Results 1 to 3 of 3
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 76, Level: 1
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 74
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    4
    Points
    76
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Is usb recording properly implemented?

    I'd like to use the usb recording feature on my 46pfl8008, but given the poor quality of the firmware I have to ask: Is it worth it? Or will I just run into a new batch of problems?

    I also have some questions about the feature in general.
    -Can I record antenna programs while watching a hdmi input?
    -Can I record while watching another recording?
    -Does the tv wake up from standby to record a timed program?
    -Can I use a buffer for time shift so I can rewind the program I've been watching?

    Regards, Ilkka

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 18,054, Level: 41
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 896
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,109
    Points
    18,054
    Level
    41
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 104 Times in 88 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Ilkka.

    Quote Originally Posted by ikuusela View Post
    I'd like to use the usb recording feature on my 46pfl8008, but given the poor quality of the firmware I have to ask: Is it worth it? Or will I just run into a new batch of problems?
    I don't see any reason as to why the recording feature would provide any issues. Perhaps the forum community are able to share their experiences?

    I also have some questions about the feature in general.
    -Can I record antenna programs while watching a hdmi input?
    Your TV does not have this feature, no.

    -Can I record while watching another recording?
    This is not possible as the needed transfer speed would not be able to support both via the USB port.

    -Does the tv wake up from standby to record a timed program?
    Yes, as long as the TV is indeed in standby and not switched off completely, it will wake up for recordings to take place.

    -Can I use a buffer for time shift so I can rewind the program I've been watching?
    I'm not sure what you mean here, but the time shift features (once the HDD has been formatted for recording) is continuous as soon as the channel is tuned in. Therefore the time shift recording will always be taking place and have up to 90 mins buffered. However if you change channels, the time shift buffer is lost and will begin from scratch on the newly tuned channel instead.

    Regards, Ilkka
    Best regards,
    Ina
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,137, Level: 12
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    76
    Points
    2,137
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post


    This is not possible...........


    Best regards,
    Ina
    Hi Ina,

    Have you tried it?
    As far as I can recall from when I was still using the USB recording, you can playback a recording while another recording is in progres (using the "broadcast EPG", TV 32PFL6007).
    I am not 100% sure though and can not test it, but maybe you can do a test and report back.

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post


    ..............as the needed transfer speed would not be able to support both via the USB port.


    Best regards,
    Ina

    I doubt this is true, because if it were true you would not be able to do timeshift (= simultaneous record and playback) via the USB port either....


    Best regards
    Last edited by L1Zeeman; 07-15-2014 at 12:53 PM. Reason: typo

Similar Topics

  1. TV mount is not properly aligned
    By Gman64 in forum TV: Installation
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-03-2014, 04:42 PM
  2. Not properly converting from 2d to 3d
    By bulut in forum TV: 3D
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2012, 04:15 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-04-2012, 06:34 PM
  4. EPG not working properly again (and again, and again)
    By erho in forum Smart TV: IP-EPG Program Guide
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-17-2012, 03:52 PM
  5. NP3900 - winter time change not implemented correctly?
    By tez in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-03-2011, 12:40 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •