    Why?
    Because frame skipping is present during .mkv playback only.
    Smaller files like .avi / xvid are playing correctly.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. perfect natural motion always on!
    By orion110482 in forum TV: Software for the 7xx8 series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-30-2014, 03:21 PM
  2. Philips 7007 Perfect Natural Motion and 3D 150.85 firmware
    By x7007 in forum TV: Software 2012 models
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-20-2013, 07:55 PM
  3. HD perfect natural motion
    By chaay_karak in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-04-2011, 10:09 AM
  4. HD Natural motion problem !??
    By Trufan in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-26-2011, 03:22 PM
  5. HD Natural motion problem !???
    By Trufan in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-17-2011, 12:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •