Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 376, Level: 4
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 74
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    21
    Points
    376
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0

    Possible to enable "Installation from unknown sources" in Philips 55PUS8809 Android

    Hi,

    Is there possibility to enable "Installation from unknown sources" in Philips 55PUS8809 Android TV... I have some own android apps, but would like to test those in TV...

    And any way to enable developer options there?

    Thanks
    -Pete

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 20,566, Level: 43
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 184
    Overall activity: 99.4%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,921
    Points
    20,566
    Level
    43
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 48 Times in 43 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    due to security Reasons this Feature is not in the Android version on this TV.

    Please be aware, adding non approved Apps could harm the Android environment.
    While it seems "kind of easy" to solve Issues with Android on a Smartphone by just reinstalling the Android new to the Phone, it is rather impossible for Endusers to do so on a TV.

    I think you can understand that it would not that satisfying for Users to have to pay for a Repair only because they wanted to "play around" a bit.

    Thanks for Understanding
    Thomas

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 376, Level: 4
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 74
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    21
    Points
    376
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for the answer.. Basically I understand your response... But it is the same thing with all Android enabled devices. When coding something to those, Google asks before publishing app to Play store that app have to be tested using real device Without that possibility you know what the quality of apps would be in Play

    Already there is Apps in Google which can be installed to Phillips Android TV, but those doesn't work...

    Thanks
    -Pete

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 20,566, Level: 43
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 184
    Overall activity: 99.4%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,921
    Points
    20,566
    Level
    43
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 48 Times in 43 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    But it is the same thing with all Android enabled devices
    So far i have not seen that much 2.500€ Android Devices.

    As written before, Mobile Device can be restored, more or less very easy and most of the Times without any technical Knowledge.

    But this is not a mobile Device or a small stb.
    So the Answer is and will be: no

    Thomas

  5. #5
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,269, Level: 72
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 281
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,185
    Points
    55,269
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    or you do it on your own risk: http://toengel.net/philipsblog/2014/...allieren-kann/

    Try translator for this German blog post...

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 134, Level: 1
    Level completed: 84%, Points required for next Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    15
    Points
    134
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Maybe you should not share this link and keep it for you

    Or sharing but only in PM not for all, it must be very dangerous and gonna break some "noob" tv..

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 59, Level: 1
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 91
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    8
    Points
    59
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi,
    So far i have not seen that much 2.500€ Android Devices.

    As written before, Mobile Device can be restored, more or less very easy and most of the Times without any technical Knowledge.

    But this is not a mobile Device or a small stb.
    So the Answer is and will be: no

    Thomas
    Or .. we can't install application from unknow sources because you're not able to build an easy way to restore your TV os without any technical knowledge ... even if it's a 2 500€ device ...

  8. #8
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,269, Level: 72
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 281
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,185
    Points
    55,269
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    I posted a link with instructions how to install any app...

    Toengel@Alex

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 59, Level: 1
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 91
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    8
    Points
    59
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I read it ! thanks !
    But like pete75 said all android devices allow this .. and i'm a little disappointed about answer like Thomas's one :
    "So the Answer is and will be: no" ...
    it is as if they were building TVs not for customers but just for their own fun. Android is a standard and Philips has not any latency to suit its own needs, and after get surprising that developers do not adhere to their philosophy.
    On Samsung or latest Android TV everything is implemented to the satisfaction of users and developers who are advanced users.
    Those kinds of answers are painful, Philips should consider requests from its customers as a proposal for improvement, not responded to each "you don't need it"

  10. #10
    Points: 14, Level: 1
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    2
    Points
    14
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    or you do it on your own risk: http://toengel.net/philipsblog/2014/...allieren-kann/

    Try translator for this German blog post...

    Toengel@Alex
    Wiyhout adb:
    1. Install Developer Tools from Google Play (link: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...developertools )
    2. In Developer Tools choose Show more apps in Google Play. App will "install" touch drivers to emulate other device and reboot TV.
    now you have access to new software in Google Play
    3. Install QuickShortcutMaker from Google Play (link: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....quickshortcut )
    4. In QuickShortcutMaker choose Settings - Security and choose Unknown devices
    now you can install any app from HDD - don't use stick/drive thats extend TV for recordings or similar (installation will end wit notification that apk is corrupted)

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to J23 For This Useful Post:

    cyrille_colin (12-16-2014)

Similar Topics

  1. Bdp 9600/12 issue "unknown disc"
    By AdamBc in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-17-2014, 12:00 PM
  2. Message: "unknown device connected"
    By Taylor in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-08-2014, 10:11 AM
  3. "Unknown Disk" message - " Άγνωστος Δίσκος" in Greek
    By michadas in forum Blu-ray: BDP7000 Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-13-2013, 06:56 AM
  4. no quality BDP5180 no read Bluray "unknown disk"
    By stduf in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-30-2013, 02:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •