Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,788, Level: 11
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 62
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    12
    Points
    1,788
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Log-on problems (very slow/impossible)

    We have a 32PFL9705 since Novemeber 2010. The first month NetTV worked very well. The logon to the Philips server was fast and we could enjoy the applications.
    Since a few weeks the logon is very slow and sometimes impossible. Then we get the message "Philips server not found, try later". The strange thing is that when we try immediately after this message we get from time to time connection with the server.
    Installation of the latest firmware for our set did not solve the problem.
    Has anyone the same problem or does anyone know what is going on?

    Jan Mensink
    32PFL9705H/12 (Q551-0.140.32.0)

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,143, Level: 72
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 407
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,181
    Points
    55,143
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    maybe you should try to delete your Net TV memory. Maybe it could help...

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,788, Level: 11
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 62
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    12
    Points
    1,788
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Alex,

    Thanks for the advice, but I did delete the NetTV memory already, without any success.
    I get the impression that the Philips server is sometimes overloaded, which is the reason that the logon is slow and sometimes impossible. But as said in my original message immediately after the "Philips server not found" message the logon is can be successful.

    Jan Mensink
    32PFL9705H/12 (Q551-0.140.32.0)

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,306, Level: 16
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 144
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    64
    Points
    3,306
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    I wonder if there changed something in your network. Did you change firewall settings?
    Do you use it wireless, is the wifi signal strong enough?
    When connected wired: When you see the loading icon and no progress, unplug the network cable from the TV and put it back immediately, you see the wizzard-pages coming by (1, 2, & 3) and then it usually connects.

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,788, Level: 11
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 62
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    12
    Points
    1,788
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Johnny,

    Thanks for the reaction.
    Since the original installation of the 32PFL9705H nothing was changed in any setting.
    As said the first months NETTV worked perfectly fast and well. I have a cabled connection to my router and also tried the wireless, without any difference. The signal strength ok, maximum, and the speed 65Mps.
    I also tried unplugging the wired cable and then it works but next time I have the usual problems.
    I also get now from time to time message that I have to switch-off/on the set, but also this does not give a permanent solution.
    Our computers connected to the router all work fine.
    I also tried to connect directly to our glassfiber modem, so without any router in between. Also this did give a fast connection as we enjoined originally.

  6. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,143, Level: 72
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 407
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,181
    Points
    55,143
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Jan Mensink View Post
    I also tried to connect directly to our glassfiber modem, so without any router in between. Also this did give a fast connection as we enjoined originally.
    Hi,

    so something with your router seems to be the problem... did you update your router?

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,788, Level: 11
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 62
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    12
    Points
    1,788
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Alex,

    Thanks for the advice.
    In the meantime I also contacted Philips NetTV and Philips Service is going to analyse and log the problem in my home.

    Jan Mensink
    32PFL9705H/12 (Q551-0.140.32.0)

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 1,192, Level: 9
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 158
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    chicago IL USA
    Posts
    1
    Points
    1,192
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Jan Mensink View Post
    We have a 32PFL9705 since Novemeber 2010. The first month log cabins for sale NetTV worked very well. The logon to the Philips server was fast and we could enjoy the applications.
    Since a few weeks the logon is very slow and sometimes impossible. Then we get the message "Philips server not found, try later". The strange thing is that when we try immediately after this message we get from time to time connection with the server.
    Installation of the latest firmware for our set did not solve the problem.
    Has anyone the same problem or does anyone know what is going on?

    Jan Mensink
    32PFL9705H/12 (Q551-0.140.32.0)

    I have the same issue with service in the mountains where I live

  9. #9
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,143, Level: 72
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 407
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,181
    Points
    55,143
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    you can try to unplug and plug again the ethernet cable... maybe also a newer firmware helps...

    Toengel@Alex

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,056, Level: 12
    Level completed: 69%, Points required for next Level: 94
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    47
    Points
    2,056
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Jan, we experience exactly the same delay on our pfl7605h (latest firmware). We watch NetTV on a daily basis and since a few weeks it is very very slow. There is nothing wrong with our cabled network. Just did a test:

    1. Turn on TV
    2. 24 seconds later: sound & vision
    3. Select NetTV, after a few seconds progress bar appears
    4. 196 seconds later: progress bar disappears, advertisement is being loaded
    5. 16 seconds later: advertisement has been loaded: NetTV ready to use

    4 minutes load time is not a good user experience

    After temporary disconnecting the cable and a cold boot, I repeated the test. Same results.

    (BTW, we live in the same flat country as yourself...)

  11. #11
    Gold Member
    Points: 5,871, Level: 22
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 179
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second ClassOverdriveNew Achievement!5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    251
    Points
    5,871
    Level
    22
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Hi Everybody,

    I've just use measured the time between selecting NetTV in home menu until NetTV home is ready with a watch:
    1 minute and 45 seconds - that is s***.

    I use NetTV most likely to "surf" arround while the TV programm is interruped with commercials, but when it takes near 2 minutes to start NetTV there is no fun in unsing NetTV.

    Philips if you want that users have fun with NetTV please improve the log-in time (this includes the time that is needed to load the advertisement at the NetTV pages).

    I add this poll
    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?1901-evaluate-NetTV-time-for-ready-to-use&p=9003&viewfull=1#post9003
    to gather your feedback.

    regards
    bta
    (40pfl7605h at 140.37)
    Last edited by bta; 07-10-2011 at 09:02 PM.

  12. #12
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,143, Level: 72
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 407
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,181
    Points
    55,143
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    I have some similar problems with my Cinema. However, my problem is sometimes also the network connection. You can find my whole story at (sorry German only): http://58pfl9955.wordpress.com/2011/...ht-auf-reisen/

    Toengel@Alex

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,910, Level: 12
    Level completed: 20%, Points required for next Level: 240
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,910
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Toengel,

    I've read your story on your homepage. I have two questions:
    1) Your TV is still out for repair?
    2) Is it certain that the problem is software related?

    Greeting,
    Huub
    Last edited by Huub; 07-30-2011 at 09:53 PM.

  14. #14
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,143, Level: 72
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 407
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,181
    Points
    55,143
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    the technicans told me that Philips has "found" the issue and it's software related and they will work on it to release a new firmware for that issue. Since I'm on holidays I havn't received my TV back...

    Toengel@Alex

  15. #15
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,910, Level: 12
    Level completed: 20%, Points required for next Level: 240
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,910
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Toengel,

    Thanks for your answer.
    Enjoy your holiday :-)

    Huub

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •