Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 42
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,386, Level: 10
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 164
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    21
    Points
    1,386
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Audio problem when switching on HDMI interfaces

    Hi All,

    AI have a Philips 46" Led TV (46pfl86x5) which is working OK, I have it more then one year now.
    On my HDMI 1 interface, my Satellite Decoder is connected on and on the HDMI 2 interface, a Popcorn A-200 mediaplayer is connected.

    On my Popcorn A-200 I have configured that HDMI Audio is disabled, so all audio is going to my Denon Receiver (SPDIF) and not to the TV. The TV remains silent when I watch a movie. The denon doesn't have any issues regarding the audio coming from the popcorn.
    The problem that I have is; when the movie is "done" after some time and I switch back to HDMI 1 or the analog TV channels on my TV.. The audio is completly broken on the whole TV, so audio is not resumed. The only solution is to turn the TV off and then on again. After this the audio is back OK. I find this really strange and annoying sometimes.

    This issue seems to be related to my TV. So to solve this issue, I have asked Philips support to solve this issue. Nothing wrong here, because they are willing to help. The have replaced the motherboard of my TV, but after this the problem still remains and basicly they don't know what is causing it.
    Personally I thought it was related to the Easylink configuration, but that also doesn't seems to be the case. Does anybody know what I can do? Because I don't know what causing this issue. I have replaced the motherboard of the TV, I have switched the HDMI interfaces.. but nothing seems to solve this audio issue.

    Also a friend of my which has got an 9xx5 type of Philips TV with a different type of Popcorn Hour, exactly has got the same issue as me. So I think it is not related to any "hardware" of the TV. Because audio is not resumed when changing back to other HDMI interfaces on the TV, the problem seems to be in my TV then I think...

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    73
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    I have had that issue as well a couple of times in the past. No sound anywhere anymore, only to come back when switching TV off completely. Have not seen it happen a month or so now.

    When it happened on my TV it was always after I used my WDTV mediaplayer (connected via HDMI) My TV is a 40PLF8605, which currently has 140.40 fw.

    I will report back when I experience it again.

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,149, Level: 8
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 1
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Munich, germay
    Posts
    20
    Points
    1,149
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Same here : http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...on-55PFL7606-K

    New Firmware 10.105. didnt solve the problem.

    AVR is a Denon 1911, Easylink is off.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,386, Level: 10
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 164
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    21
    Points
    1,386
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I also use the latest firmware. Really annoying this and I have it for as long as I remember that I have this TV Easylink also turned off
    Last edited by CronoS; 09-04-2011 at 07:20 PM.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 974, Level: 8
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 176
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    4
    Points
    974
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Same problem. And I don't have an AVR, only the philips tv and a samsung blu-ray player. Sometimes (it doesn't happen all the times) when I change from tv to bluray the sound is gone. It also happens sometimes when changing from bluray to tv. And it doesn't come again by switching inputs; the only solution is to turn the tv off and on. Now I have a 32PFL9705, but previously I had a 32PFL8605 and it had the same problem. So it seems that all philips led tv have this problem with the hdmi connection.

    Philips, give us a solution please.

  6. #6
    Gold Member
    Points: 1,885, Level: 12
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 265
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    276
    Points
    1,885
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    hey cronos, when was the last time you had contact with philips and what did they say exactly?

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 959, Level: 8
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 191
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1
    Points
    959
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Same problem with my 7605.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 974, Level: 8
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 176
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    4
    Points
    974
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Good news:

    I think I've found a solution to this problem. Disable the 24p option in the menu of the bluray player. No more sound loss for me (at least in the 20-30 times I've tried). So it seems that the philips doesn't handle 24p well.

    Besides, when 24p was enabled I noticed a 2-3 seconds audio delay when starting a movie (when I press Play the image starts inmediately but the audio starts 2-3 seconds later). With 24p disabled, both image and audio starts at the same time.

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,149, Level: 8
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 1
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Munich, germay
    Posts
    20
    Points
    1,149
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have this problem when playing PS3 or Xbox 360 or watching movies on my BD Player. Usually games dont run with 24p.
    Last edited by Dentlmann; 09-20-2011 at 03:39 PM.

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 974, Level: 8
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 176
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    4
    Points
    974
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    OK, I've been doing more tests and the problem is still there but now it doesn't happen when I play or stop a movie. It only happens when I switch on or off the bluray player.

    I think the problem happen when tv change the resolution. Then there is a moment in which the screen goes black and a white message (no signal) appears for a moment. With 24p enabled the bd player change the resolution every time I play a movie and the message appears. If I disable 24p, the message only appears switching on/off the player. Maybe disabling easylink and power on the player before changing the tv source helps (that way the tv doesn't have to wait for signal).
    Last edited by jorge5150; 09-20-2011 at 01:04 AM.

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 1,175, Level: 9
    Level completed: 13%, Points required for next Level: 175
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,175
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Same problem here with a 42" 5405 LCD \ popcorn a-210
    When changing between HDMI or turning off an HDMI device the sounds is gone until power off \ power on. I'm with the latest firmware.
    I've also mentioned it a while back here: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...H-take-it-back

    I didn't took it back and I'm suffering quietly. This problem is around for almost a year and no word from philips about it, they ignore it like it doesn't exist.
    That was the first and last philips product i got and if you are burned from it too you should do the same.
    Last edited by shasoosh; 09-28-2011 at 03:44 PM.

  12. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,386, Level: 10
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 164
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    21
    Points
    1,386
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yes, I really think that allot of Philips TV has got this problem in combination with the Popcorn Hour mediaplayer. This where the HDMI audio is turned off on the Popcorn Hour (no problem when it is turned on). But the strange thing is that the TV is going "bezurk" afterwards and not correcting itself anymore..

    Maybe we have to post our experience on YouTube to make it more visible to the Philips Dev Team But I still hope that this issue will be fixed...

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 1,175, Level: 9
    Level completed: 13%, Points required for next Level: 175
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,175
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I wonder how many videos on YouTube we'll need to post before they'll get a move on. Still, I think it's a pretty good idea.

  14. #14
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,386, Level: 10
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 164
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    21
    Points
    1,386
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I found out that this issue occurs all the time. When I enable the HDMI audio option in my Popcorn Hour and I mute the audio on the TV, then afterwards the audio is broken on the TV. I have to restart the TV to restore the audio of the TV?

    Is there someone where I can drop this problem and maybe knows how to fix it? Support doesn't know how to solve this, so that didn't help.. And It is definitely in the software and support always blaims the hardware.

    I don't mind if it is fixed in a few months or so, but I still hope that it will be fixed and it is known what it is causing this..

  15. #15
    New Member
    Points: 912, Level: 7
    Level completed: 81%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2
    Points
    912
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy

    Same behaviour with my 46PFL8685H/46. Tv is connected to a windows 7 (64bit) PC, via HDMI. Each time I switch from HDMI to TV, the audio level becomes low and metallic. The only operation to fix it is switch off and turn on the TV.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •