Results 1 to 14 of 14
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 89, Level: 1
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7
    Points
    89
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    SA2323/37 radio problem after firmware repair/upgrade

    My GoGear SA2323/37 today suffered a problem which rendered it inoperable, unable to be turned on, not recognized by the PC as anything but an unformatted USB drive. I went through the repair process, and when I turned it on, the radio function was missing. How can I get it back?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 11,442, Level: 32
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 508
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive1 year registered10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Rafal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    2,072
    Points
    11,442
    Level
    32
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 65 Times in 61 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hello geezer48,

    Thank you for your post.

    Please follow the steps described in the link below:

    http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/c...w_partial.html

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 89, Level: 1
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7
    Points
    89
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Rafal View Post
    Hello geezer48,

    Thank you for your post.

    Please follow the steps described in the link below:

    http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/c...w_partial.html

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    If you would actually read my original post, you will see the following:

    "unable to be turned on, not recognized by the PC as anything but an unformatted USB drive. I went through the repair process,"

    I had already done the repair process you linked to, long before contacting Philips Support, and it resulted in the missing radio problem. I have since found other problems with the upgraded firmware: the new firmware does not preserve the position of the playback of mp3 files in a folder across battery changes. So to sum up:

    1. BEFORE REPAIR, the player had a radio function
    2. BEFORE REPAIR, the player preserved the position (folder, track, time) when the player was last stopped, even if the removable battery ran down and was replaced.
    3. BEFORE REPAIR, the player, when inserted into the PC, was recognized as a Philips player in the Windows Explorer file list thusly: + [drive icon] Philips (N:)
    4. BEFORE REPAIR, the player contained several standard folders and files, including:
    folders MicRecord, FMRecord
    various .dat files that appeared to be a tiny database.

    AFTER the repair process, with the updated firmware, each and every one of those items are no longer true.

    What I would like is to be able to return to the firmware that originally came with the player, so that all functionality is restored. How can I do that?
    Last edited by geezer48; 01-24-2015 at 05:42 AM. Reason: remove inappropriate smilie

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 11,442, Level: 32
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 508
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive1 year registered10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Rafal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    2,072
    Points
    11,442
    Level
    32
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 65 Times in 61 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hello again,

    You have done step 2 but have you done step 1 - reset?

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Last edited by Philips - Rafal; 01-14-2015 at 11:40 AM.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 89, Level: 1
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7
    Points
    89
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The very first thing I did was to remove the AAA battery and replace it with a fresh one, kind of standard when a device does not turn on. So, yes, step 1 was done. You need to look at the repair/update process, the code being loaded is not the correct code for this player. I have been using the latest firmware update version. It does not code for the radio, nor for the proper behavior of the 'restart paused playback' function. I wish to go back to the original, as it worked just fine.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 11,442, Level: 32
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 508
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive1 year registered10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Rafal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    2,072
    Points
    11,442
    Level
    32
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 65 Times in 61 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hello geezer48,

    Thank you for your post.

    Let me escalate the issue to the technical team. I will get back to you with the results as soon as more information becomes available.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 11,442, Level: 32
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 508
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive1 year registered10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Rafal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    2,072
    Points
    11,442
    Level
    32
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 65 Times in 61 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hello geezer48,

    Can you just tell us the software version before repair and now please?

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 89, Level: 1
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7
    Points
    89
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The firmware version current on the SA2323/37 is 4.11. I do not recall what the previous version was, but it was the original one that came with the player.

    Thanks for your attention.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 11,442, Level: 32
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 508
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive1 year registered10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Rafal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    2,072
    Points
    11,442
    Level
    32
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 65 Times in 61 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hello geezer48,

    Here are the troubleshooting steps suggested by the technical team:

    Cure: Recover the player by using the repair function of the Device manager version 2.2.x or above.

    1. Download the Device Manager version 2.2.x from the Philips support site into a temp folder of your PC.

    2. Uninstall the existing Device Manager and then reinstall the new Device Manager.

    3. Restart your PC after installation

    4. Launch Device Manager on your PC at Start>Programs>Philips Digital Audio Player>SA2xxx>Philips SA2xxx Device Manager>Philips Device Manager. Make sure that you have a fresh battery inserted in your player.

    5. Connect your player to the PC via the USB port

    6. Select the Repair tab and then click REPAIR. Follow the on screen instructions to complete the recovery of the player.

    7. Disconnect the player from PC and restart.

    IRIS code: 2 11F 1 1 SFT

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 89, Level: 1
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7
    Points
    89
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The only version available for the SA2323/37 is the one that I have installed, sa2323_37_pal_aen.exe, which is ver. 1.4.1. Where on the Philips site will I find ver. 2.2.x? If you could provide a link, that would be great.

    Thanks.

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 89, Level: 1
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7
    Points
    89
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    It has been several days since I last replied. Is there any progress on getting that link to ver. 2.2.x? I have tried several ways to locate this on the Philips site.

    Thanks.

  12. #12
    Moderator
    Points: 11,442, Level: 32
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 508
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive1 year registered10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Rafal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    2,072
    Points
    11,442
    Level
    32
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 65 Times in 61 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear geezer48,

    As SA2323/37 is a 2007 product, no further technical support is offered, I'm afraid.

    Please accept my sincere apologies.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 89, Level: 1
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 61
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7
    Points
    89
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks ever so much. That is so very helpful. It gives me such confidence knowing that the other Philips products I own will be equally supported. I'm sure this will inspire me to buy so many more Philips products, knowing that within just a few years I won't be able to get any help when they have problems.

    All I was asking for was an old file. One that you must have somewhere. Not something new, or improved, just the thing that already exists that will make the product work. If you folks are not willing to keep track of such things, you really should release those into the wild so that you won't ever be bothered with people like me, who just want the original product to keep working.

  14. #14
    Moderator
    Points: 11,442, Level: 32
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 508
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive1 year registered10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Rafal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    2,072
    Points
    11,442
    Level
    32
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 65 Times in 61 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear geezer48,

    I understand your frustration but I am not able to help you any further. Please contact your local Philips dealer or service centre.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team

Similar Topics

  1. Problem with firmware upgrade - SA3ARA04K/97
    By Nick75 in forum Sound: GoGear SA3-series (2011)
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 11-02-2013, 08:06 PM
  2. Problem with firmware upgrade - USB
    By philipsuser13 in forum TV: Software 2009 models (and older)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-01-2013, 06:57 PM
  3. HTS5530/94 Firmware upgrade problem
    By maddy071084 in forum Blu-ray: HTS Series
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-23-2012, 02:17 AM
  4. Firmware Upgrade problem
    By dex4ong@gmail.com in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-22-2012, 06:22 AM
  5. Problem to upgrade firmware
    By Glorg in forum Sound: Streamium MCi series (MCi900| Mci8080| MCi730| MCi500| MCi298)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-04-2012, 12:16 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •