Results 1 to 9 of 9
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,381, Level: 10
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 169
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1
    Points
    1,381
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    F/W upgrades direct from the internet not working anymore

    Hi,

    Is there a special reason for the fact that the firmware upgrades directly from the internet are not working anymore?
    One must download it now and put it on USB drive and stick it into the TV, although the 'Firmware upgrade via Internet' is still available. Did Philips changed the URL and has this not being fixed in the F/W?

    Best regards,
    Marco

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,439, Level: 70
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 1,111
    Overall activity: 67.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,036
    Points
    51,439
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    not all firmwares will be released via the integrated update mechanism... intermediate releases will not be published over this channel...

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,621, Level: 11
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 229
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,621
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Thumbs down Pta01

    This is kind of disadvantage because if someone has wifi module plugged in, it has always to unplug it, do the upgrade from usb stick and plug wifi module back in. Should modern technology work this way?

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,439, Level: 70
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 1,111
    Overall activity: 67.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,036
    Points
    51,439
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    but how often do you install a firmware?

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,621, Level: 11
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 229
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,621
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Well, it depends on ... Philips ...? I think, it is about making things easier, better as "someone" stated before.

  6. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,439, Level: 70
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 1,111
    Overall activity: 67.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,036
    Points
    51,439
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    I think you can also use a 4-port hub/switch on your TV. But I suggest for upgrading to plug in the USB directly...

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,621, Level: 11
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 229
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,621
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Post

    Philips Customer Service told me this TV does not support USB switches/hubs.

  8. #8
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,036, Level: 12
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 114
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Community Award

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Munich/Germany
    Posts
    78
    Points
    2,036
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Questions stays: what is the use of a menu option for firmware upgrage over (W)LAN, if since many months all the new firmware's that came out, could only be installed over USB.... no reaction from Philips on this ?

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,349, Level: 9
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 1
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    30
    Points
    1,349
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The possibility to upgrade the firmware via internet can be enabled/disabled in the SAM (service alignment mode). Maybe Philips has disabled that feature on your TV? Anyway, I can confirm that I've never been able to update the firmware by using Wifi. The according update dialog immediately states that there's no new firmware available. At least, Philips should precise the according dialog messages.
    Last edited by mhermann; 06-16-2011 at 05:27 PM.

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •