Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 105 of 136

Topic: 3D over USB

  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #91
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,368, Level: 13
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    32PFL7606K FW Q5551-0.14.93.0_bld11a
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,368
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by a_Tom View Post
    it simply makes no sense to create 3d content with resolutions below 720, and honestly, if someone does i'll wish him that he has to watch this videos 24/7.
    Well, I wouldn't want to watch Active3D 24/7 either :-)
    Actually, I'd rather watch passive3D 24/7, because the Passive glasses are much lighter compared to Active glasses.

    Regarding the resolution - for a smaller TV, the halfed horizontal resolution is actually fine.
    And without a special HDMI 3D Player and source, which does provide 2x1920x1080 (which is still rare afaik), you will have the same "halfed" resolution, even with Active3D

    Still, I agree, for 3D, it would probably have been better to make a top-bottom layout "the default" instead of side-by-side,
    as this would allow a finer horizontal=depth resolution.
    Also, it would better match the line-wise passive polarization from Philips.

    Even though, I still prefer passive 3D. I think it's much less straining to the eyes than active 3D.

  2. #92
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,368, Level: 13
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    32PFL7606K FW Q5551-0.14.93.0_bld11a
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,368
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Siddan View Post
    I had problems with one 3D movie which is in mkv format and everytime I switched to 3D the TV made a clitch sound and restarted. Now how can a simple consumer figure out you have to disable both Pixel Precise AND HD motion so you can view this format in 3D ¿¿
    I guess, decoding high-res H264, reordering the image data for 3D and image enhancements was probably too much for the media processor. Or it's a firmware bug.

    Quote Originally Posted by Siddan View Post
    I also came to understand later on that no other resolutions than 1920*1080 and 1280*720 will work. This means a ratio of ~1,778 . I would really love to hear an explanation as to why this is so. As to my knowledge this only applies to Philips TV.
    I hope someone can answer and if it would be difficult to make a fix with a new firmware
    I guess, this fixed resolution allows a hardware-accelerated preparation for 3D (e.g. from side-by-side to line-interleaved). Every other rate would require an hardware-accelerated arbitrary resampler, which is available for 2D, but which might not work together with the 3D hardware module, so from my understanding, it's a hardware limitation from the NXP media processor, I guess, but I might be wrong.

    I haven't tested, if it possible to change the ratio of a 3D movie with the Format button. But if no, this is probably also due to a hardware limitation, so you're best bet would be to do some recoding and introduce 2 black bars to match the right resolution and ratio.

    Update:
    Actually, changing the format is possible, even in 3D, which is very good. So you can correct the aspect ratio as you need it.
    Last edited by matthias; 05-24-2012 at 07:43 AM. Reason: Changing format works in 3D

  3. #93
    New Member
    Points: 1,137, Level: 8
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1
    Points
    1,137
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi all,
    does anyone know when the 2010 models are supported?
    I have the 46PFL9705k/02 with the current software 000.140.047.000
    3D via DVB-S works fine, via USB, unfortunately do not!

  4. #94
    Gold Member
    Points: 1,885, Level: 12
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 265
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    276
    Points
    1,885
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    hey klaus, as 3d via usb was only comming via upgrade to 2011 tvs i expect no 2010 tv to support this feature, sorry

  5. #95
    New Member
    Points: 461, Level: 5
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 89
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    1
    Points
    461
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by matthias View Post
    The resolution must be 1920x1080 or 1280x720.
    Is there anyway to bypass this, through a hack or something so the TV always is enabled to do SBS or top-bottom? The reason is that real movie resolutions are not 1080p but rather 1920x800 (21:9).

    I'm running into this not being able to play about 50% of the movies which are 1920x800 instead of 1920x1080.

  6. #96
    Gold Member
    Points: 1,885, Level: 12
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 265
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    276
    Points
    1,885
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    hey bartb; no therte is no way, you only can change the resolution on your PC

  7. #97
    Bronze Member
    Points: 466, Level: 5
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    20
    Points
    466
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi.

    It is normal since you have used an HD mode resolution of your screen.

  8. #98
    New Member
    Points: 435, Level: 4
    Level completed: 85%, Points required for next Level: 15
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3
    Points
    435
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Sorry, can i see 3d files from usb with 42PFL4307H/12?
    Thanks!!

  9. #99
    New Member
    Points: 435, Level: 4
    Level completed: 85%, Points required for next Level: 15
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3
    Points
    435
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    ...sorry, or switch 2d in 3d?

  10. #100
    New Member
    Points: 1,066, Level: 8
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,066
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Everybody
    I have a Philips 47PFL7606T/12 and I want to know if it is possible to play 3D movies SBS from USB device if it is a .mkv file?
    And second do I have to make some adjustments before I go to SBS 3D?

  11. #101
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    1) you need to install the latest firmware (via USB - see support website)
    2) image resolution need to be HD (1920x1080 or the 1280x720 - not sure on the latter)
    3) MKV is only a container - important are the supported codecs (see codec list) - e.g. DTS is and will not be supported

    Toengel@Alex

  12. #102
    New Member
    Points: 424, Level: 4
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    1
    Points
    424
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    I bought to my parents 42PFL7606K/02, but there is not allowed to view the videos from USB. Could you help me how to enable the 3D from USB. I have read a lot on this thread but I have the latest firmware and there is still some problem. I can't choose the 3D option. Can anyone help me?

    Thanks.

    David

  13. #103
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    check:
    1) is firmware 14.98 installed?
    2) resolutions mentioned above

    Toengel@Alex

  14. #104
    New Member
    Points: 1,066, Level: 8
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,066
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    can you please tell me step by step how to get the SBS 3D to work and where do i change the resolution on the tv?

  15. #105
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    the movie resolution need to have the width and height mentioned above. Only if this resolution is available, you are able to enable 3D.

    Toengel@Alex

Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •