Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 42
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #16
    New Member
    Points: 912, Level: 7
    Level completed: 81%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2
    Points
    912
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy

    Same behaviour with my 46PFL8685H/46. Tv is connected to a windows 7 (64bit) PC, via HDMI. Each time I switch from HDMI to TV, the audio level becomes low and metallic. The only operation to fix it is switch off and turn on the TV.

  2. #17
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,386, Level: 10
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 164
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    21
    Points
    1,386
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hopefully somebody at Philips will wake up and will investigate into this issue and will come with a solution soon

  3. #18
    ewald
    Guest
    I have experienced the same problem with a 32PFL9705H connected to a Samsung SMT-C7140A through a HDMI cable. When the Samsung has finished starting up, the sound of the TV often becomes soft and distorted (metallic), even when watching TV directly, i.e. not through the Samsung HD receiver.

    The TV also becomes slow and less responsive when this occurs. It does not matter which HDMI port on the TV the HD receiver is connected to, nor does disconnecting the HD receiver solve the issue. Therefore, I assume that a service on the TV has crashed. Shutting down and unplugging the TV temporarily solves the issue.

    This does NOT occur when connecting the SMT-C7140A to the TV with a SCART cable. In fact, this is the only way I have been able to use this TV, as the CI+ module provided by Ziggo doesn't work reliable with this TV either!

  4. #19
    New Member
    Points: 1,013, Level: 8
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 137
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Diepenveen / Nederland
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,013
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    With my 40PFL9705 i have the same problem. After using HDMI i don't hear any sound while watching TV (CI+ module Ziggo) on the digital channels with normal sound. On de channels with Dolby sound I do hear the sound perfectly. After restarting the TV all channels are OK again.

  5. #20
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,174, Level: 9
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 176
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    10
    Points
    1,174
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    This has been reported so often and with so many combinations of equipment, that it's sure that is not related to specific hardware connected through HDMI.
    It's appearing randomly if you have more than one HDMI input used (I have three used) and you switch between them (or to TV).
    Sometimes you lose sound, sometimes - not. Only way to get it back - switch off from the hardware button.
    Philips obviously hasn't got a clue what to do, as numerous firmware upgrades didn't fix this (actually on the latest firmware it got worse for me)

  6. #21
    New Member
    Points: 851, Level: 7
    Level completed: 51%, Points required for next Level: 99
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1
    Points
    851
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I experience the same problem as described above. The television I'm using is an 37PFL7605H, HDMI audio doesn't work when using an Popcorn A300.

    Is Philips trying to solve this problem with an new firmware update?

  7. #22
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Yes, they are trying to solve the sound-drops problem.

  8. #23
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,386, Level: 10
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 164
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    21
    Points
    1,386
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Great to hear, hopefully a good an final Software fix will be available soon.

    Now every time when I watch something on my Popcorn A200 and I switch back to my regular TV channel, the audio is broken. I must shut down the TV in order to get the audio working again on the TV. I haven't found any setting on the TV to get a little improvement on this matter, it happens constantly.....

    So again..hopefully soon a fix

  9. #24
    Moderator
    Points: 15,888, Level: 38
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 562
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,628
    Points
    15,888
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 28 Times in 27 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Guys

    i can confirm that we are working on an update regarding those sound issues.
    So it is addressed and there will be a fix. But as allways, i canot give any promises about date.

    Hopefully i can make a new post soon

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  10. #25
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,163, Level: 69
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 987
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,958
    Points
    50,163
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 166 Times in 148 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    GREAT to hear!

    Toengel@Alex

  11. #26
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,386, Level: 10
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 164
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    21
    Points
    1,386
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi Guys

    i can confirm that we are working on an update regarding those sound issues.
    So it is addressed and there will be a fix. But as allways, i canot give any promises about date.

    Hopefully i can make a new post soon

    Regards
    Thomas
    Great to hear!! I will be really glad when it is fixed
    But will this be a general sound fix or are can you refer this fix to my case, so with the combination of the NMT Popcorn A-200 (and A-100) devices in general?

  12. #27
    New Member
    Points: 823, Level: 7
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 127
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    4
    Points
    823
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have the same audio problem with my 32PFL9705K/02 HDMI-connected with a digital TV decoder and a Popcorn Hour A200. I am totally convinced that it is NOT the problem of these 2 externals (or accesory devices). My son utilizes the same set-up with a 37PFL9732D and a 42PFL9703 and experiences NIL HDMI-generated audio-problems. My case is under investifation now by Philips. The mainboard (ssb) has already been replaced, but the audio-problem remains.

  13. #28
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,335, Level: 9
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 15
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,335
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi Guys

    i can confirm that we are working on an update regarding those sound issues.
    So it is addressed and there will be a fix. But as allways, i canot give any promises about date.

    Hopefully i can make a new post soon

    Regards
    Thomas
    Please solve this problem. Sound lose randomly when HDMI 1-2 second. 42PFL7695H/12 We have waited for one year. Thanks

  14. #29
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,386, Level: 10
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 164
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    21
    Points
    1,386
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Timebag View Post
    I have the same audio problem with my 32PFL9705K/02 HDMI-connected with a digital TV decoder and a Popcorn Hour A200. I am totally convinced that it is NOT the problem of these 2 externals (or accesory devices). My son utilizes the same set-up with a 37PFL9732D and a 42PFL9703 and experiences NIL HDMI-generated audio-problems. My case is under investifation now by Philips. The mainboard (ssb) has already been replaced, but the audio-problem remains.
    First my mainbord was replaced, afterwards I got a brand new TV from Philips to solve this issue, but as expected, the issue still exists. It is a software bug in this generation of TV's. So replacing hardware doesn't seem to fix any issue's

  15. #30
    New Member
    Points: 823, Level: 7
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 127
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    4
    Points
    823
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by CronoS View Post
    First my mainbord was replaced, afterwards I got a brand new TV from Philips to solve this issue, but as expected, the issue still exists. It is a software bug in this generation of TV's. So replacing hardware doesn't seem to fix any issue's
    Typical. Their (well meant) action can also be read as a failure to recognise an error in the design of the software.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •