Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 85
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,171, Level: 72
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 379
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,182
    Points
    55,171
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11

    Thumbs up Your experiences with FW v0.140.39.0 for 8xx5 and 9xx5 series (2010 models)

    Hi,

    Please share your experiences with this new SW version here in this topic. Channeling your input will make it easier for users to search and find relevant info.

    Discuss here all your experiences when upgraded to the new version: new, old, positive, negative.... (for example, the "sound drop at HDMI problem" or the "black screen during zapping problem" is solved !).

    Toengel@Alex

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,171, Level: 72
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 379
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,182
    Points
    55,171
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    no changelog available at this time...

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,392, Level: 10
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 158
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    35
    Points
    1,392
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Still no ip-epg at dvb-s!!!!!

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,667, Level: 11
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 183
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    johny_sk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Kosice/Slovakia
    Posts
    28
    Points
    1,667
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Failure to HDMI audio is still, after installing fw audio cuts out in the first minute a total of 11 times. I feel that Philips does not address it, since interruption of the sound is the same in all the recent firmware. I am disappointed and returned to the TV business ...
    Google translation

  5. #5
    Gold Member
    Points: 4,927, Level: 20
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 123
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    382
    Points
    4,927
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Stil no IP-EPG with Ziggo and CI+ !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Still no now/next box when zapping.

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,869, Level: 12
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 281
    Overall activity: 40.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Zoetermeer, NL
    Posts
    58
    Points
    1,869
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Erikrijnders View Post
    Stil no IP-EPG with Ziggo and CI+ !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Still no now/next box when zapping.
    I would give up on this. Think about your blood pressure

    So many firmware releases without any proper updates/improvements...and not even being capable to repair major bugs like the audio drops.

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,472, Level: 10
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 78
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    DK
    Posts
    30
    Points
    1,472
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    i guess still no subs via usb....

  8. #8
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    639
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    I have seen some (minor) improvements:

    1) I think that they have fixed the problem with "no channels found", introduced in 140.36. I need more time to test, but the fact that I haven't got it (despite the many restarts I have done) is a promising start.

    2) They have corrected a typo in the Greek menu. 2 more corrections are required though.

    3) They have changed the startup behaviour. The user settings are respected from the very first frame shown (the philips logo).

    4) I have the feeling that they tweaked somehow DNM. But it my be my impression only.

    No fix for: sound-drops, DVBT-EPG for Greece, sleep timer in the green menu, now next.

    I don't use the multimedia features/NetTV at all, so no info from me about them.

    But I like this firmware because of the changes in startup, and the "no channels found" fix. Not like he 140.36 & 140.37 firmwares that had this annoying bug...

  9. #9
    Gold Member
    Points: 4,927, Level: 20
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 123
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    382
    Points
    4,927
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Sound drops occur when you have the wrong motherboard. That nothing that a firware update can fix!!!!


    List so far of things not fixed:

    - no Subtitles via USB possible
    - still no now/next box when zapping (alle Philips customers want that because its THE standard nowadays!!, and not as Philips mentiones a kind of standard). Philips wake up, listen to your customers instead of anoying us with information we already know that the now/next is hidden behing buttons. When I zap i donot want to go through all these steps to see whats on en whats next!!!!!! Philips laks all feeling of what a tv-consumer wants and is not willing to take steps to solve it.
    - DVBT- EPG for Greece
    - Still no IP-EPG for Ziggo/UPC-users in the Netherlands with CI+
    - Still no IP-EPG for DVB-S
    - sleep timer in the green menu.

  10. #10
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    639
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    It is the second day with the 140.39 firmware on my 46PFL9705 tv, and I haven't received the message "no channels found" when opening my TV. I have done many tests in order to see if the bug is still there, and all failed.

    So, I assume that this "no channels found" bug has been fixed in 140.39.

    Has anyone seen this "no channels found" after upgrading to 140.39?

  11. #11
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,636, Level: 17
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 214
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    195
    Points
    3,636
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    I have seen some (minor) improvements:
    [...]
    2) They have corrected a typo in the Greek menu. 2 more corrections are required though.
    [...]
    Congrats!
    I think I've seen quiet a bit of reactions from you when a new firmware was released that yet again the Greek translation was not corrected...

    Quote Originally Posted by Erikrijnders View Post
    Sound drops occur when you have the wrong motherboard. That nothing that a firware update can fix!!!!
    [...]
    How do you know?
    Did you had sounddrops that are fixed after that replacement? An how long did that take?

    As soon as they post the prel. changelog I'm upgrading it...

    Chris.

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 1,078, Level: 8
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 72
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,078
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Installed the .39 version today and did some testing with 3D. The effect is a lot stronger now, items seem to come further out of the screen. Unfortunately the cross talk problem is a lot worse on my set! Dept, middle and out coming effects, on all these levels I experience the cross talk. With previous firmware versions the cross talk was only visible when something came out of screen, but in dept it was mostly gone.
    Can some confirm this increase of cross talk?

  13. #13
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    73
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    no changelog available at this time...

    Toengel@Alex
    Haha, for my TV, even the release notes of 140.37 are still not available !
    See here . I'm not expecting the release notes of 140.39 any time soon to be honest..

  14. #14
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,171, Level: 72
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 379
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,182
    Points
    55,171
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    for the release notes just click the link in the first post of this thread (up to 140.37).

    Toengel@Alex

  15. #15
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,042, Level: 12
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 108
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    50
    Points
    2,042
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    hei MOD thomas you have closed the thread from 5000 series saying that: the new one was open but no, there is only one for the series 8000 and higher!

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •