Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 48
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #31
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,553, Level: 11
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 297
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    19
    Points
    1,553
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I'm expierecing sounddrops whenever an electrical device switches on my electrical network at home. This didn't happen with the previous versions of the firmware

  2. #32
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,540, Level: 10
    Level completed: 95%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    42
    Points
    1,540
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Update to http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...ll=1#post10494

    24.08.2011
    - Sertronics called: "You'll get a 55PFL6606K as a replacement. We will call you with delivery date."
    26.08.2011
    - The 55PFL6606K was delivered and hasn't shown any sound dropouts yet.

    So after exactly one year of firmware updates and repairs I finally have a working TV.

  3. #33
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,271, Level: 9
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 79
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    15
    Points
    1,271
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by markus View Post
    So after exactly one year of firmware updates and repairs I finally have a working TV.
    Hello Markus

    Many thanks for all the infos. Glad to read you finally got a working TV - and guess what? - you
    finally have a working PHILIPS TV! ;-))))))

    Schoens Wuchenaend und Gruess!
    Chris

  4. #34
    New Member
    Points: 1,032, Level: 8
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 118
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Hamburg / Germany
    Posts
    9
    Points
    1,032
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Release Notes for the 039.

    Q5551_0.140.39.0 (Date published: 2011-07-27)

    • Picture interference observed on digital cable (DVB-C) channels. (Only applicable to country,
    Germany)

    Regards
    Thomas
    I updated my 37PFL7605H/12 to this newest FW, but still have problems with those interferences in picture and sound. Signal Quality various from 90 percent suddenly down to 15-20 percent and then goes up again to 90.

    Provider ist KABEL DEUTSCHLAND, using CI+ with DVB-C. No problems with my second TV by SAMSUNG with DVB-C and CI+. Also tried to change the CI+ Module.

    Channels are mainly NDR FS HH, MDR, RTL, EUROSPORT 2. It helps to cut off the antenna cable and then reconnect it to TV. Sometimes it ist OK for hours, sometimes only minutes.

    Please Phillips be quick to solve the problem to 100%.

    Mark

  5. #35
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,271, Level: 9
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 79
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    15
    Points
    1,271
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

  6. #36
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,377, Level: 10
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 173
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ukrainian
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,377
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi. When will leave FW 0.140.140 for 5-7 sets of TVs of 2010.? Very much I wait.

  7. #37
    New Member
    Points: 1,104, Level: 8
    Level completed: 77%, Points required for next Level: 46
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hoofddorp/Netherlands
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,104
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi there,

    On my 46PFL7655H/12 i also experience sound drop, but only on the HD channels.
    Also when i switch to game mode for display the sound drops.

  8. #38
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,343, Level: 9
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 7
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    28
    Points
    1,343
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Sound drops also occur on 42PFL7655K02 since I installed 140.39. Never had an issue before. But it happens only very very seldom and only if the TV is running for several hours. (Probably I never experienced the issue before because I normally do not watch so much television.) Swiching the channel back and forth solves the problem.

  9. #39
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,182, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 168
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,182
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Aleks View Post
    Hi. When will leave FW 0.140.140 for 5-7 sets of TVs of 2010.? Very much I wait.
    Philips told us this week, but there is still nothing online....

  10. #40
    New Member
    Points: 1,055, Level: 8
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 95
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pécs/Hugary
    Posts
    2
    Points
    1,055
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by misterhamburg View Post
    I updated my 37PFL7605H/12 to this newest FW, but still have problems with those interferences in picture and sound. Signal Quality various from 90 percent suddenly down to 15-20 percent and then goes up again to 90.

    Provider ist KABEL DEUTSCHLAND, using CI+ with DVB-C. No problems with my second TV by SAMSUNG with DVB-C and CI+. Also tried to change the CI+ Module.

    Channels are mainly NDR FS HH, MDR, RTL, EUROSPORT 2. It helps to cut off the antenna cable and then reconnect it to TV. Sometimes it ist OK for hours, sometimes only minutes.

    Please Phillips be quick to solve the problem to 100%.

    Mark
    Hi Mark,

    I also had similar problem with my TV using DVB-C, and it turned out the cause was my Wi-Fi router which was close to my TV. The solution was to point the router's antenna to other direction...

    Istvan

  11. #41
    New Member
    Points: 1,055, Level: 8
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 95
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pécs/Hugary
    Posts
    2
    Points
    1,055
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by PH38F View Post
    I have Philips 32PFL5405H/12. Whenever there is a power failure and the power is restored, the TV not only goes into standby mode, but it turns itself on. Please fix this.
    This annoying problem also occurs if i switch the TV off and on with its power switch.

  12. #42
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,470, Level: 10
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 80
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    50
    Points
    1,470
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    I have updated the new firmware 140.040 and can not connect to the net tv, I drop the line wifi or wifi can not find
    Last edited by banjeep; 09-02-2011 at 05:55 PM.

  13. #43
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,182, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 168
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,182
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by banjeep View Post
    I have updated the new firmware 140.040 and can not connect to the net tv, I drop the line wifi or wifi can not find
    Where did you find the update, for the Netherlands .39 is still the last version...

  14. #44
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,470, Level: 10
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 80
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    50
    Points
    1,470
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Assistance philips:
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/39302754/FUS....40.0_prod.zip

    pshilips, solve the problem of connecting to the net tv please

  15. #45
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,182, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 168
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,182
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by banjeep View Post
    Assistance philips:
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/39302754/FUS....40.0_prod.zip

    pshilips, solve the problem of connecting to the net tv please
    I will wait for the NLD version on the philips download site...
    http://download.p4c.philips.com/files/3/32pfl7605h_12/

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •