Results 1 to 14 of 14
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,018, Level: 12
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 132
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    49
    Points
    2,018
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    super resolution?

    Hello
    I have the Philips 46PFL7605 HDTV, and on philips site, under Technical specifications/Picture enhancement. It says this TV has super resolution, but when I check my TV settings they is no option for this? is this just a mistake on that site or can you tell me where this setting is.

    thanks

    http://www.philips.co.uk/c/televisio...specifications

    Also what does this setting do? thanks again

  2. #2
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    639
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Isn't it under Picture -> Perfect Pixel HD?

    This setting is the "pixel plus" setting, Philips TVs have for decades...

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,018, Level: 12
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 132
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    49
    Points
    2,018
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Nope nothing there. i have

    HD natural Motion
    100hz clear LCD
    dynamic contrast
    dynamic backlight
    Mpeg reduction
    colour enhancement
    gamma

    So not sure whats going on?

  4. #4
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    639
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    It should be just below "100 Hz Clear LCD".
    Is it mentioned in the menus structure in the manuals?
    Is the TV running the latest firmware?

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,018, Level: 12
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 132
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    49
    Points
    2,018
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have found it, I had to enter service menu and switch this setting on? Yes running latest FW. Now what does this setting even do lol I dont see any change when switching on or off.

  6. #6
    Gold Member
    Points: 1,885, Level: 12
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 265
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    276
    Points
    1,885
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    gratz you got rewarded 2 times:

    1st nettv content will look better/worse as super resolution will increase the sd picture quality within nettv and only on netTV. (its activated by default on this TV, disable the option to see whats happening while watching yt videos on fullscreen)

    2nd you lost your warranty by accessing and changing content in the service menu with no autorization

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,018, Level: 12
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 132
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    49
    Points
    2,018
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    It ok was done over the phone, talking to someone from philips.

  8. #8
    Gold Member
    Points: 1,885, Level: 12
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 265
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    276
    Points
    1,885
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    cool, which number did you call?

  9. #9
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    639
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    You were not supposed to have to enter the service menu to enable this. What is the exact model that you have?
    It should be enabled by default...

    Regarding what it does, you can look here:

    http://www.fullhd.gr/news/eidiseis/t...esolution.html


  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,018, Level: 12
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 132
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    49
    Points
    2,018
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    46pfl7605h/05

  11. #11
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,018, Level: 12
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 132
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    49
    Points
    2,018
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by a_Tom View Post
    cool, which number did you call?
    Used the chat on philips site and got the phone number from them

    08003316015
    Last edited by shankly1985; 09-19-2011 at 01:20 PM.

  12. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,018, Level: 12
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 132
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    49
    Points
    2,018
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    So why wasn't this setting, enabled on my TV? when clearly the Specifications, says it has this?

    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    You were not supposed to have to enter the service menu to enable this. What is the exact model that you have?
    It should be enabled by default...

    Regarding what it does, you can look here:

    http://www.fullhd.gr/news/eidiseis/t...esolution.html
    Last edited by Philips; 09-20-2011 at 10:40 AM. Reason: Removed picture.

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,018, Level: 12
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 132
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    49
    Points
    2,018
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    What I did notice when enabling super resolution by service menu, it would change the name off advanced sharpness. disable super resolution and advanced sharpness would come back, so maybe on this TV 46PFL7605/05 its super resolution is actually advanced sharpness?

  14. #14
    Moderator
    Points: 18,903, Level: 41
    Level completed: 95%, Points required for next Level: 47
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,828
    Points
    18,903
    Level
    41
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 41 Times in 38 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Guys

    Please don't discuss any changes within the SAM in here.
    This is an official Support Forum and changes in the SAM will end in a warranty loss, so lets not force new users to "try" something

    Thanks > Close
    Thomas

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •