Results 1 to 12 of 12
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,024, Level: 8
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 126
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    1,024
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    32PFL9613H "Unsupported format" error via HDMI

    Hi,

    I have following setup:
    1. HD Cable set-top box which is connected to HD Wireless link transmitter via HDMI 1.
    2. DLink Boxee box which is connected to the same HD Wireless link transmitter via HDMI 2.
    3. HD Wireless link receiver is connected to 32PFL9613H TV via HDMI as well.

    In this configuration I'm getting "Not supported format" message when I'm trying to watch on signal from set-top box. If I'm watching on signal from Boxee box so it's working perfect.
    I've tried to connect set-top box directly to TV via HDMI and it works.
    I've tried to use same configuration (set-top box, Boxee box, HD Wireless Link transmitter/receiver) on my Samsung UE55D8005 TV and I could watch signals from both devices.

    I've tried number of HDMI cables but always with same result. Firmware of TV is newest one.

    Anybody has any suggestions?

    Best regards,
    Artem

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 15,985, Level: 38
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 465
    Overall activity: 85.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,631
    Points
    15,985
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    Can you please post what Brand and Model you got for the WIreless Transmitter?

    Thanks
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 1,024, Level: 8
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 126
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    1,024
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    It's Peerless HD Flow Multimedia Kit HDS-100, unicast setup. It has 2 HDMI on transmitter and 1 HDMI on receiver.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 15,985, Level: 38
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 465
    Overall activity: 85.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,631
    Points
    15,985
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    Maybe you need to check what Kind of Signal the Receiver gives out.
    Best would be 1080p at 60Hz.
    Also check the Settings also on the STB.


    Thanks
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 1,024, Level: 8
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 126
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    1,024
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    STB gives out 1080i. Boxee box gives out 1080p 60Hz. I don't know how to check whats kind of signal is coming out from the receiver to TV but I can suppose that it's the same type as coming in the transmitter. The problem is, that the same settings of STB working fine with direct HDMI connection to TV. And everything is working fine on Samsung.

  6. #6
    Gold Member
    Points: 1,885, Level: 12
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 265
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    276
    Points
    1,885
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    it seems that the Transmnitter is modifying the signal somehow.
    what does Peerless say about this?

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 1,024, Level: 8
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 126
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    1,024
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Transmitter is definitely modifying signal, but can it modify different signals in different ways? Why I can watch modified signal from Boxee and can't watch modified signal from set-top box?
    As my cable company said there are both analog and digital signals in my cable TV signal may be here is the problem?

    Peerles said that as long as my Samsung TV is working fine it's something wrong with Philips tv so they pointed me to Philips support:-)

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 1,024, Level: 8
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 126
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    1,024
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I connected receiver to TV via component video instead of HDMI and now it works. Looks like this is the issue of HDMI port of my Philips TV.

  9. #9
    Gold Member
    Points: 1,885, Level: 12
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 265
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    276
    Points
    1,885
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    so everything is working fine on the philips except this Wireless HD Receiver, and your conclusion is that the HDMI port on the TV has an Issue?

    Regarding your explanation i would say the receiver modifiys the signal in a way the TV does not work with it.
    To understand how and why, contact peerless...

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 1,024, Level: 8
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 126
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    1,024
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    My conclusion follows from:
    1. Everything is working fine via HDMI on my Samsung TV (both cable set-top box and Boxee).
    2. Cable signal doesn't working via wireless transmition and via HDMI on my Philips TV, but Boxee does.
    3. Cable signal is working via wireless transmition and via component video on Philips TV.
    4. The signal modification by HD Flow is completely the same all the time and it doesn't change if I use HDMI or component to stream signal from receiver to my TV (sa long as STB is connected to Wireless transmitter via HDMI all the time).
    5. Regarding Peerlsss tech support there is no other modification rather than H.264 compression is happenening beetween transmitter and receiver.

    It's clear for me that Philips can't understand transmitted signal via HDMI but can understand the same signal via component. I can't see som reasons to think that problem is in Peerless HD Flow. Do you?

  11. #11
    Gold Member
    Points: 1,885, Level: 12
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 265
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    276
    Points
    1,885
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    The signal modification by HD Flow is completely the same all the time and it doesn't change if I use HDMI or component to stream signal from receiver to my TV
    Regarding Peerlsss tech support there is no other modification rather than H.264 compression is happenening beetween transmitter and receiver.
    if realy nothing more than the described settings are changed, component has to fail also, except, there are more changes in the signal, thats why, yes, i would say it again up to peerless

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 1,024, Level: 8
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 126
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    1,024
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Anyway, neither Philips or Peerless could help me in this case, they're pointing to each other and I agree that both Philips and Peerless have reasons and explanation to do it:-) If I had more time I would shop Wireless Link from Philips (SWW1800) and test if it worked in the same setup via HDMI, but I didn't.

    But I'm quite happy that it works in this way at least. Component supports video up to 1080i and this is I need for HDTV signal. Boxee is still being transmitted via HDMI so I can watch video content 1080p/60. The only one thing I'm not happy with that I have to use 5 more cables (3 component video and 2 RCA audio) to connect receiver to TV.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •