Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,471, Level: 10
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 79
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,471
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Exclamation REVIEW: Why didn't Philips moderators actively inform us about the NET TV problems??

    Just one simply question: why didn't Philips moderators actively inform us about the NET TV problems?

    We had to wait many weeks to get an official message from Philips customer manager Diane de Vaan:


    Dear Customer,

    You have a problem reported on the operation of NetTV of the Philips TV. Firstly, our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. We realize how annoying it is to not take advantage of the NetTV option.

    The Philips development team is working with might and main to reach the correct solution to this problem. Currently, the test software, both internally and by a consumer panel tested. Before the software is officially released, however, more testing should take place. We expect the latest in week 36 to be ready for the new software to send and you easily back and carefree on the Philips NetTV enjoy.

    I hope to have informed you sufficiently. If you still have questions, our customer happy to help you on the free number 0800-0230076.
    You can also visit www.philips.nl / support for other contact options.

    Sincerely,

    Diane de Vaan

    Philips Consumer Care Manager Benelux

    ================================================== =====================

    Hopefully, the Philips moderators understand that forum members expect support. We are an active test panel and work for free.
    Last edited by StefanTV; 08-20-2011 at 11:44 PM.

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,439, Level: 70
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 1,111
    Overall activity: 67.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,036
    Points
    51,439
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    on the other side Philips can only say "we have a problem with Net TV on certain TV series and working hard on it" - but more they cannot say. Developing and debugging needs much time and one cannot fix a time line when the bug is found an fixed...

    But an end is near... some people have version 140.40.x on their TVs after repair... and Net TV is working again.

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,761, Level: 11
    Level completed: 71%, Points required for next Level: 89
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    49
    Points
    1,761
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I did post it myself that this issue was not the blame of my TV-set's hardware, but caused by firmware or faulty servers. We can rule out the servers for now, because on other equipment NetTV does work.

    The only thing I can think of is that in a previous firmware release (example .036), there was a bug that caused the NetTV memory to get full, too full to perform actions like connecting to NetTV or clearing the NetTV memory or the ability to change things with firmware. That could explain why new motherboards with later firmware work just fine. Philips probably tries to find a work-around to clear this memory through some backdoor ways. I wouldn't be surprised that we have to perform two or more steps (two or more files) in that upcoming release to achieve the NetTV to work again.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,471, Level: 10
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 79
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,471
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Leonos View Post
    I did post it myself that this issue was not the blame of my TV-set's hardware, but caused by firmware or faulty servers. We can rule out the servers for now, because on other equipment NetTV does work.

    The only thing I can think of is that in a previous firmware release (example .036), there was a bug that caused the NetTV memory to get full, too full to perform actions like connecting to NetTV or clearing the NetTV memory or the ability to change things with firmware. That could explain why new motherboards with later firmware work just fine. Philips probably tries to find a work-around to clear this memory through some backdoor ways. I wouldn't be surprised that we have to perform two or more steps (two or more files) in that upcoming release to achieve the NetTV to work again.

    Thanks for your analysis. Sounds logical!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •