Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,857, Level: 12
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 293
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Serres- Greece
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,857
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Firmware upgrade problem on 37PFL8605!!!

    I bought new the 37PFL8605 and it was fine.A week after I upgraded the firmware from 54 to 60 and I regret it.
    It started flickering horizontally and made PiP on the left half of the screen.I advise you NOT to install the new firmware.
    Now I'm looking for the old firmware to downgrade and I can't find it anywhere.
    Any advise or solution would be great.
    Thnx

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,399, Level: 13
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    hippie67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Anywhere
    Posts
    26
    Points
    2,399
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Did you install the software succesfully? See the menu and check the installed software version. What does it indicate?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 1,857, Level: 12
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 293
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Serres- Greece
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,857
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yes it was installed right and successfully.The firmware changed to Q5551-0.75.60.1 but it is a lot worse than before.
    Many picture problem and also motion crackings.I advise all the greek owners not to install it.Might be ok for other countries but it's a risk.If you are happy don't mess with the firmware.I talked to the service guy and he told me that there many firmwares that don't exist in the official Philips upgrade page.tomorrow he will contact me and he will send me the best one.
    I will keep you informed.
    Thnx

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,399, Level: 13
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    hippie67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Anywhere
    Posts
    26
    Points
    2,399
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by dloga View Post
    .....tomorrow he will contact me and he will send me the best one.
    I will keep you informed.
    Thnx

    Hi dloga, any news???

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 1,857, Level: 12
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 293
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Serres- Greece
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,857
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hippie67 View Post
    Hi dloga, any news???
    The technicians came to my place and install again the old firmware 54.The problem is not solved but it now occurs once in 10-15 min,which is a lot better.They will come today again to install the 59.if nothing happens i will take it back to the shop and ask for a replacement for a new one, and maybe if possible, the 40PFL9705.Time and customer law will show.Also Philips did not accept customer upgrade,even though they have it in their official webpage.So people dont play with the firmware.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 1,601, Level: 11
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 249
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2
    Points
    1,601
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have the same problem with firmware 60.

    Now a new firmware is on the Dutch philips page.
    http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/d...&slg=nl&scy=NL

    Have some one already tried the new firmware 000.140.011.000 ?

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 1,148, Level: 8
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Maia/Portugal
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,148
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I heve the same problem. even with firmware 140.37

    It started flickering horizontally and made PiP on the left half of the screen

    Any news to resolve this problem?

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,363, Level: 72
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 1,187
    Overall activity: 96.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,145
    Points
    54,363
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 198 Times in 177 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    try to switch off your TV with the main switch - wait 5 minutes and try again.

    Toengel@Alex

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 1,148, Level: 8
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Maia/Portugal
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,148
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,
    I already try that.

    The problem is worst in images 4:3.

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,349, Level: 9
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 1
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    30
    Points
    1,349
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    From time to time, I also have a PiP on the left half of the screen on my 37PFL8605 (000.140.037.000). Philips support told me to call a technician or to exchange the TV by a new one. They told me that it is a panel problem, but I think it is a firmware issue as with 000.140.037.000 the effect is much more seldom than with 000.140.036.000.

  11. #11
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,363, Level: 72
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 1,187
    Overall activity: 96.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,145
    Points
    54,363
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 198 Times in 177 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    can you please try to take a photo and post it here?

    Toengel@Alex

  12. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,349, Level: 9
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 1
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    30
    Points
    1,349
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Last edited by mhermann; 06-21-2011 at 01:58 PM.

  13. #13
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,363, Level: 72
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 1,187
    Overall activity: 96.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,145
    Points
    54,363
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 198 Times in 177 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    call your local Philips service - and maybe please take a photo of the complete display ;-)

    Toengel@Alex

  14. #14
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,349, Level: 9
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 1
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    30
    Points
    1,349
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    call your local Philips service - and maybe please take a photo of the complete display ;-)
    Do you also think that it is an issue relating the panel?

  15. #15
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,363, Level: 72
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 1,187
    Overall activity: 96.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,145
    Points
    54,363
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 198 Times in 177 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    it seems difficult - but I find it very hard to observe something on the photo (a complete capture of your TV would be better).

    Toengel@Alex

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •