Results 1 to 7 of 7
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,095, Level: 8
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 55
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    7
    Points
    1,095
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    does 52pfl8605 digital out provides 5.1 surround?

    Hi.

    I want to know please,

    lets say i connect my DVD to the TV with HDMI,
    And the home theater system digital in (coaxial) to the TV digital out (coaxial).
    I play a movie on my DVD.

    Will the sound going from the DVD to the TV and back to the Home Theater System will be 5.1 surround????

    This is very important to know, so i would consider how do i wire the entire system (XBOX, DVD, Digital TV receiver, PC)

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 49,796, Level: 69
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 1,354
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,925
    Points
    49,796
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 159 Times in 141 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    it should only work if you connect your TV and HTS with HDMI (there the HDMI ARC - audio return channel will be used)... Via coaxial you only have 2.0 PCM...

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    If you send DD through HDMI to the TV, the SPDIF output of the TV will send the DD received (passthrough). At least this is what happens in my 9705.
    But it will *not* pass through DTS. Only DD.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 1,095, Level: 8
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 55
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    7
    Points
    1,095
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    it should only work if you connect your TV and HTS with HDMI (there the HDMI ARC - audio return channel will be used)... Via coaxial you only have 2.0 PCM...

    Toengel@Alex
    Thank you..!

    And one Last question please!

    Lets say i have an HTS connected to the TV via HDMI 1 (arc 1.4).
    and also have an XBOX connected via HDMI to the TV's HDMI 2. (1.3 not arc)

    i play my XBOX game.

    Will i hear the sound of the game on my HTS???

    Will the sound from my XBOX will go to the TV's HDMI 2 and then BACK to the HTS connected via the HDMI ARC?

  5. #5
    Diamond Member
    Points: 49,796, Level: 69
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 1,354
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,925
    Points
    49,796
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 159 Times in 141 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    should be - but I can't be 100% sure... I do not have such setup...

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 1,095, Level: 8
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 55
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    7
    Points
    1,095
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    should be - but I can't be 100% sure... I do not have such setup...

    Toengel@Alex

    its the only logical setup

    it requires the least amount of cables... don't you think?

  7. #7
    Diamond Member
    Points: 49,796, Level: 69
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 1,354
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,925
    Points
    49,796
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 159 Times in 141 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    I don't know if your HTS has more than one HDMI input... maybe you could also connect all to your HTS and only one HTS-TV connection... you need to try ;-)

    Toengel@Alex

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •