Results 1 to 10 of 10
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,079, Level: 8
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 71
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Stuttgart/Germany
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,079
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Differences in Models?

    Hello,
    I've bought 2 TVs for my parents. The first one is a 40PFL7605H/12. But as second one the online shop sent us a 32PFL7605H/05 with an adaptor for the UK mains plug.

    What is the difference between these two models, other than the mains plug?

    I've got the below info from this thread, but I don't know what it means.
    # H/05 = MPEG-4 DVB-T/C UK
    # H/12 = MPEG-4 DVB-T/C rest Europe

    DVB-C seems to work, but DVB-T we can't test at my parent's home. Does someone has more details? Are there any compatibility problems, e.g. different frequency ranges, or other issues when operating the H/05 model in rest Europe?

    There are different upgrade packages for the H/05 and H/12 model on the software server. Is it possible to load the H/12 software upgrade on the H/05 model und by this convert it to a model for "rest Europe"?

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 15,994, Level: 38
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 456
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,632
    Points
    15,994
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Topic has been moved.
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,031, Level: 12
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 119
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    65
    Points
    2,031
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by tvforum View Post
    Hello,
    I've bought 2 TVs for my parents. The first one is a 40PFL7605H/12. But as second one the online shop sent us a 32PFL7605H/05 with an adaptor for the UK mains plug.

    What is the difference between these two models, other than the mains plug?

    I've got the below info from this thread, but I don't know what it means.
    # H/05 = MPEG-4 DVB-T/C UK
    # H/12 = MPEG-4 DVB-T/C rest Europe

    DVB-C seems to work, but DVB-T we can't test at my parent's home. Does someone has more details? Are there any compatibility problems, e.g. different frequency ranges, or other issues when operating the H/05 model in rest Europe?

    There are different upgrade packages for the H/05 and H/12 model on the software server. Is it possible to load the H/12 software upgrade on the H/05 model und by this convert it to a model for "rest Europe"?

    Thanks in advance!
    I personally would not accept that: if I order a "/12" I expect to receive a "/12". The "/05" is a UK model, and not designed for Germany. I would send it back and ask for a correct model.

    Grtz.,
    Cookie

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,640, Level: 11
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 210
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    59
    Points
    1,640
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by tvforum View Post
    DVB-C seems to work, but DVB-T we can't test at my parent's home. Does someone has more details? Are there any compatibility problems, e.g. different frequency ranges, or other issues when operating the H/05 model in rest Europe?
    I can't answer you question directly but I would advise you to check out the DVB-T compatibility if you can (if you think you might use it in the future). You should be able to get the exact specs for the model on the internet. Or some of the TV forums may be able to help try AVforums or Diitalspy

    Failing that if you could bring it to a friends or neighbors house and use their antenna for 30mins you should be able to verify if it works.

    I am pretty sure my model 46PFL9705H/12 will not work in UK on DVB-T (I'm in Ireland). I think its Freview HD is the issue (or maybe Freeview SD -one or the other).

  5. #5
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,383, Level: 69
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 767
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,968
    Points
    50,383
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    I suggest to send the TV back and ask for a German model!

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 1,079, Level: 8
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 71
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Stuttgart/Germany
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,079
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for the answers so far. I'll have to contact the shop to see what they say.

    @Cookie: I havn't ordered a /12 explicitly, since the shop offered it as 32PFL7605H.

    @mike tv: I've compared the Philips datasheets for the H/05 and H12 one by one. There is no difference, but rather specify features and no details, e.g. frequency ranges.

    My hope is that someone at Philips could tell me these details, or at least answer the general compatibility question.

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 15,994, Level: 38
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 456
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,632
    Points
    15,994
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    the System Platform is the same so basic features are the same.
    But there is a reason why there is a UK and a "European" Version, the UK Version is changed especially in the Firmware to fit the expectations for DVB-C/T in UK.
    Also some other minor differences which are not visible to you.

    I also would recommend to change the Device if you are in Germany.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 1,079, Level: 8
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 71
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Stuttgart/Germany
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,079
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thomas, changing the device may not be that easy since it's unpacked and already installed.

    If the hardware (System Platform) is the same, do you think it's possible to just change the software to the /12 version?

  9. #9
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,383, Level: 69
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 767
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,968
    Points
    50,383
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    as far as I know, this is not possible... did you bought it via internet? Then you have 2 weeks to send the TV back...

    Toengel@Alex

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Points: 15,994, Level: 38
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 456
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,632
    Points
    15,994
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by tvforum View Post
    Thomas, changing the device may not be that easy since it's unpacked and already installed.

    If the hardware (System Platform) is the same, do you think it's possible to just change the software to the /12 version?
    Hi

    Sorry but this is not possible.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •