Results 1 to 10 of 10
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 31, Level: 1
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 19
    Overall activity: 26.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    5
    Points
    31
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Question BDP3280/12 v2.47 - disk tray won't open

    Hello,

    I have a Philips BDP3280/12.
    I set the last firmware (v 2.47), and now I can't open the disk tray
    With the last firmware (v ?.??), I had no problem at all.
    Where I can download the old firmwares? It's possible to made a downgrade?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Points: 31, Level: 1
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 19
    Overall activity: 26.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    5
    Points
    31
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I found a temporary solution
    I opened my BDP3280 player, and insert a DVD on disk tray.
    With a DVD in it, It will open without a problem.
    I must always have a DVD on it to open the disk tray.
    This is not normal

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Points: 6,666, Level: 24
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 384
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!5000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Sarka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    603
    Points
    6,666
    Level
    24
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hello BVG,

    Thank you for the post. This is not a normal behaviour. I strongly recommend you to contact a retailer or your local service centre if the problem with disk tray still persists.

    Kind regards,
    Sarka
    Philips Moderation Team

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 31, Level: 1
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 19
    Overall activity: 26.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    5
    Points
    31
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Sarka View Post
    Hello BVG,

    Thank you for the post. This is not a normal behaviour. I strongly recommend you to contact a retailer or your local service centre if the problem with disk tray still persists.

    Kind regards,
    Sarka
    Philips Moderation Team
    This problem occurred when I made the firmware update to v2.47.
    Where can I download the old firmware versions? I want to try that first, please.

    Regards.

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Points: 6,666, Level: 24
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 384
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!5000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Sarka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    603
    Points
    6,666
    Level
    24
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hello BVG,

    It's not possible to downgrade a software version. This isn't a firmware issue and I'm not aware of any similiar case like this one. For that reason I suggest you to contact your local service centre as the unit has to be checked by a technician.

    Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

    Kind regards,
    Sarka

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 31, Level: 1
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 19
    Overall activity: 26.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    5
    Points
    31
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Sarka View Post
    Hello BVG,

    It's not possible to downgrade a software version. This isn't a firmware issue and I'm not aware of any similiar case like this one. For that reason I suggest you to contact your local service centre as the unit has to be checked by a technician.

    Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

    Kind regards,
    Sarka
    It cannot be downgraded? -lol-
    Well, I think it's time to change to another brand.
    Like I described, this problem only occured after a firmware update.

    Thanks again.
    Regards.

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 6,666, Level: 24
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 384
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!5000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Sarka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    603
    Points
    6,666
    Level
    24
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hello BVG,

    Have you tried to restore default settings by a factory reset and unplug a player from the mains/TV for few minutes?

    Kind regards,
    Sarka

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 31, Level: 1
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 19
    Overall activity: 26.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    5
    Points
    31
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Sarka View Post
    Hello BVG,

    Have you tried to restore default settings by a factory reset and unplug a player from the mains/TV for few minutes?

    Kind regards,
    Sarka
    Yes, I already tried that without success.

    Regards.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 6,666, Level: 24
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 384
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!5000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Sarka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    603
    Points
    6,666
    Level
    24
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    I'm really sorry, but in this case you have to contact a service centre.

    Kind regards,
    Sarka

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Points: 6,666, Level: 24
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 384
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!5000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Sarka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    603
    Points
    6,666
    Level
    24
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Users,

    There is no active discussion on this topic for quite some time. Therefore, we may close the topic for the moment. In case you want to discuss further, you may start a new topic or send me a PM to re-open the topic.

    Thanks for your understanding in advance!

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team

Similar Topics

  1. HTS3560/12 - BD Tray won't open
    By yonusk in forum Sound: Immersive Sound (5.1 system)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-25-2014, 02:36 PM
  2. Disc tray problems
    By FEDUPNIK in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-18-2014, 12:51 PM
  3. DCB152 CD tray
    By AlQ in forum Sound: Mini/Micro Audio System Product Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-14-2014, 08:44 AM
  4. HTS7201/12 Disk tray does not open
    By RiKiCo in forum Sound: Sound Hub (2.1 system)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-28-2013, 03:07 PM
  5. Disc tray remains open on my micro Hi-Fi MCM394 and system doesn't work
    By Silvana in forum Sound: Mini/Micro Audio System Product Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-24-2011, 12:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •