Results 1 to 11 of 11
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Gold Member
    Points: 3,833, Level: 17
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    316
    Points
    3,833
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    Lock BDP9500 to NTSC ?

    Hi !

    I've got a BDP9500 connected (via HDMI) to a Philips 42PF9831D/37 Ambilight LCD TV.
    This TV only accepts NTSC input, so when I insert a DVD that is in PAL format, the screen just goes black. Is there any possibility to force the BDP9500 to always (and only) produce output in NTSC format ?
    I have successfully done that with Philips DVD players, so why not in the BDP9500 ?
    BTW: The BDP claims it has the latest F/W loaded.

    Cheers & TIA !
    /Mathias

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,326, Level: 72
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 1,224
    Overall activity: 83.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,141
    Points
    54,326
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 196 Times in 175 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    your BDP seems to be locked to NTSC region code and you are not allowed to view the PAL dvds.

    To be sure you have the latest firmware just go to the Philips Support Website of your Player! Often the information stated by the integrated update mechanism is wrong...

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Gold Member
    Points: 3,833, Level: 17
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    316
    Points
    3,833
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Well, I have tried with region-free (region code = 0) DVD's and get the same problem = black screen on the TV.
    The really annoying thing is that the BDP9500 is stuck in PAL mode after that, so no menus etc are visible. I have to power it down, power up and insert a NTSC-DVD and then (usually) it works.
    If I connect the BDP9500 to another TV (via Composite Video or HDMI does not matter) it works fine, the TV just swaps between NTSC/PAL modes without complaining. I know for a fact that my Philips TV is limited to NTSC input only (if I knew that before buying it, I would have chosen another TV...). But as I said in my original post, I have had no problems with earlier DVD-players since they have been possible to configure to NTSC-only output mode.
    I was hoping I could find the same thing in the BDP95000.

    I'll check the F/W version offered on the Philips webpage to make sure it's the same one I've got in my BDP9500 when I get home tonight.

    Cheers !

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,326, Level: 72
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 1,224
    Overall activity: 83.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,141
    Points
    54,326
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 196 Times in 175 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Tias View Post
    I've got a BDP9500 connected (via HDMI) to a Philips 42PF9831D/37 Ambilight LCD TV.
    Hi,

    he is doing that...

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    Gold Member
    Points: 3,833, Level: 17
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    316
    Points
    3,833
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi Oscar !

    I have just tested with Analog (and HDMI) on another TV.
    Normally, I use HDMI all the time.
    I am also surprised that NTSC vs PAL causes problems when connected via HDMI, but obviously, there is an issue here with my TV. And since all my earlier ((three actually) Philips DVD players could be configured to always deliver output in NTSC format, I hoped the BDP9500 could do this as well...

    Cheers !

  6. #6
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi Tias,

    Which settings do you use on HDMI video? Did you try various? I think that at the end the BDP will go standard to PAL but....am not sure. Anybody any ideas on this??

    Regards

  7. #7
    Gold Member
    Points: 3,833, Level: 17
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    316
    Points
    3,833
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Ok, I have now tried to upgrade the Firmware of my BDP9500/12 without success ;(
    My unit is running with F/W v1.02, and the latest available on Philips' webpage is v1.09.
    When I try to upgrade it from a USB PenDrive, it claims that the software is not the correct one.
    (Yes, the UPG folder is in the root and in the UPG are the two .bin files and the BDP can read video files from the same USB device without problems.)

    I think I'll just have to give up on the F/W upgrade ;-(

    Cheers !

  8. #8
    Gold Member
    Points: 3,833, Level: 17
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    316
    Points
    3,833
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi !

    HDMI resolution = 1080i (which the TV supports perfectly well).
    I have tried lower resolutions to with no success (the shows the same behavior when I insert a PAL DVD).
    The TV has the latest available F/W (v1.9.0.0) BTW.

    Cheers !

  9. #9
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,326, Level: 72
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 1,224
    Overall activity: 83.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,141
    Points
    54,326
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 196 Times in 175 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Tias View Post
    Ok, I have now tried to upgrade the Firmware of my BDP9500/12 without success ;(
    Hi,

    you need to be sure that you downloaded the /12 firmware and not any other (such as /05). It should work! Maybe also a smaller USB stick is better. Also try to format the stick with FAT.

    Toengel@Alex

  10. #10
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    I think a firmware will not change anything since it is more a limitation of the the Tv (60Hz) then one of the BDP where you do not have the possibility to change these settings...

    Regards

  11. #11
    Gold Member
    Points: 3,833, Level: 17
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    316
    Points
    3,833
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi again !
    Yes, it's the /12 FW. I actually tried with the /05 to confirm that I got another error message :-)
    The USB Stick is only 256 MB, FAT formatted, but I'll try another one tonight.

    Cheers !

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •