Results 1 to 6 of 6
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,180, Level: 9
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 170
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Stiens
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,180
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    No DTS OR 5.1 with hdmi

    Hello I have the bpd8000/12.
    I have no dts or 5.1 sound with hdmi. It works with coax.
    What can be wrong? The hdmi cable is good because i tested it with another player.

    Greetings Ewald

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,948, Level: 71
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 1,102
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,079
    Points
    52,948
    Level
    71
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 181 Times in 162 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    please describe your connections. How did you connect everything?

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 1,180, Level: 9
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 170
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Stiens
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,180
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello Toengel

    The connections are:

    dvd --->tv (hdmi)----> receiver (hdmi) 5.1 is not working
    cable receiver --->tv (hdmi) ---> reciver (hdmi) 5.1 is working

    When i do this
    dvd---> receiver (coax) 5.1 is working. But i have no hdmi on receiver. So i want to do this above.
    and there is a relay when connect seperate to receiver and tv.

    I bought a marantz with several hdmi so meaby the problem is solved when i get the new receiver?

    Greetings

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,948, Level: 71
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 1,102
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,079
    Points
    52,948
    Level
    71
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 181 Times in 162 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    if you passthrough the sound at the tv you need to be sure that your TV and receiver are connected via HDMI: but on TV you can ONLY use the HDMI ARC (audio return channel)

    DVD < HDMI > TV < HDMI ARC ONLY > RECEIVER
    or
    CABLEBOX < HDMI > TV < HDMI ARC ONLY > RECEIVER

    If you have

    DVD < HDMI > TV < SPDIF COAX > RECEIVER

    you get only 2.0

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 1,180, Level: 9
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 170
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Stiens
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,180
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Ok thank you

    i have indeed dvd <hdmi> tv <coax> receiver thats the problem

    But cablebox<hdmi> tv<coax> is working thats very strange.

  6. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,948, Level: 71
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 1,102
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,079
    Points
    52,948
    Level
    71
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 181 Times in 162 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    maybe your cablebox transmission does not have copyright protection enabled... but who knows... The only way to solve that is by connecting the TV and Receiver with HDMI ARC... or you connect directly your DVD/Cablebox with your Receiver...

    Toengel@Alex

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •