Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,040, Level: 12
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 110
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    2,040
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    BDP 8000 Dolby Digital / DTS passthrough

    Hello,
    I have the BDP 8000 and my TV is the Philips 46PFL9704. My AV Receiver is a little older so there is only one digital input and no hdmi input. I connected my satellite receiver and Apple TV to the TV and the digital sound gets passed per HDMI to the TV and from there to the AV Receiver so that I can enjoy Dolby Digital and DTS. But I don't get the BDP 8000 to passthrough the digital sound. I can only listen to Dolby Pro Logic or Neo 6 and this is not comparable.
    A direct connection from the BDP8000 to the AV Receiver is not possible cause of only one digital input. And always switching the cables from tv to the bluray player every time I wanna watch a Bluray is really annoying. What can I do?

    thx

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,097, Level: 72
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 453
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,178
    Points
    55,097
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    just to be sure:

    Sat receiver -> (HDMI) -> TV -> AVR => DD and DTS passthrough DO work

    Apple TV -> (HDMI) -> TV -> AVR => DD and DTS passthrough DO work

    BDP8000 -> (HDMI) -> TV -> AVR => DD and DTS passthrough DO NOT work

    Am I correct?


    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,040, Level: 12
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 110
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    2,040
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    just to be sure:

    Sat receiver -> (HDMI) -> TV -> AVR => DD and DTS passthrough DO work

    Apple TV -> (HDMI) -> TV -> AVR => DD and DTS passthrough DO work

    BDP8000 -> (HDMI) -> TV -> AVR => DD and DTS passthrough DO NOT work

    Am I correct?


    Toengel@Alex
    yes you got it all right

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,097, Level: 72
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 453
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,178
    Points
    55,097
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    that is really frustrating! I own a BDP9600 and I am also not able to passthrough DD and DTS. But if you say that your SAT and Apple (connected via HDMI to your TV) do passthrough DD and DTS it seems that one of the Philips devices (BDP or TV) cuts down this functionality!

    Philips, please fix that or give us an explanation for this kind of issue!

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,040, Level: 12
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 110
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    2,040
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    that is really frustrating!

    Philips, please fix that or give us an explanation for this kind of issue!
    Agree!!!

    Must be the Bluray Player otherwise Apple TV and SAT receiver would be cut down too

  6. #6
    Gold Member
    Points: 1,885, Level: 12
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 265
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    276
    Points
    1,885
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    So the TV is connected via Digital Coax to the AVR, all other Devices are connected via HDMI to The TV.

    Can you check what Kind of Signal the TV gets from the BDP? Just go to Options > Info, on the TV.

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,919, Level: 15
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 131
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    49
    Points
    2,919
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Could it be that your Apple TV and Sat TV "only" use DTS and DD, which the TV can passthrough? For Blu-Ray, your BDP will use DTS-MA and DD True HD, which your TV may not be able to passthrough.

    Either set the BDP to downmix the digital out to regular DTS/DD or use its analogue outputs (and built in D/A converter for Blu-Ray sound )and connect the BDP directly to your AV receiver using analogue inputs. Most AV receivers do have an analogue input, so that will most certanly work for you, albeit you will several cables (I assume six as you say you have an older AV reciever). You can set how many channels you have on your BPD so it can downmix correctly according you your speaker setup. The digital sound needs to be converted to an analoge signal somewhere in the chain, so why not use the unit that best can decode the signal in question (which for Blu-Ray audio would be your BDP)?

    That way you can enjoy digital sound from your Apple TV and Sat TV and still get the multi channel audio from Blu-Ray.

  8. #8
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,097, Level: 72
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 453
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,178
    Points
    55,097
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    connection with analogue is not a solution. Even if you play a DVD with the BDP (which only have 5.1 DD or DTS) the passthrough of DD or DTS do NOT work. Only PCM 2.0 is outputted...

    Toengel@Alex

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 1,938, Level: 12
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    117
    Points
    1,938
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Hi,

    I've heard about this issue some time ago in other user forums and if I recall properly this has to do with the definition of "HDCP content"* and the Digital Output restrictions. Contents Apple TV and SAT are probably not HDCP whilst a blu-ray is.

    For example if you (@ Anduril or Toengel@Alex ) have a sat suscription HD channel, the behaviour should be the same as with the BDP.

    Found this link in wikipedia ;-) :

    *"HDCP License Agreement". Digital Content Protection, LLC.. 2011-03-31. Retrieved 2011-05-16.
    Last edited by sngbcn; 05-16-2011 at 01:20 PM. Reason: info source accreditation

  10. #10
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,097, Level: 72
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 453
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,178
    Points
    55,097
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    but then should a MKV or AVI with DD/DTS audio stream (played via USB from BDP) work, shouldn't it? But it doesn't.

    Toengel@Alex

  11. #11
    Moderator
    Points: 1,938, Level: 12
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    117
    Points
    1,938
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    but then should a MKV or AVI with DD/DTS audio stream (played via USB from BDP) work, shouldn't it? But it doesn't.

    Toengel@Alex
    I guess that all contents played via the BDP are encrypted as HDCP contents and therefore the rule applies. Is Philips applying the Licence Agreement properly? Maybe the moderator will also participate on this question?

  12. #12
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,097, Level: 72
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 453
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,178
    Points
    55,097
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    but the HDMI connections of the sat receiver and apple tv are also HDCP encrypted since it is part of the HDMI specification, or?

    Toengel@Alex

  13. #13
    Moderator
    Points: 1,938, Level: 12
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    117
    Points
    1,938
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    The contents from satellite provider that shall be protected with HDCP encryption will carry a broadcast flag. I'm no expert on the HDMI specs but I guess there are different parts which regard source and sink validation and then also the content itself.

    That is why you can connect for example a PC with a bluray player. Windows itself is not HDCP encrypted but the BD disc will be. The software that you use for playback will check that the "environment" is HDCP compliant (see this FAQ). So the graphic card and its drivers shall support HDCP.

    Conclusion:
    Connection between PC and TV ---> "handshake" process to verify HDCP compliance
    Windows or other O/S desktop ----> not HDCP encrypted content
    Playback of protected content e.g. BD ----> HDCP encryption enabled by the content

    So, the question remains: Is Philips applying properly the HDCP encryption on the BDP disregarding the content's actual source (e.g. MKV)?

  14. #14
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,040, Level: 12
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 110
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    2,040
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I am also not an expert on the HDMI protocol and HDCP but I am pretty sure Apple TV uses HDCP. Older TVs which do not have HDCP are not useable with the Apple TV and there is also a randomly occurring error, which can easily be solved by restarting Apple TV, that says "This content requires HDCP for playback".
    Furthermore I would really be surprised if Warner Bros. etc. would allow Apple to rent their movies without using HDCP. So either Apple cheats on Hollywood or someone provides a wrong HDCP implementation

  15. #15
    Moderator
    Points: 1,938, Level: 12
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    117
    Points
    1,938
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by anduril View Post
    I am also not an expert on the HDMI protocol and HDCP but I am pretty sure Apple TV uses HDCP. Older TVs which do not have HDCP are not useable with the Apple TV and there is also a randomly occurring error, which can easily be solved by restarting Apple TV, that says "This content requires HDCP for playback".
    Furthermore I would really be surprised if Warner Bros. etc. would allow Apple to rent their movies without using HDCP. So either Apple cheats on Hollywood or someone provides a wrong HDCP implementation
    I agree that Warner is not likely to have any PC O/S play back its contents without content protection but HDCP is not the only one. I would say that unless stated somewhere (like the FAQ from Cyberlink PowerDVD I quoted before) that HDCP support is required, it is not used by the application.

    That's why my suggestion is to test with a satellite pay-tv HD channel because those contents will probably be protected with HDCP.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •