Results 1 to 10 of 10
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,640, Level: 11
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 210
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    59
    Points
    1,640
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Can I buy a 'regular' Philips plastic remote control for 46PFL9705H/12?

    Is it possible to buy a regular Philips plastic remote control for 46PFL9705H/12 TV? While the metal one looks very cool, I really don't like using it. It makes navigating around the menus very cumbersome.

    Its also cold to hold and very slippy. I am constantly picking it up off the floor after it slips off my lap.

    I have a Philips Blu-Ray and it's remote is along the lines of what I'd like:
    Last edited by mike tv; 01-17-2012 at 03:08 PM.

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 61,502, Level: 76
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 148
    Overall activity: 72.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,360
    Points
    61,502
    Level
    76
    Thanks
    185
    Thanked 230 Times in 207 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    see here: http://www.sparepartservice.philips....ies_spareparts

    You may be use the search engine on that page...

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,640, Level: 11
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 210
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    59
    Points
    1,640
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    see here: http://www.sparepartservice.philips....ies_spareparts

    You may be use the search engine on that page...

    Toengel@Alex
    Thanks for that link. Despite my worse-than-basic German I did managed to get the article number for that remote that Thomas recommended. Thanks.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 27,317, Level: 50
    Level completed: 77%, Points required for next Level: 233
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!VeteranOverdrive25000 Experience Points
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2,120
    Points
    27,317
    Level
    50
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 61 Times in 52 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi mike tv,

    in which Country do you live?

    Regards
    Thomas

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,640, Level: 11
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 210
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    59
    Points
    1,640
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    in which Country do you live?
    Hi Thomas,
    I'm in Ireland

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 27,317, Level: 50
    Level completed: 77%, Points required for next Level: 233
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!VeteranOverdrive25000 Experience Points
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2,120
    Points
    27,317
    Level
    50
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 61 Times in 52 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi mike tv,

    please get in Contact with: MF Services: (00353) 214 348 98.
    But i have to say that I can make any promises to you that they will have it on Stock.

    You can also use the Remote f.e. from the 32PFL5604
    (http://download.p4c.philips.com/file...12_pss_eng.pdf)

    But please be aware that with other remotes not all features will work and buttons might not open the function you'd expect.

    Regards
    Thomas

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,640, Level: 11
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 210
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    59
    Points
    1,640
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Excellent. Thanks Thomas.

  8. #8
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    639
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    To say the truth, I have never used the remote that came with my 9705. I don't like it either. I am using an SRU 5150 I had for my 9731, and just re-configured a few buttons. It is a remote that can learn from other remotes...

  9. #9
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,640, Level: 11
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 210
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    59
    Points
    1,640
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    The problem with it's design is by removing buttons and making a 'clean, simple, minimalistic' looking remote control the user is forced to trudge through layers of on-screen menus to access functions that would have been available via one button on a more traditionally designed remote control.

    I only noticed that it could be 'fixed' when I programmed my satellite receiver remote to match the TV. Then I could call up the teletext, for example, with a one-button press instead of having to navigate through a menu system.

    I don't like using it at all. I must look up that SRU 5150 you mentioned. Thanks.

  10. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,640, Level: 11
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 210
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    59
    Points
    1,640
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    I finally got around to buying a replacement remote. I just wanted to round this off by confirming that the model Thomas recommended for my TV does work.

    There were a couple of model numbers for the remote.

    It is known as RCPF02E09B (in the PDF catalog for the 32PFL5604)

    but in my research I found it also listed as 242254902314. That second number seemed more useful when searching for a supplier.

    Any way, all functions on the remote work with the TV [apart from the Record button, but that's cause the TV doesn't have a record feature.]
    The remote is a vast improvement on the original metal one. Far more user-friendly and comfortable to use.

    Thanks to Thomas and every one for their help.

    Last edited by mike tv; 01-17-2012 at 03:13 PM.

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •