Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,405, Level: 16
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    163
    Points
    3,405
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    PTA01 USB dongle with/without extension?

    Hello all,

    I am using a 32PFL7605 with PTA01 USB dongle now for 11 months. Yesterday a mechanic replaced the main board, since I was not able to use NetTV or IP-EPG anymore.
    The mechanic advised me NOT to use the 0,5 meter USB extension cable on my PTA01 dongle. It might give problems.
    However, without this extension cable the network speed for NetTV seems limited to 11 Mbps.
    With the extension cable and the dongle positioned on the standard of the TV it reached 65 Mbps.

    In a previous (closed) topic Toengel stated that it was due to my network range, while others also confirm the problem I describe. My laptop reaches 300 Mbps on the position of the TV, so I don't believe it is the network range.

    Since 11 Mbps is not sufficient for streaming video (like 'uitzending gemist') I want to reinstall my USB extension.
    What are your experiences with an USB extension cable?

    Kind regards,
    Niels

    Additional information:


    Last week another technician came since I had some spontaneous auto-resets of my TV. This technician advised the contrary: he advised to use an USB extension cable to prevent problems with interference.
    Now NetTV and IP-EPG work fine
    Last edited by Niels; 10-10-2011 at 06:55 PM. Reason: Additional information

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 30,870, Level: 54
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 1,080
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!25000 Experience Points
    Philips - Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    423
    Points
    30,870
    Level
    54
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Niels,

    Please try following:
    Put the TV on a normal broadcaster channel.
    Give following numbers in on the remote control: 123654
    Now you enter the Customer Service menu (CSM1).
    Check line 1, Set type. It should mention the correct set type number (xxPFLxxxxH/xx)

    Perhaps the device type in not correctly filled in.
    If indeed so, please call Philips service to have your device type programmed.

    With kind regards,
    Mark.
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    Gold Member
    Points: 5,871, Level: 22
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 179
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second ClassOverdriveNew Achievement!5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    251
    Points
    5,871
    Level
    22
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Hi Niels,

    I use also at 40pfl7605H/12 with PTA01.
    First I install the PTA and had a very low transferrate on WLAN.
    I use a 802.11 g Network (2.4 GHz)
    I assume that there are some EMI problems (e.g. a processor around 1.2 GHz or something like that)
    Therefore I use a 0.5 m USB extension to bring distance between the TVs backplane and the PTA01. The result: Everything work perfect at high transfer rate with my 802.11 g network.

    So whatever the technician says about the USB-Extensenion. My experience is that I need such a cable at xxPFL7605 to get a 802.11 g Network run properly.

    (Philips recommends a 802.11 n network; that runs at 5 GHz, perhaps there the EMI is not such a big problem - I canÄt theat it because I have a g router. But for performance 802.11 g is capable of 54 Mbit/sec; if you have a DSL of 16Mbit/sec why do you need a WLAN faster than 16 Mbit/sec? The bottleneck (in most cases) is DSL and not that capability of 802.11 g - if 802.11 g runs properly what in my case needs that USB extension.)

    Regards
    bta.
    Last edited by bta; 10-02-2011 at 08:07 PM.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 973, Level: 8
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 177
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1
    Points
    973
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Niels,

    I had the same problems you had. I fixed the problem with a 30 cm long extension, which come once with a UMTS dongle. Now the Philips TV (42PFL7655K2) is not between the PTA01 and the router (Fritz!Box 7270) anymore. And the speed is dramatically gone higher.

    Regards
    Rorohiko

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •