Results 1 to 9 of 9
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,053, Level: 8
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    1,053
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Match Line remote device problem

    Hello

    I have just been given a quality Philips TV (Match Line). There is a manual on/off switch on the TV set itself, but no other manual buttons.

    I am unable to do ANYTHING with the TV remote control (volume doesn't work when I press the Vol + button, I cannot access the Menu since the Menu button doesn't work, etc). The remote device has new batteries in it.

    I do have a remote device for the freeview box, but I am not able to increase the TV volume using this device (but I can access a Menu - to see the different channels, etc).

    Does it sound as if I have a TV remote control device problem and is it likely that buying a new 'universal' remote control device might resolve the problem?

    Is there anything else I should try - I am a bit naive when it comes to TVs, etc.

    Thanks

    Steve

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 15,994, Level: 38
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 456
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,632
    Points
    15,994
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi SteveHi,

    Can you please post the Model No of the TV?
    (xxPFxxxx, xxPFPxxxx, xxPFPxxxx, xxPWxxxx...)

    Thanks
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 1,053, Level: 8
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    1,053
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello Thomas

    Thanks for your reply.

    There is a sticker on the back that reads: 32PW9625.

    Thanks again

    Steve

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,498, Level: 69
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 652
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,978
    Points
    50,498
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 170 Times in 152 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    you can try the following to be sure if the remote works or not: Take a digital camera an look on the screen of the camera. Point the camera on the IR sender of the remote. You should be able to see, if the remote works / sends some commands - should be visible as red light...

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 1,053, Level: 8
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    1,053
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello Toengel@Alex

    Thanks for your message.

    I done as you suggest. If I press the Menu button I can see a kind of purple light; the same if I press the P+ button. But if I press the Vol + button, I see nothing (the sound on the TV is so low).

    But when I press the Menu button and point it at the TV itself, nothing happens - no on screen menu.

    Does it sounds as if I need a new Remote control and, if so, which one would be compatible?

    Thanks again.

    Steve

  6. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,498, Level: 69
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 652
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,978
    Points
    50,498
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 170 Times in 152 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    that really indicates that your remote control is defect... if you have warrenty for your TV just call your local Philips hotline...

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 1,053, Level: 8
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    1,053
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    It's out of warranty, I'm afraid. I am happt to get anothger remote as long as it is compatible.

    Thanks for your help.

    Steve

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Points: 15,994, Level: 38
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 456
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,632
    Points
    15,994
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Steve

    this is an CRT TV, unfortunately this Kind of TVs are not supported via this Forum.
    However, from what i know from this TVs, i would strongly recommend to see if the original Remote is still available because it is not possible to run a channel search with a universal Remote.

    pls check with your Local Call Center:
    http://www.support.philips.com/suppo...jsp?COOKIE=off

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 1,053, Level: 8
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    1,053
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello Thomas

    Oh, right. I didn't know that.

    Thanks a lot - I will contact Philips.

    Regards

    Steve

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •