Results 1 to 14 of 14
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,362, Level: 10
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 188
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    isnogud's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,362
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Question Requesting Firmware 1.53 for BDP8000/12 (1.56 did a number of stunts on me grrr)

    Hi all,

    i encountered several weaknesses in firmware 1.56
    Since i did the upgrade (silly me) i cannot play moviez from external USB HD
    Before the update, all of these movie files (avi/mkv) played well.

    Ok played well is a little too much. With both filetypes there were actually annoying issues.
    Unresponsible remote control (philips prestigo SRU8015) and unresponsible Player (BDP8000/12)
    I always have to unplug the USB to stop playing these files. That really slowly unplugs me ...

    So as Andreas here

    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...-lousy-product

    suggested, i am asking you other members here for a copy of the good old firmware 1.53

    Thanks in advance folks
    IsNoGud

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,362, Level: 10
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 188
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    isnogud's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,362
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Thumbs down

    Just had a talk with a guy from support. Storing your old firmware would not help.

    A Firmware Downgrade is never possible he said.

    So back to sender and forget about Philips products...
    There is very much information available about these problems. A lot of customers complain about the effects of this Firmware Update ... I spent a few thousand bucks on Philips products so far. But this waterhole is dry now !
    Last edited by isnogud; 05-23-2011 at 05:37 PM.

  3. #3
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi, please check this thread where I just posted http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...-lousy-product

    I have the old FW so if you want it please drop a PM with your email to me.

    Regards

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,362, Level: 10
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 188
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    isnogud's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,362
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Oscar, i sent you a pm.

  5. #5
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Thanks just saw it I have send you one back. <please check your PM´s

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 1,066, Level: 8
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1
    Points
    1,066
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hey guys,
    can anyone send me the 1.53 fw pls.
    Thx

  7. #7
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    5
    hey icepuma I have the 1.53 FW, /12 Europe version. If you need that I will upload that to an online directory for you to download. let me know if you are using/12 as well.

  8. #8
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    5
    hi icepuma i have sent you a PM

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 1,025, Level: 8
    Level completed: 38%, Points required for next Level: 125
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,025
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy Firmware 1.53 for BDP8000/12 needed

    Quote Originally Posted by kwinnie View Post
    hey icepuma I have the 1.53 FW, /12 Europe version. If you need that I will upload that to an online directory for you to download. let me know if you are using/12 as well.
    @kwinnie

    Hi,

    after upgrading to 1.56 firmware, my BDP8000 loses network settings at every wake-up from standby mode - just as you mentioned. That really sucks...

    I would be very glad if you can send me a copy of 1.53 firmware, too. Many thx in advance!

    Bests, tobey79

  10. #10
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    5
    hi tobey79,

    I have sent you a PM.
    Please let me know if downgrading your device solve the problems...

    Kind regards, Kwinnie

  11. #11
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,688, Level: 14
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 62
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    45
    Points
    2,688
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I too had issues after upgrading to 1.56, but I returned my unit and requested a new unit. The store gave me a new unit as mine was less than two weeks old. I hesitated long before I upgraded the second unit to 1.56, but after encouragement from Philips I did. No problems at all, the unit works as it should (but still has the model specific problems I hope the next formware upgrade will fix).

    My advice is therefore to go back to the shop as the problem may lie within your unit rather than with the 1.56 upgrade.

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 1,025, Level: 8
    Level completed: 38%, Points required for next Level: 125
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,025
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kwinnie View Post
    hi tobey79,

    I have sent you a PM.
    Please let me know if downgrading your device solve the problems...

    Kind regards, Kwinnie
    Hi Kwinnie!

    Many thx for the download link. Unfortunately firmware 1.53 didn't solve my problem. Network settings on my BDP8000 are still lost after wake-up from stand-by mode. The player goes back to Philips Support today. Hope, they can solve the problem - or send me a new one.

    Thx again for your help!

    Bests, tobey79

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 1,025, Level: 8
    Level completed: 38%, Points required for next Level: 125
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,025
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Andreas View Post
    I too had issues after upgrading to 1.56, but I returned my unit and requested a new unit. The store gave me a new unit as mine was less than two weeks old. I hesitated long before I upgraded the second unit to 1.56, but after encouragement from Philips I did. No problems at all, the unit works as it should (but still has the model specific problems I hope the next formware upgrade will fix).

    My advice is therefore to go back to the shop as the problem may lie within your unit rather than with the 1.56 upgrade.
    Hi Andreas,

    I think you're right. When my new BDP8000 arrived, I had some problems with lost network settings after wake-up from stand-by mode for several days. Then, don't ask me why, everything went fine til I upgraded the firmware to v1.56. Since then, the "lost network settings" issues occurs after every wake-up of the player. That really sucks... For me, a downgrade to 1.53 didn't help. I agree with you that this really seems to be a hardware issue. At least for some of us. Anyway, my BDP8000 goes back to the Philips Support today. We'll see...

    Bests, tobey79

  14. #14
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    @ tobey79

    You have a PM.

    Thanks.
    Forum Mod

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •