Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 99
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #16
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,528, Level: 14
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    86
    Points
    2,528
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi Remko

    It's not convincing. Do you have a technical explanation why SW cannot fix it?

    One of the selling point of 9600 is the 7.1 analog outputs. The audio (7.1 analog) and video (HDMI) are expected to be out of sync in two parallel paths. Isn't it the first thing Philips should have considered of at design stage?

    Do we misunderstand something here?

    thanks

  2. #17
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,070, Level: 8
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 80
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,070
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Remko View Post
    Dear users,

    The lipsync control will only work for HDMI connection. It will not work for the analog output.

    Unfortunately, this is a limitation and cannot be solved via SW upgrade.


    Regards
    This response is unacceptable!

    Philips sales pitch for the BDP9600 tells us of:
    TI Burr-Brown DACs for highly detailed sound reproduction
    Separate toroidal power supply for clean sound without noise
    Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD MA for HD 7.1 surround sound
    and "total audio-visual entertainment that rivals reality"

    How can the device rival reality when the most basic of requirements - pictures and sound in sync - cannot be delivered?
    Why design a device with separate audio power supply if the analog audio can't be matched to video?
    Why add analog outputs at all?

    And if this limitation is present, as you suggest why is it not mentioned in any of Philips manuals? (other limitations such as no HD from component are mentioned)
    Why does adjusting lipsync in menu mute the analog audio out if the two are independant?

    PJ

  3. #18
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear users,

    The reason is that the HW of the BDP9600 was not designed to do that. The lipsync feature was only added in a later stage in the project, at that time the HW was already finalized.

    Regards,
    Forum Mod

  4. #19
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,528, Level: 14
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    86
    Points
    2,528
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    dang....worst nightmare comes true.
    Though I haven't tried, I bet the 7.1 analog outputs were only designed to go along with analog video outputs!

    sad indeed Philips engineers overlooked this.

  5. #20
    New Member
    Points: 1,290, Level: 9
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 60
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    5
    Points
    1,290
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Philips, what about other bugs I listed? Center channel not mixed to main channels even when center is set off? Too long adjustment step for speaker distance? Are you going to correct those?

    Please reply soon, I am getting ready to return my unit to shop because of unuseable analog 7.1 audio out, which was main purchase reason for me.

  6. #21
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,368, Level: 10
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    ATHENS
    Posts
    26
    Points
    1,368
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have the same problem with jovain. The player does not mix the center channel to L/R unless i reset the player and pick again "no center speaker". Then, if i switch it off and then again on, it loses this setup and while the center speaker is shown as not existed, it does not mix with L/R and you hear no dialogues.

    But the most important is that it never mix the LFE-subwoofer channel to the others, if i declare all speakers as "large" and the subwoofer as "off". All the strong bass just disappears and i have no other option since i do not have a subwoofer for my system!I have confirmed it with my other DVD and with THX test tones from Starwars DVD; NO bass test tone with 9600 no matter all the possible settings i tried!
    Please Philips, give as answer on this bass management/speaker setup bugs or tell us if there is a hardware problem with our players in order to return them back. It is realy a shame for such a good audio performance to deal with these basic issues. I bought the 9600 to upgrade my old marantz through its 7.1 analog input, and this does not work at all!

  7. #22
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    *bump*
    Any comments from R&D on Philips, Is this audiosetting bug with no centerchannel (memory problem) gonna be fixed in next FirmWare realese
    I have the same on 8000 series

  8. #23
    New Member
    Points: 835, Level: 7
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 115
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Wernau/Germany
    Posts
    3
    Points
    835
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The same problem, the player does not mix the center channel to L/R unless i reset the player. Then I have to do the complete configuration again and it works till the next switch off....

    I also bought the 9600 to upgrade my old yamaha 4600 by using the 7.1 analog input, and this does not work at all!

  9. #24
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    I found out that you dont have to factoryresett every time.

    Put everyting in audiomenu back on:
    BackSurround to "large". And center to "large"

    The menu kinda hangs here for some seconds, you have to choose center twice for the changes to take effect.
    Audiochipset now seems to be re-config. and back to default setting.

    Now we can adjust center to "none" and it will work (until you power off again)
    This gotta be a missing, either save script or that the saved settings are not read or overread by another application on startup. I mean the hardware is there and its working until you power off.

    The strange thing is that "test tone" works great. But these settings in menu are not taken care of, prob beacuse autodetection of DolbyDigital on the disc at startup.


    One temporary solution could be: disable auto power off function.The player will be turned on 24 hours until Philips can fix this.
    Power: 25W
    Standby: <0,2W
    Last edited by Stormen; 11-21-2011 at 08:16 AM. Reason: testtone

  10. #25
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    @ Sopon

    Did you try to resett after each setting ? I realize that after some adjustment back and forth the audioprocessor hangs and will not respond back to any setting.
    I just uppgraded from a new 8000 and got from my store a new 9600 in hope that it would solve the problem with center mixing.
    ( that was before I read this thread )
    I will recive my new 9600 this week and I will try out the low freq. THX signals for the subwoofer. and see if I get the same results or can find a workaraound.
    Last edited by Stormen; 11-14-2011 at 10:05 AM.

  11. #26
    New Member
    Points: 835, Level: 7
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 115
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Wernau/Germany
    Posts
    3
    Points
    835
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Stormen and thanks a lot, I have tried out the way you discribed:

    "I found out that you dont have to factoryresett every time.
    Put everyting in audiomenu back on:
    BackSurround to "large". And center to "large"
    The menu kinda hangs here for some seconds, you have to choose center twice for the changes to take effect.
    Audiochipset now seems to be re-config. and back to default setting.

    In my configuration it doesn't work, the center is not mixed until I have done the reset...

    ...eventually I did it not exactly the same way as you did...what do you mean with "you have to choose center twice for changes to take effect" ?

  12. #27
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Ok. I'll get back in a few days with the right order.

    Edit: The dealer sent me the wrong player (samsung 6900) LOL, I'm returning it and getting my money back, I aint gonna by a BDP 9600 until Philips has solved och say that they are gonna solve the audioproblem with this player )

    New modells will arrive, (9600 is from okt 2010) They aint gonna develop new firmwares for this one forever. Ex the older 9500 (realesed dec 2009) latest firmware was in may 2010. So that's less than a year of firmware development.


    It's sad, beacuse mixing the centerchannel is one of the main basic feutures that just are: suppose to work !
    They have to fix this.

    But if they are gonna fix this audiobug, I'm sure gonna stand first in line :-)
    Last edited by Stormen; 11-18-2011 at 07:57 AM.

  13. #28
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,368, Level: 10
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    ATHENS
    Posts
    26
    Points
    1,368
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    As far as i can see, the problem with the center channel is general.
    I put also emphasis on the problem of the subwoofer channel because i have not find a way to hear it so far through analogue connections and unfortunately i do not have a subwoofer to verify if it decodes this channel at all. Please, any feedback on this issue would be very helpful.
    We have to put pressure on Philips to solve the problems because the player is simply not in accordance with its official specifications and the owners manual.
    Last news from Philips in Greece is that the answer will not come soon and i have to wait. I hope that the delay has to do with their working on the solution...
    sw v.1.60
    Last edited by sopon; 11-18-2011 at 06:21 PM.

  14. #29
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    The strange thing is that "test tone" works great. But these settings in menu are not taken care of, prob beacuse autodetection of DolbyDigital on the disc at startup.

    The issue appears on both BDP8000/12 and BDP9600/12 model and on several players as far as we know, probably on every model in the program with same SW, 7500 etc. Has to be tested with a DVD or BD. Not the testtone. I had some people test at a Swedish forum that has 9600 player and they came upp with the same issue.

  15. #30
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,368, Level: 10
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    ATHENS
    Posts
    26
    Points
    1,368
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Stormen you have 100% right. If you perform the 9600 built in test tones ,the speaker setup seems to work perfectly! But in the real redroduction from disc, the player just ignores its own settings.

    You have to play a test tone program from a disc in order to discover the problem. I am using the THX audio tests from StarWars DVDs (all of them have it). And when it comes to subwoofer chanell . . .the silence!

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •