Page 5 of 18 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 262
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #61
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Posts
    158
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Philips is releasing some firmware versions (like the last 140) that only corrects ONE feature/bug.
    The list of features and bugs on the first post of this thread is already enough for giving the Philips TV firmware guy (I still think it's only one!) work for at least... 4 years.
    But after two years, they discontinue the 2010 TV models and no more updates, many things will not get corrected.

    Hey, I really hope I'm wrong.
    But I'm smart enough to figure out what will happen, if things keep going as up to now.
    Last edited by carlosfm; 09-13-2011 at 04:54 PM.

  2. #62
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,794, Level: 11
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 56
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    33
    Points
    1,794
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The guys involved in updating the software are not the best I have to admit. Why can't they fix the problems?. They should be sacked

  3. #63
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    added features 23 and 24...

    Toengel@Alex

  4. #64
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Posts
    158
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Feature 99: correct/implement everything that's on the first post of this thread. In one month.

  5. #65
    New Member
    Points: 996, Level: 8
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Points
    996
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Spottet another bug: Negative sleep timer value after playing around with the sleep timer, waiting some time and resetting it again. Doing that several times brought me a negative 4 minutes...

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Philips Negative Sleep Timer Bug.jpg 
Views:	64 
Size:	147.5 KB 
ID:	440

  6. #66
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    can you post an exact example?

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #67
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,636, Level: 17
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 214
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    195
    Points
    3,636
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    I've heard/read about the new SmartTV interface, also on the 'older' 2010 sets (search on Smart TV Philips).
    I'm gessing that a lot of development effort has gone into this, were probably a lot of the code has been hussled around or maybe even completely rewritten.
    Hopefully a lot of these bugs are all (indirectly) fixed...

    They've got at least my curiosity...

    Chris

  8. #68
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    624
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by carlosfm View Post
    The list of features and bugs on the first post of this thread is already enough for giving the Philips TV firmware guy (I still think it's only one!) work for at least... 4 years.
    But after two years, they discontinue the 2010 TV models and no more updates, many things will not get corrected.
    Dear Carlosfm,
    you don't need to figure out what will happen....it's already happening.

    The R&D is busy to implement new features for the 2011-2012 models and the issues/bugs of the previous models are for sure put as "reserve".

    Some examples?

    "Now-next" feature
    I'm listed in this forum since Dec. 2010 and, month by month, these feature was a) asked for, b) strongly asked for, c) now is begging.

    ...and the list is huge.

    Do you think will it be implemented? I'm no confident anymore.

    regards

  9. #69
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,335, Level: 13
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 115
    Overall activity: 56.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    83
    Points
    2,335
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi all,

    from a certain point of view I can understand, that we don't see any response from
    Philips, but to be honest - even a short reply would be better much than obviously
    fully ignoring Alex' list.

    I think this list is a good summary and IMO there are some points on it that could be
    easily fixed - and make customers happy.

    I got a bit the impression that the xxx5 series was a usability test for some features -
    think about the missing buttons on the remote control and compare it with the new
    one - think about the limited now-and-next feature - in fact simply see what the customer
    is willing to accept and what not.

    - Gerhard

  10. #70
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Just imagine how many of these bugs would not be there, if several of the employees of Philips actually had Philips TVs.

  11. #71
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    624
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    Just imagine how many of these bugs would not be there, if several of the employees of Philips actually had Philips TVs.
    This is the point: the R&D employees don't watch the Philips TVs, they don't use NET TV to type adresses when they're on the sofa at home.

    regards

  12. #72
    Gold Member
    Points: 1,885, Level: 12
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 265
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    276
    Points
    1,885
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    regarding boards like the hifi forum in germany, one could say the same for any other brand available on the market....
    but this thread is to post bugs on specific tv sets, not to spam like we do it now...

  13. #73
    New Member
    Points: 996, Level: 8
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Points
    996
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    how to realize negative sleep timers (even with 140 firmware):

    1. set timer to 5 minutes
    2. wait until the tv warns you, that it will turn off in a minute
    3. go to the sleep timer menu and set the timer again to 5 minutes.
    4. the firmware ignores your changed sleep timer setting and turns off the tv in about 30 to 60 seconds (depends how fast you are able to access the sleep timer...)
    5. imidiatelly after the tv turns off, turn it on agian (i.e. by clicking the right button on the control to simulate a chanel change)
    6. check sleep timer settings: it should show -1
    7. wait some time an watch the sleeptimer raising in negative directiion...

    while I am writing this post my sleep timer shows -17 minutes...

    at point 5. you sholud be very fast. If you are to slow, the tv should turn off completally. At this moment the sleep timer will be reset to 0.
    Last edited by daggettthebeaver; 09-19-2011 at 11:14 PM. Reason: typo

  14. #74
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Hey Toengel,

    I just remembered another bug, which is there since the update of the add app dialog:
    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...om-App-Gallery

    It might be an issue where investigation can be dropped if SmartTV update will make the dialogue obsolete.
    But I would add it to the list, if SmartTV update will change this, we can mark it fixed.

    Greets

  15. #75
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi smart,

    I wrote this bug description some days ago and forget to add this to the list ^^

    Thanks anyway...

    Toengel@Alex

Page 5 of 18 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •