Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,006, Level: 8
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 144
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Shanghai China
    Posts
    1
    Points
    1,006
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Starting never stops

    Hi,
    I bought the HTS5590 some month ago and I was very happy with it.
    But this week I watch a movie from my network resource and suddenly the picture froze. That happend before, but usually after some seconds it kept on playing. This time it froze for minutes. I couldn't go back to Home or stop the movie. Only volume control worked. I switched it off and haven't used it for two days.
    Today I switch it on again but the only thing that could be seen is the STARTING letters on the LED Screen. There is no TV output and even after 10 minutes it still is trying to start.
    Unpluging for some minutes didn't help and there is no Troubleshooting written for this error.
    Can anybody help me with this?
    Thanks
    Stephan

  2. #2
    Points: 1,669, Level: 11
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 181
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    LE
    Posts
    112
    Points
    1,669
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi Zappi_s,

    I'm really afraid your HTS needs service intervention...


    Andrea

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 497, Level: 5
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 53
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8
    Points
    497
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I bought the same set. I watched some movies and listened to radio for maximum of 8 hours. One fine day I switched on the set and it showed starting .... starting ...... and starting.

    Maybe need to take it to repair less than a month since I bought it. I am a very very unhappy customer of Philips now.

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    you also unplugging and plugging the power cord doesnt help?

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 497, Level: 5
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 53
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8
    Points
    497
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kwinnie View Post
    you also unplugging and plugging the power cord doesnt help?
    My son is in primary one. When my PC or anything related to electronics fails, the first thing he suggests is to cycle power. Yes, I did power off and power ON. One time I powered off and waited a whole night before I powered on again. Same problem. Philips is coming down to have a look as the set is still under warranty and hardly a week old. Will sure update the result, but I can pretty much guess the firmware screwed up or something related to software than hardware.

  6. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by ettikudiappan View Post
    My son is in primary one. When my PC or anything related to electronics fails, the first thing he suggests is to cycle power. Yes, I did power off and power ON. One time I powered off and waited a whole night before I powered on again. Same problem. Philips is coming down to have a look as the set is still under warranty and hardly a week old. Will sure update the result, but I can pretty much guess the firmware screwed up or something related to software than hardware.
    yep, if reconneting the power cord doesnt help. then you have to go to service as cannot even go to the main menu... gd luck!

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 10,193, Level: 30
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 357
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,193
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear ettikudiappan,

    Please take your device to service center for a board replacement. It is of a high chance that there is a BD board failure.

    Sorry for the inconvienience caused.

    Kind regards,
    Philips moderation team
    Forum Mod

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 497, Level: 5
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 53
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8
    Points
    497
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for the help Philips QK, but unfortunately Philips Singapore customer centre doesnt share your concern. They promised to send someone to fix the HTS on 28/Jul (Saturday). I work on Saturdays and took half day off from work to wait for the service engineers who were supposed to come between 2pm to 4 pm. They never turned up and no phones to at least inform me about this.
    I sure can call the service centre to find out, but they close at 12:00 pm on Saturdays. Bingo for service.
    That same Saturday morning, I went to the service sales centre in Tao Payoh, Singapore to buy the wireless remote speakers (RWSS5510) for my set. There was no one at the counter to help me and when one finally turned up, he informed me that it was out of stock because it is a hot item. Now, please help me in understanding this. This RWSS5510 is ONLY available in Philips sales centre in Lorong 1 Toa Payoh in the whole of Singapore. They open only until 6pm on weekdays and until 12 or 1 pm on Saturdays. For most people who work, Saturday is the only option to get this item. If it is hot item, shouldnt it be well stocked, since it is the only place where I can get it??????

    Philips-QK, I really hope you are a direct employee of Philips and can help me in some way communicate my frustrations to your higher ups. I hardly used my set for more than 8 hours and it got hung up. It is two weekends since I am unable to use it. It is during the weekends that I try to chill off after a hectic week of work.
    Last edited by ettikudiappan; 07-29-2012 at 11:39 AM.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 10,193, Level: 30
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 357
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,193
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear ettikudiappan,

    I understand the frustration you are having and am sorry that this causes you so much inconvenience. Could you please provide your name, email address, contact number & your service request number (call centre/ service centre) for me so that I can handle this with Singapore Consumer Care colleague?

    Thanks a lot in advance.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Points: 10,193, Level: 30
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 357
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,193
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear ettikudiappan,

    I have passed your case to the Singapore Consumer Care team as well as the Singapore Showroom colleague. They will contact you directly to follow this up for you.

    Hope this helps you. Feel free to come back to the forum if you have any queries. Thanks.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 497, Level: 5
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 53
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8
    Points
    497
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Appreciate your help. The technician came in today and changed a memory board, which he said was corrupted. The unit is working now and hope it continues to do so for years to come.


    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - QK View Post
    Dear ettikudiappan,

    I have passed your case to the Singapore Consumer Care team as well as the Singapore Showroom colleague. They will contact you directly to follow this up for you.

    Hope this helps you. Feel free to come back to the forum if you have any queries. Thanks.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 497, Level: 5
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 53
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8
    Points
    497
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Phlips

    I am still trying to procure the RWSS5510 from Philips. Looks like it would easier to get my hands on iPhone 5 than this wireless speaker. Last week, I walked into Philips showroom in Singapore for "purchasing the same. I was informed it was out of stock. They chided me for not calling before walking in. Being "educated" by them, I am trying to call the following 3 numbers of the philips show room and nobody even picks up the phone. I have been trying to call for the past 2 Hours non stop.

    +65-68825800
    +65-68824178
    +65-68823599

    MY LAST PHILIPS PRODUCT I EVER BUY IN MY LIFE. Thanks for making me realise this.

  13. #13
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    sorry to hear that. i thought the singapore consumer care is having a direct communication with you on this to get it settled...

  14. #14
    New Member
    Points: 497, Level: 5
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 53
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8
    Points
    497
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20130302_154048.jpg 
Views:	50 
Size:	444.2 KB 
ID:	1778Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20130302_154123.jpg 
Views:	57 
Size:	245.5 KB 
ID:	1779Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20130302_154151.jpg 
Views:	63 
Size:	436.4 KB 
ID:	1780Finally got hold of the RWSS5510 for my Home Theatre System HTS5561/98 after waiting for 8 months since I bought the HTS. I was given a refurbrished unit for the same price (S$ 119) as a brand new one, because I was threatened that this was the last unit available and the next batch may or may not even come. After coming home, I found that the original rear speaker's plug is incompatible with the wireless unit. It is clearly mentioned in the manual that the HTS5561 is compatible with RWSS5510.

    My humble request to the Philips customer service personnel. I unknowingly made the mistake of buying your product, thereby disturbing your sales personnel and when the set became faulty within a few days; I had to trouble your service personnel. Please forgive my errors and do something about my issue. For your convenience, I had added the images of the wireless unit and the speaker plug.

  15. #15
    New Member
    Points: 497, Level: 5
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 53
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8
    Points
    497
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Bought the RWSS5510 refurbrished set on 2/Feb, as I was told it was the last piece available and the next lot from Holland may or may not come at all as it is an obsolete unit. At home I found that a connector/adapter, that allows the speaker to mate with the RWSS5510, was missing. Called Philips on 4/Feb (Monday at 10:38 AM Singapore time) about availability of RWSS5510 and was informed that two sets were available. So clearly Philips sales person has defrauded me by selling me a used unit for the full price and not having the required components.

    When I confronted the with the above information, Philips immedaitely agreed to replace the unit I had. When asked how come they suddenly got the two new units, they said the stock arrived just on Monday. Interesting that this item can be shipped from Holland in just two days, that too over a weekend, when I had to wait for 8 months for it to arrive.

    I request any Philips staff to pass me the contact of a person high up in the consumer sales in Singapore to whom I can address to solve this issue before I escalate to Consumers Association of Singapore.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •