View Poll Results: the time that NetTV needs to start

Voters
36. You may not vote on this poll
  • is perfect

    1 2.78%
  • is no problem

    0 0%
  • is endurable

    4 11.11%
  • is annoying

    6 16.67%
  • sucks

    25 69.44%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Gold Member
    Points: 5,871, Level: 22
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 179
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second ClassOverdriveNew Achievement!5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    252
    Points
    5,871
    Level
    22
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    Question evaluate NetTV time for ready to use

    Hi everybody,

    since NetTV takes very long between selection of NetTV in home menu until NetTV is ready to use I start this poll to evaluate whats the user experience. Plead give your perception and vote between "1 the time that NetTV needs to start is perfect" and "5 the time that NetTV need to start sucks".

    That in advance for your participation to this poll
    bta

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,471, Level: 10
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 79
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,471
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hey Bta,

    Nice initiative of the poll. It really takes a long time before you can use Net TV after you turn on your TV. I have to be very patient before I can use the services.

    In most of the times: when I start Net TV it often says >> Philips Server not available. Try (later) again. Or another famous message is: Net TV is not available. Please switch on/off your TV.

    After 4 or 5 times, my TV succeeds in the login process and then I will be able to use it. This should be improved!

    Moreover, there is an frustrating delay due to the advertisment at the right corner. advertisements at the right corner.


    Quote Originally Posted by bta View Post
    Hi everybody,

    since NetTV takes very long between selection of NetTV in home menu until NetTV is ready to use I start this poll to evaluate whats the user experience. Plead give your perception and vote between "1 the time that NetTV needs to start is perfect" and "5 the time that NetTV need to start sucks".

    That in advance for your participation to this poll
    bta
    Last edited by StefanTV; 07-10-2011 at 08:59 PM.

  3. #3
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,163, Level: 69
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 987
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,958
    Points
    50,163
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 166 Times in 148 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    I have some similar problems with my Cinema. However, my problem is sometimes also the network connection. You can find my whole story at (sorry German only): http://58pfl9955.wordpress.com/2011/...ht-auf-reisen/

    Toengel@Alex

  4. #4
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Time to start NetTV or Ip-EPG is really too long.

    I experience the same. Sometimes it does not start. Since I have read Toengels post and story about the never ending step 3 screen when looging in after turnin on the TV, I also think about contacting support to solve this.

    It is frustrating.

  5. #5
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,163, Level: 69
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 987
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,958
    Points
    50,163
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 166 Times in 148 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi smart,

    can you post in my blog your TV and Firmware and said, that you have the same issue?

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,881, Level: 18
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 369
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Freddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    219
    Points
    3,881
    Level
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hello again,

    just one question, before I fill in this poll: is it about the time it takes, after turning the tv on, before you can enter NetTV for the first time (i.e. including logging in)?... Or is it just about the time between pushing the NetTV button in the Home menu and the appearance of the apps (this could be hours after turning the tv on)?...

    Freddy

  7. #7
    Gold Member
    Points: 5,871, Level: 22
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 179
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second ClassOverdriveNew Achievement!5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    252
    Points
    5,871
    Level
    22
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
    Hello again,

    just one question, before I fill in this poll: is it about the time it takes, after turning the tv on, before you can enter NetTV for the first time (i.e. including logging in)?... Or is it just about the time between pushing the NetTV button in the Home menu and the appearance of the apps (this could be hours after turning the tv on)?...

    Freddy
    Its the Second Version.
    It is well knowen in this Forum that it takes minutes After turning on until all processes are startet. So you should wait 5 minutes after turning on and your first log in to NetTV. Otherwise you get errors like Server Not avialable.

    The poll is due to the fact that loading NetTv and the advertising takes much to Long since Portal 2.6.
    This behaviour is better once you have NetTv on and restart it without switching the tv into standby.

    Regards
    Bta

  8. #8
    DerShortyy
    Guest
    Hi,
    I have the same experience. Very often the connection failed, than you have to turn the TV on and off. NetTV also often ask me to register again although i did that a several times or just jump that position. Since SW 140.037 the TV often crashes when you use DLNA sharing with e.g. iMediashare and only a black screen is left.

  9. #9
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,881, Level: 18
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 369
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Freddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    219
    Points
    3,881
    Level
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by bta View Post
    The poll is due to the fact that loading NetTv and the advertising takes much to Long since Portal 2.6.
    This behaviour is better once you have NetTv on and restart it without switching the tv into standby.
    In that case... I just entered my experience as "is perfect". Yes, that one's mine...

    But let me explain that a bit... I think it would be a good idea to add some information, so that Philips may get an idea of when and where the problems arise. So here is my list of facts:

    TV Model: 32PFL9705H/12
    Current Firmware: 140.25
    Most recent FW tried: 140.25
    Country: Netherlands
    LAN or WiFi: LAN

    Time between pushing NetTV icon in Home menu and complete loading (incl. ads) of page with favorite apps:
    2 - 4 seconds

    As you see, for me it works really fast, just as it always did!...

    But... as some of you might have seen already, I gave a (possible) explanation of this problem in my "PFL9705 New (and Old) Bug List Collection" thread:
    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...=8952#post8952

    That's why I think adding these facts here would be very helpful in finding a solution...
    Last edited by Freddy; 07-12-2011 at 05:54 PM.

  10. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    73
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by StefanTV View Post
    Moreover, there is an frustrating delay due to the advertisment at the right corner.
    100% agree ! Philips should remove that advertisement, most importantly for the sake of speed. Nowadays I even sometimes see a Philips hotel questionaire or something that's popping up in that lower right corner

    TV Model: 40PFL8605H/12
    Current Firmware: 140.36
    Country: Netherlands
    LAN or WiFi: LAN

    bye the way LAN is via Gigabit router with 50Mbit optical fibre internet connection(ftth), so that can't be the bottleneck.
    Last edited by Alicia; 07-12-2011 at 04:46 PM.

  11. #11
    Gold Member
    Points: 5,871, Level: 22
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 179
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second ClassOverdriveNew Achievement!5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    252
    Points
    5,871
    Level
    22
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    I iniate this poll, but advertisement is a way to earn mony with NetTV and this is ok for me. But if the customers get more and more rid of NetTV due to the long lasting loading procedure which company will ever pay for ad on NetTV?

    BTW: I participate to the hotel questionaire and wehne I find NetTV in my next hotel room it feels more like home *g*.

  12. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,807, Level: 11
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 43
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    17
    Points
    1,807
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    videociety,
    NetTV,
    Internet EPG - Logon to too long.
    Logon is not usable and not acceptable,
    it is very slow and it needs too long !!!

    Anmeldung zu videociety , NetTV, Internet ProgrammfŁhrer funktionier nicht oder dauert zu lang.

    Exambles:
    After switch on my TV and waiting 5 -6 minutes before I do anything I have following start-up times:

    1. NetTV or IP-EPG

    - first I see the "logon-screen number 3" 2 - 4 minutes
    - after this I see 1 or 2 minutes sometimes still a black screen

    finally than the NetTV or IP-EPG is available.

    2. videociety

    When I navigate after than to the videociety icon I have than to wait again:

    -- approx. 20 seconds before the icon is working

    -- than I see 60 to 80 seconds a black screen

    -- and at least I have to wait 10 - 20 seconds before
    the fullscreen of videociety is displayed.

    Total time to use NetTV or IP-EPG is approx. 3 to 6 minutes !!!!!!!!!

    Total time to use videociety is approx. 4 to 8 minutes !!!!!!!!!

    therefore inapplicable and
    I don't use NetTV and videociety again.

    My data:
    Internet-Speed 32 Mbyte/s
    Cable GByte-Server-connection
    ping to TV : <1sec.
    TV:
    40PFL7605H/12
    Seriennummer: VN3G1049105832
    German
    SW-ver.: 140.37.0
    today Juli, 28th I have changed to SW 000.140.039.000
    <<< same bad NetTV login-times
    and same bad and too long videociety-logins
    Last edited by rainh; 07-28-2011 at 07:38 PM.

  13. #13
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    On my side it is much faster now. Support exchanged the mainboard. Seems that I would have to change my vote, since there was a hardware issue.

  14. #14
    New Member
    Points: 1,499, Level: 10
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    7
    Points
    1,499
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    37PFL7675K/02

    It's no longer fun, so infinitely many errors, takes much too long, I want my money back.

    I turn to the Consumer Protection.

  15. #15
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Did you already contact your local support?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •