Results 1 to 10 of 10
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,064, Level: 8
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,064
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Streaming MKV file on 37PFL7606H

    Guys hello, I'm new here and have a ques.
    I just got Philips 37PFL7606H and connected it to home network. I can play the simple avi files via BrowsePC but i cant play MKV caz it says "Unrecognized format". The weird thing is that i tried to play same file via USB connection and it PLAYS the exact same files. Am i doing something wrong or is it this this model/general Philips TV's issue.
    Tnx in advance for ur help

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 1,938, Level: 12
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    117
    Points
    1,938
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi jenia,

    Which media server are you using? When streaming media you have to make sure both server and client support the file format you try to play back.

    For example WMP does not support MKV streaming (at least as far as I know), you can check Wild Media Server which has lots of features and a 30 day trial version.

    Regards,

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,064, Level: 8
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,064
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Ok tnx. I didnt know WMP dont support MKV. Now changed to TVersity and it works better. Sadly as we all cant watch DTS coded mkv's which imo is completely absurd since from all movies i have in mkv i have only like 2 coded in AC3. Any1 knows if its gonna be fixed in next firmware and when it supposed to come out?

  4. #4
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    DTS support I think will never come...
    (It requires a license.)

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,064, Level: 8
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,064
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Srsly??? Wow. That's just pathetic. Its a standard codec now for like 95% of movies ... its like not supporting MP3....

  6. #6
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Yes, I know. I think there is no other major brand that does not support DTS. Only Philips TVs have this limitation. Very annoying...

    They should support at least DTS out through SPDIF...

  7. #7
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,475, Level: 70
    Level completed: 95%, Points required for next Level: 75
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,060
    Points
    52,475
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    They should support at least DTS out through SPDIF...
    Hi,

    full Ack! I'd really like to passthrough the Hi-Def sound streams to my receiver...

    Toengel@Alex

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 913, Level: 7
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1
    Points
    913
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Try converting the mkv with other codecs. A good freeware converter is "any video converter".

    My Philips 46PFL7605 couldn't read mkv files that contained dts audio codec. I converted this to ac3 and it works well.

    For Video I use H264 codec.

    Just try different codecs. Good luck!

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,064, Level: 8
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,064
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yes i know, thats what I'm doing. Imo its just absurd that after paying such an amount of money for TV I have to spend more time for converting all the movies so i can watch them on TV while as far as i know all/most of other companies already supporting this standard long ago.
    And btw its better to use audio converter such as popcorn mkv. Works much faster for this particular cause - about 5-7 mins per movie instead 2 hrs for video converters since they are decoding the video too even if u dont want them to (at least i didnt found video converter that had option of audio editing only)

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,064, Level: 12
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    PARIS- FRANCE
    Posts
    21
    Points
    2,064
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    Yes, I know. I think there is no other major brand that does not support DTS. Only Philips TVs have this limitation. Very annoying...

    They should support at least DTS out through SPDIF...
    Hi

    Philips TV doesn't support DTS but some Philips sound-bar with blue-ray player support DTS, like The HTS 9140/12 , you can stream MKV vith DTS files through the network with HTS 9140.

    Regards

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •