Results 1 to 8 of 8
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,073, Level: 12
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 77
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Skopje, Macedonia
    Posts
    90
    Points
    2,073
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    Question MKV playing on 40PFL6606h/12?

    Hello everyone, need some help with playing MKV files on my TV set.

    I have a .MKV file (Rango, 1280x528@24fr/sec, 4.3 GB) which shows through the "Browse PC" option, but when clicked I get an error message "File cannot be found or read".

    As I read the specs for the TV, MKV container is supported. Why is it not playing? How can I be sure in the future that a MKV file will play on the TV? Otherwise the download is not worth it. Thank you for any information.

    Media information for the file (from KMPlayer) is as follows:

    C:\Users\Starter\Videos\Movies\Rango\vedett-rango.720p.mkv
    General
    Unique ID : 204205009369263394315297534381454399469 (0x99A07448AAD00CCE9A39B472345A17ED)
    Complete name : C:\Users\Starter\Videos\Movies\Rango\vedett-rango.720p.mkv
    Format : Matroska
    File size : 4.37 GiB
    Duration : 1h 51mn
    Overall bit rate : 5 596 Kbps
    Encoded date : UTC 2011-06-26 16:30:23
    Writing application : mkvmerge v4.8.0 ('I Got The...') built on May 24 2011 03:12:58
    Writing library : libebml v1.2.0 + libmatroska v1.1.0
    Video #1
    ID : 1
    Format : AVC
    Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
    Format profile : High@L3.1
    Format settings, CABAC : Yes
    Format settings, ReFrames : 5 frames
    Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
    Duration : 1h 51mn
    Bit rate : 4 086 Kbps
    Width : 1 280 pixels
    Height : 528 pixels
    Display aspect ratio : 2.40:1
    Frame rate : 23.976 fps
    Color space : YUV
    Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
    Bit depth : 8 bits
    Scan type : Progressive
    Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.252
    Stream size : 3.11 GiB (71%)
    Writing library : x264 core 115 r2008 4c552d8
    Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=5 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x3:0x133 / me=umh / subme=7 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.00 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=0 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 / threads=6 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / interlaced=0 / bluray_compat=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=2 / b_adapt=2 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / weightb=1 / open_gop=0 / weightp=2 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=23 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=50 / rc=2pass / mbtree=1 / bitrate=4086 / ratetol=1.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=0 / qpmax=69 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:1.00
    Language : English
    Audio #2
    ID : 2
    Format : DTS
    Format/Info : Digital Theater Systems
    Codec ID : A_DTS
    Duration : 1h 51mn
    Bit rate mode : Constant
    Bit rate : 1 510 Kbps
    Channel(s) : 6 channels
    Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
    Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
    Bit depth : 24 bits
    Compression mode : Lossy
    Stream size : 1.18 GiB (27%)
    Text #3
    ID : 3
    Format : UTF-8
    Codec ID : S_TEXT/UTF8
    Codec ID/Info : UTF-8 Plain Text

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,416, Level: 70
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 134
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    52,416
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    I think Format profile : High@L3.1 is the problem. Only Main@L3.0 to L3.2 and High@L4.0 and L4.1 are supported

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,073, Level: 12
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 77
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Skopje, Macedonia
    Posts
    90
    Points
    2,073
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    Arrow

    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    I think Format profile : High@L3.1 is the problem. Only Main@L3.0 to L3.2 and High@L4.0 and L4.1 are supported

    Toengel@Alex
    Thank you for the information! Is there a way (VirtualDub, other) that I can re-encode using the supported Format profile?

    I would be very gratefull for exact instructions, as I am new to this :-)

    Which program, which exact settings should I use to re-encode files that are not supported by the TV, so I can watch them over the network?

    Thank you again and stay well.

  4. #4
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Actually, the problem is DTS. Philips' TVs will not read any file containing a DTS band. You have to convert it to Dolby Digital.

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,073, Level: 12
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 77
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Skopje, Macedonia
    Posts
    90
    Points
    2,073
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    Actually, the problem is DTS. Philips' TVs will not read any file containing a DTS band. You have to convert it to Dolby Digital.
    Thanks for this too. Which program, which exact settings should I use to re-encode files that are not supported by the TV, so I can watch them over the network? Preferably keeping more or less the same video/audio quality? Your suggestions/advise is welcomed.

  6. #6
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    You can search for "PopCorn MKV AudioConverter"...

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,073, Level: 12
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 77
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Skopje, Macedonia
    Posts
    90
    Points
    2,073
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    You can search for "PopCorn MKV AudioConverter"...
    Thanks, found it. I also found 2 good tutorials, will try using those first. I hope I can count on you if something goes wrong :-)

    All best.

  8. #8
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,073, Level: 12
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 77
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Skopje, Macedonia
    Posts
    90
    Points
    2,073
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    You can search for "PopCorn MKV AudioConverter"...
    OK, you were totally right - I used PopCorn MKV AudioConverter to convert DTS to Dolby Digital, and the file worked on the TV with no problems. Thanks for the suggestions.

    Another thing, the original MKV contains subtitles too. Is there a way to extract and embed the subtitles in the new file (with audio converted to Dolby Digital) too? Or maybe after the audio conversion?

    I used VirtualDub with SRT to SSA converter and subtitler plugin to embed subs into AVI files, worked very well. Can this be done with MKVs too?

    All best again.

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •