Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,098, Level: 12
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 52
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    71
    Points
    2,098
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    Movie Avatar on BDP8000

    Hi Guys,

    Seems I'm noy able to play the movie Avatar on a BDP8000 player (non 3D mode). Installed FW 1.56, turned off BD-live, cleared the memory and did a factory reset. Connecting to HDMI 1 or HDMI 2 doesn't make any difference.
    Any suggestions?

    Cheers,
    Ben

    Setup:
    46PFL9705 FW 140.40
    BDP8000 FW 1.56
    YSP4100 FW 7.03

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,097, Level: 72
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 453
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,178
    Points
    55,097
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    try to wait 2-5 Minutes... only for testing purposes

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    Can you give the EAN of the disc so that the disc can be traced? (bar code)

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,098, Level: 12
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 52
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    71
    Points
    2,098
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    @Toengel: waiting doesn't help. Besides that: I'm not supposed to wait for that long, see reply to kwinnie.

    @kwinnie: EAN code? Only code on the disk would be F2 D8 50681 AAL1 . Disk works fine on two sony BDP players (3D and 2D). Watching the movie within 60 seconds.

  5. #5
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    Just heard before that the avatar disc cannot be played because of the BD live content (some java code cannot be read). But there are quite a lot of different versions of this disc. So, the exact EAN is needed so as to check a specific one. The EAN is the barcode of the disc (if you have kept the box of the disc) cuz the one you gave doesnt seem like a EAN barcode.

  6. #6
    Points: 1,669, Level: 11
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 181
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    LE
    Posts
    112
    Points
    1,669
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi,

    did you already try to set BD-Live Security to ON? It's related on what Kwinnie said on the post here above, and with some Avatar releases it works.

    Regards

    Andrea

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,098, Level: 12
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 52
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    71
    Points
    2,098
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    @Kiro. BD-Live security is set to "ON". No positive effect what so ever.
    Movie will start but the "20th Century Fox" logo will not dissapear. The pop-up menu is not selectable. The start/stop command takes ages to come trough if at all.

    @kwinnie. I'm afraid the cardboard cover with the EAN code is gone. So I have no EAN code.

  8. #8
    Points: 1,669, Level: 11
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 181
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    LE
    Posts
    112
    Points
    1,669
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    @Paladium: Is it the Avatar Extended (Collectors) edition? There is WiFi or wired connection running?What about the playback of other BDs?

  9. #9
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,097, Level: 72
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 453
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,178
    Points
    55,097
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    maybe you can post a link where you bought the BD or a link to the exact version on amazon...

    Toengel@Alex

  10. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,098, Level: 12
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 52
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    71
    Points
    2,098
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    @Kiro: Yes I believe it's the collectors edition. Two extented cuts extra. Other BD's run just fine.

    @Toengel: I bought the disk at Media Market in the Netherlands. I think however there's to much attention for this particular disk. If it's playing OK in two different Sony BDP's surely the Philips BDP is to blame , isn't it ?

    P.s. EAN could be 8712626081081
    Last edited by Paladium; 09-05-2011 at 04:40 PM.

  11. #11
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Avatar: Blu-Ray disc ordered.

    Hi Paladium,

    we have just ordered the BD you reported, and as soon as we'll receive it, we will do some investigations and the results will be comunicated to you.

    Thanks for your collaboration,

    Kindly regards
    Forum Mod

  12. #12
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,098, Level: 12
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 52
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    71
    Points
    2,098
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    @ Philips-Remko: Thanks for the reply. Hope you will find a solution.
    Over here http://www.hifi-forum.de/viewthread-166-5399-8.html user marian82 is facing the same problems....

  13. #13
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    Hi Paladium,
    Just one quick check, is your device connected to the internet when the failure happens?
    If yes, how about disconnecting your device? (just wanna see if this is because of the BD live)

  14. #14
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,098, Level: 12
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 52
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    71
    Points
    2,098
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    @kwinnie: Internet acces (WIFI) is not configured.

  15. #15
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    thanks, so the playability issue exists even though there is no internet access & BD-live security set toon.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •