Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,347, Level: 9
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    8
    Points
    1,347
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Question Now/next functionality when changing channels

    Hi all,

    Am I the only one missing this functionality on my 40PFL7605H/12 Philips television?

    I recently switched to watching digital television from UPC (Netherlands) with a CI+ card instead of the default mediabox from UPC. I am very satisfied about my television and the quality of UPC in respect to digital television and its quality. There is one thing though that really is annoying: there is no now/next functionality when changing channels.
    Most television brands and also the UPC mediabox display an information bar at the bottom of the screen with info about the chosen channel, the current program and the program that will come next. Philips however did not include this functionality.
    There is a possibility to view this information (thanks to the EPG). But I need to press several buttons for that and is fullscreen, very black and switches off the channel you are on untill you exit the information.

    Does anyone know if Philips is going add this feature in the future with an update (the information is already there, just a different way of showing it) or a shortcut button to access this information immediately without the necessity to press several buttons?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,587, Level: 67
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 763
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,697
    Points
    47,587
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    see: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...hlight=feature

    Philips does not have the licence for that feature. All customers of the 2010 and 2011 tv series want that feature, but Philips isn't listening (or the management, since every licence on every TV costs a few cents)... We customers are begging since... I don't know... long time ago...

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 1,347, Level: 9
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    8
    Points
    1,347
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    see: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...hlight=feature

    Philips does not have the licence for that feature. All customers of the 2010 and 2011 tv series want that feature, but Philips isn't listening (or the management, since every licence on every TV costs a few cents)... We customers are begging since... I don't know... long time ago...

    Toengel@Alex
    Well, strange. I e-mailed Philips with this question and what did they answer? The contract with cable providers (in respect to the CI+ certification) didn't allow them to add this kind of feature. Reading your explanation, it apparently is just a case of money.
    Too bad, the television is great but leaving out features like these doesn't make your brand very competitive.

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,036, Level: 12
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 114
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Community Award

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Munich/Germany
    Posts
    78
    Points
    2,036
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Silly enough, my 2010 set HAD Now and Next and after a firmware "upgrade" this function was gone. I wrote 3 letters to Philips on this, never got an honest answer but very, very vague promises, that Philips has NOT kept !
    Last edited by Muccie; 05-19-2011 at 01:07 PM.

  5. #5
    Gold Member
    Points: 4,071, Level: 18
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 179
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    381
    Points
    4,071
    Level
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Indeed, Philips hides against third parties like Ziggo, although features like now/next when zapping has nothing to do with the Ziggo-certification. Even Ziggo states that this is a Philips-problem. So Philips has a lot of guts to mention this has to do with Ziggo an their certification.

    Above that all the other manufacturers with CI+ and the Ziggo certifications DO HAVE now/next box when zapping

    YES, I miss this feature too. Philips come with honest answers right here on this forum. Your customers are demanding this feature, why donot you listen to them.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 1,347, Level: 9
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    8
    Points
    1,347
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Muccie View Post
    Silly enough, my 2010 set HAD Now and Next and after a firmware "upgrade" this function was gone. I wrote 3 letters to Philips on this, never got an honest answer but very, very vague promises, that Philips has NOT kept !
    This supports my claim that it shouldn't be that difficult to include it in the next firmware update.

    Quote Originally Posted by Erikrijnders View Post
    Indeed, Philips hides against third parties like Ziggo, although features like now/next when zapping has nothing to do with the Ziggo-certification. Even Ziggo states that this is a Philips-problem. So Philips has a lot of guts to mention this has to do with Ziggo an their certification.

    Above that all the other manufacturers with CI+ and the Ziggo certifications DO HAVE now/next box when zapping

    YES, I miss this feature too. Philips come with honest answers right here on this forum. Your customers are demanding this feature, why donot you listen to them.
    And my provider isn't even Ziggo, it is UPC. It doesn't make sense that third parties like Ziggo and UPC prohibit Philips to add such features. If I'm not mistaken, Samsung televisions display the now/next feature on the UPC network with a CI+ card.

    Believe me, as said before, I am very very satisfied with my Philips televison. Actually, I always am. They have (in my opinion) the best display. I always had Philips tv's and am pretty much pro Philips. Philips will stop manufactering them though because sales are not profitable enough. Well, leaving out features like these doesn't help those sales.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 1,347, Level: 9
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    8
    Points
    1,347
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    It even gets worse ... I just found out that there is a better EPG available: IP-EPG but ... I can not select it because I use a CI+ card. Philips, what were you thinking!?

    A CI+ card should be an enrichment for the user: less cables, no set-top box but instead ... I get less features.

    Philips or my digital tv provider shouldn't be the ones making decisions for me.

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,056, Level: 12
    Level completed: 69%, Points required for next Level: 94
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    47
    Points
    2,056
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Neppie,

    Similar issue here. In the bedroom we've got DVB-T + Philips pfl7605 TV.
    Using the settop box we've got the Now and Next feature (via provider).
    Using the card (no cables, no settopbox) there is no Now and Next feature (there is however IP-EPG).
    I agree with Erik and Toengel, we've been asking since 2010. In some models there was Now and Next, but Philips seems to have removed the feature. Can you imagine? It feels like you are driving a car with a TomTom and at a certain moment in time the company decides to remove the voices ...

    Cheers,
    daL

  9. #9
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,587, Level: 67
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 763
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,697
    Points
    47,587
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    as far as I know this functionality was patented some years ago and Philips was forced to remove the feature... But now they should really think about paying the licence fee... in my opinion.

    Toengel@Alex

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 1,214, Level: 9
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    9
    Points
    1,214
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    if Now/Next is patented, then they should give us at least "Now". Every satellite received that I used during the last 20+ years displayed information about the current program and it's schedule when switching channels. Other TVs that I saw in the TV shop did the same.

    I bought a 9705 recently because of the picture quality, but I must admit I didn't compare the basic features against other brands because I simply expected them to be there for a TV in this price range.

    Regards,
    Frank

  11. #11
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    They try to spread rumors about "patents" and "licenses", to hide their programming inefficiency.

    If now/next is patented, I want to see the patent number.

    No patent number = lie.

  12. #12
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,587, Level: 67
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 763
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,697
    Points
    47,587
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    maybe it is one of the following patents:

    http://www.freepatentsonline.com/EP0969662.html
    http://www.freepatentsonline.com/EP1613066.html
    http://www.freepatentsonline.com/EP1377049.html

    I think there are more...

    But only to say that if you didn't see something then it is a lie...

    Toengel@Alex

  13. #13
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    maybe it is one of the following patents:

    http://www.freepatentsonline.com/EP0969662.html
    http://www.freepatentsonline.com/EP1613066.html
    http://www.freepatentsonline.com/EP1377049.html

    I think there are more...

    But only to say that if you didn't see something then it is a lie...

    Toengel@Alex
    These patents relate to EPG (not now/next), and are expiring on September.

    If there is an issue with a patent, I want Philips to state:

    1) The patent number
    2) Why they haven't licensed the patent, while other manufactures have done so. Philips' TVs are not cheaper.

  14. #14
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,951, Level: 12
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Italy / FVG
    Posts
    101
    Points
    1,951
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    It sounds very very strange to me that there is a problem of patenting: as far as I know, all TVs, DVB-T, ... from all brands, even the less known (I have Emtec, Samsung, United, Telesystem at home), have got this now/next functionality automatically appearing when changing channels, but the 2010 Philips TV sets.
    And note that indeed also these Philips TVs have the Now/Next functionality, but it does not automatically appears when changing channels: you have to push 2 (!) buttons on the remote control and, worst of all, the Now/Next is not transparent but it is shown on a totally black background, hiding the channel you were seeing.
    I never saw a similar behaviour on products of other brands, so please do not tell me there is a patent... it should be a patent preventing Philips to show Now/Next automatically and on a transparent background... please...

  15. #15
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,587, Level: 67
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 763
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,697
    Points
    47,587
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    I also think, that Philips should find a solution and provide it to our 2010 series...

    Toengel@Alex

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •