Results 1 to 12 of 12
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 998, Level: 8
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 152
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    998
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    remember wifi pasword

    It probably is my fault but my bdp5200 doesn't seem to remember the wifi connection of my home network. I have to configure the network everytime my player restarts. Anybody any sugestions?

    Regards Sep

  2. #2
    New Member
    Points: 934, Level: 7
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    2
    Points
    934
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by flupke View Post
    It probably is my fault but my bdp5200 doesn't seem to remember the wifi connection of my home network. I have to configure the network everytime my player restarts. Anybody any sugestions?

    Regards Sep
    I have the same problem too, wifi is active and connected, but no ip address is negotiated and assigned to the interface. I turn on debugging on the router and i saw that there is no DHCP request from the 5200 at all. I try to assign the ip address manually, the network setup screen shows the correct values but the tcp stack seems not working, the player did not reply to ping requests too.

    If i reconfigure the network from the beginning (SSID,PASS,DHCP) each time the player is turned on all work great until switchoff or restart ... this is very boring ...

    I didn't try with wired ethernet ... only wireless

    Both firmware 1.16 and 1.31 seem to have this problem ...
    Last edited by Paloi; 09-20-2011 at 12:07 AM.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 998, Level: 8
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 152
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    998
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Paloi View Post
    I have the same problem too, wifi is active and connected, but no ip address is negotiated and assigned to the interface. I turn on debugging on the router and i saw that there is no DHCP request from the 5200 at all. I try to assign the ip address manually, the network setup screen shows the correct values but the tcp stack seems not working, the player did not reply to ping requests too.

    If i reconfigure the network from the beginning (SSID,PASS,DHCP) each time the player is turned on all work great until switchoff or restart ... this is very boring ...

    I didn't try with wired ethernet ... only wireless

    Both firmware 1.16 and 1.31 seem to have this problem ...
    My player has an ip adress assigned and it is recognized in the router although my windows mediaplayer I cannot find it, contrary to other mediaplayer (Philips streamer, xbox, sonos player etc).

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Thanks for informing us about your issues. We have acknowledged your issue and are currently investigating it.

    We will come back to you as soon as possible.

    Regards,

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    To further investigate can you please give me the following details:

    -Which brand of router and model is being used?
    -Which encryption type are you using?
    -Is DHCP on?
    -Did you try with a different router and with different encryption?

    Thanks for your feedback

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 934, Level: 7
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    2
    Points
    934
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Remko View Post
    To further investigate can you please give me the following details:

    -Which brand of router and model is being used?
    -Which encryption type are you using?
    -Is DHCP on?
    -Did you try with a different router and with different encryption?

    Thanks for your feedback
    The router is a cisco 877W
    Encryption should be WPA-PSK (TKIP)
    DHCP is ON
    I didn' try different Router or encryption.

    Powering on the player with automatic ip settings (DHCP), on setting screen, wifi status is still connected, the router correctly show the player wifi mac address association, on the tcp/ip settings all 0.0.0.0 addresses were reported. Debugging DHCP server on the router no DHCP Address broadcast request was sent by the player.
    After restarting the network setup again with automatic (DHCP) settings, the ip address is correclty assigned.

    Otherwise if the player is configured with a static ip address, as in DHCP client mode, the router correctly shows the player wifi mac address association, and in the network tcp/ip setup screen of the player all ip address settings, mask, gateway, dns ... are saved correclty, but the player did not reply to ping requests.
    After restarting the network setup again with the same a manual/static ip address the player is again pingable and internet connected.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 998, Level: 8
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 152
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    998
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Remko View Post
    To further investigate can you please give me the following details:

    -Which brand of router and model is being used?
    -Which encryption type are you using?
    -Is DHCP on?
    -Did you try with a different router and with different encryption?

    Thanks for your feedback
    My router is a speedtouch, encription same as the other user, DHCP is on, didn't try other configurations,

    Is it a new machine that this hasn't been mentioned before?

    Regards Sep

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 998, Level: 8
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 152
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    998
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Remko View Post
    To further investigate can you please give me the following details:

    -Which brand of router and model is being used?
    -Which encryption type are you using?
    -Is DHCP on?
    -Did you try with a different router and with different encryption?

    Thanks for your feedback
    Any good news yet?

  9. #9
    Gold Member
    Points: 1,784, Level: 11
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 33.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    spain
    Posts
    286
    Points
    1,784
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Maybe try another settings as asked also. Ecryption types can influence a lot

    Try WPA2 only and see if the issue is reproducible
    And I would also try on another router since a lot of routers give problems ( like mine in the beginning )

    Bye

  10. #10
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    worth trying Pacman's suggestion I think...

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 998, Level: 8
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 152
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Points
    998
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by flupke View Post
    It probably is my fault but my bdp5200 doesn't seem to remember the wifi connection of my home network. I have to configure the network everytime my player restarts. Anybody any sugestions?

    Regards Sep
    I guess it was my fault after all. It is always connected to my network but when I go to network configuration it wants me to fill in things where it should say it is already connected to the network. Sorry for the trouble.

  12. #12
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    no prob
    glad that you found that out!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •