Results 1 to 9 of 9

Topic: Subtitles

  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,162, Level: 9
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 188
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2
    Points
    1,162
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Subtitles

    Hi,

    I use the DLNA option a lot and want to know if there is any way how I can use subtitle files. SRT files do not work. Any way to resolve this ?

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,444, Level: 69
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 706
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,974
    Points
    50,444
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    I think it depends you your DLNA server software...

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Points: 1,938, Level: 12
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    117
    Points
    1,938
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Some DLNA servers like Meezmo http://www.conceiva.com/products/mezzmo/default.asp or WildMediaServer http://www.wildmediaserver.com/ give subtitle support.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 1,119, Level: 8
    Level completed: 85%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    SP
    Posts
    1
    Points
    1,119
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi mate, indeed you can use Mezzmo or even other media servers to do it, but only by transcoding. You will only be able to play through DLNA the formats natively supported by your tv. Mine is a 32PFL6615 and Philips claims it supports mkv files playback. I think this is just a market strategy, because subtitles within the container (.srt, .sub, etc) won't work at all, neither by usb nor via dlna. External subtitle files also won't work. It's a partial support. Please see the following link:

    http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/d...146.82.152.127

    It seems Philips doesn't care about solving this issue. See this thread:
    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...0PFL9705/page3

    If you use transcoding, you'll get a lower quality video, unless you have a quad "16" core. But if your videos aren't like x264 hq, transcode will do the job.

    Regards
    Last edited by yelrew; 06-23-2011 at 04:54 PM.

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,288, Level: 13
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    30
    Points
    2,288
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I think subtitles are very important, I hope they support them in a future firmware.

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,472, Level: 10
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 78
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    DK
    Posts
    30
    Points
    1,472
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Well I do hope they add subtitle support soon... Have I know that the subs weren't supported and that Philips kind of doesn't care about its customers, I would have choosen another manufacterer...
    Last edited by new_customer; 06-26-2011 at 11:33 AM.

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 1,938, Level: 12
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    117
    Points
    1,938
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    @new_customer: so you basically admit it was your "fault" for not looking into the specs/dfu and/or asking to the salesman before buying the tv....

    I think that when you buy any product you do so "as it is" @ the moment of buying and should not expect for additional major features which where not mentioned initially.

  8. #8
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,951, Level: 12
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Italy / FVG
    Posts
    101
    Points
    1,951
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by sngbcn View Post
    I think that when you buy any product you do so "as it is" @ the moment of buying and should not expect for additional major features which where not mentioned initially.
    Please, sngbcn....
    I love Philips products, and I especially appreciate thier support on site, but your defense is a nonsense, in my opinion: I cannot ask to the salesman for every spec, nor probably he would be able to fully answer. Most of all, I believe subtitles support and a decent now/next feature are a must have in a TV costing about 1000 euros last year (and probably in every today TV), so I did not even think to ask to the salesman about these features.
    Imagine I buy a car, then I start to drive and I find it has got no accelerator pedal, but only an accelerator button very difficult to reach with a finger: you cannot tell me that I had to ask to the salesman if the car had an accelerator pedal...

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,472, Level: 10
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 78
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    DK
    Posts
    30
    Points
    1,472
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pistoiaa View Post
    Please, sngbcn....
    I love Philips products, and I especially appreciate thier support on site, but your defense is a nonsense, in my opinion: I cannot ask to the salesman for every spec, nor probably he would be able to fully answer. Most of all, I believe subtitles support and a decent now/next feature are a must have in a TV costing about 1000 euros last year (and probably in every today TV), so I did not even think to ask to the salesman about these features.
    Imagine I buy a car, then I start to drive and I find it has got no accelerator pedal, but only an accelerator button very difficult to reach with a finger: you cannot tell me that I had to ask to the salesman if the car had an accelerator pedal...

    I totally agree........

    P.s.
    @sngbcn
    should not expect for additional major features which where not mentioned initially.

    I don't think implementing subs is a MAJOR feature.... It sure can be done in no time, and SHOULD have been in the damn thing in the first place....


    Anyway, if they add subs, I would not complain about anything else... Untill then, I have that right after cashing out some OK cash for a product that I am not fully satisfied with, yet.....

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •