Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 46
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,128, Level: 8
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    8
    Points
    1,128
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Error when updating SA3MUS

    Hi,

    When i connect my gogear SA3MUS to my pc and check for updated firmware, Songbird asks me to connect it in repair mode, when i do, it says installing new firmware and then it says error updating firmware. The battery is fully charged before i do that, what am i doing wrong?

    Thanks,
    Sameh.

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,077, Level: 8
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 73
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    31
    Points
    1,077
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hey Sameh
    Just a suggestion- maybe try doing a soft reset, i use a pin to press the button on the player if I'm having problems, then connect to PC again?
    This usually works for me!

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 1,128, Level: 8
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    8
    Points
    1,128
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SoundWave View Post
    Hey Sameh
    Just a suggestion- maybe try doing a soft reset, i use a pin to press the button on the player if I'm having problems, then connect to PC again?
    This usually works for me!
    Hi,

    Thanks for your reply. I already tried resetting it several times and still the same problem

    Regards,
    Sameh.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,051, Level: 8
    Level completed: 51%, Points required for next Level: 99
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    21
    Points
    1,051
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Sameh

    I would try re-installing songbird directly from the support page below and then complete a full repair by selecting “Repair my Philips Device” under the tools menu and then try the firmware update if required.

    http://www.philips.co.uk/c/mp3-and-m...prd/?t=support

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 1,128, Level: 8
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    8
    Points
    1,128
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Sync,

    Thanks for your reply.I did that, i got the same error when repairing and now the device won't power on, it just shows RK28 connected when i connect it to pc.

    Regards,
    Sameh.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 902, Level: 7
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    902
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Sameh View Post
    Hi Sync,

    Thanks for your reply.I did that, i got the same error when repairing and now the device won't power on, it just shows RK28 connected when i connect it to pc.

    Regards,
    Sameh.

    Followed all these suggestions. l also have had this same exact problem. Same exact result. I returned it to Amazon and they are sending a replacement. I think I will hold off on firmware updates until it is certain that this issue has been addressed.

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,051, Level: 8
    Level completed: 51%, Points required for next Level: 99
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    21
    Points
    1,051
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Sameh,

    I had a similar problem with my SA3MUS when trying to update the firmware. Re-installing the latest version of songbird did help.

    I'd check again that the upgrade of Philips Songbird was successful. Click on "help" and then "about Philips songbird". The most up to date version is 2.5.4. if you have anything below this you would need to still update the version.
    (completely uninstall from your PC and re-install the support page version).

    Use the Philips songbird available at there support page. Here's another link below:

    http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/d...=Link_Software

    Once installed try the rest again when connected to power (using the pin to hold down the reset button for about 10 seconds) before using the new songbird to repair your player. It sounds like a lot to do but this is the best way to resolve most issues. Let's hope that will help to remove the error message!

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 902, Level: 7
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    902
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Sync,

    All of these errors that occurred for me in the same manner as Sameh happened while using the latest version 2.5.4.

  9. #9
    Philips - Cassandra
    Guest
    Hi Everyone,

    This is not something that we have heard of before and would like to look into this for those experiencing the issue.

    Sameh, please check your inbox. I have sent some further information as I would need some details about your player for our technical team to look into this for you.

    Kind regards,
    Cassandra

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 906, Level: 7
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 44
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    1
    Points
    906
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Cassandra View Post
    Hi Everyone,

    This is not something that we have heard of before and would like to look into this for those experiencing the issue.

    Sameh, please check your inbox. I have sent some further information as I would need some details about your player for our technical team to look into this for you.

    Kind regards,
    Cassandra
    Please help me, I have the exact same problem!

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 935, Level: 7
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 15
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    genoa, italy
    Posts
    8
    Points
    935
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Cassandra View Post
    Hi Everyone,

    This is not something that we have heard of before and would like to look into this for those experiencing the issue.

    Sameh, please check your inbox. I have sent some further information as I would need some details about your player for our technical team to look into this for you.

    Kind regards,
    Cassandra
    I have the same problem, and the only solution for me is bring the player in assistence yesterday.
    I hope they fix the problem (the tecnician said me it tooks over a month to get my SA3MUS16 back )

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 902, Level: 7
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    902
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Just received my replacement from Amazon today. I noticed that a new version of Songbird 2.5.6 was also released recently. I'm still hesitant to update my 1.34 firmware to whatever the latest version is.

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 935, Level: 7
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 15
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    genoa, italy
    Posts
    8
    Points
    935
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by killjoyxp View Post
    Just received my replacement from Amazon today. I noticed that a new version of Songbird 2.5.6 was also released recently. I'm still hesitant to update my 1.34 firmware to whatever the latest version is.
    I suggest you DO NOT UPDATE with 2.5.6, this may brick your player.....

  14. #14
    New Member
    Points: 892, Level: 7
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 58
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    5
    Points
    892
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Chilobe again, fogot password, made new account, I sent an email to amazon explaining my situation, they have sent a replacement, first class delivery and have even paid for the items return and collection!! Is anyone actually on this latest firmware?

  15. #15
    New Member
    Points: 902, Level: 7
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    902
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Alright, I did a small test on my newly arrived replacement unit to see if maybe it was the player and not Songbird. I tried powering on in repair mode without doing anything else. Not plugging it in, not checking for firmware update. Just doing it cold to see what would happen (Vol+ & Power on). Same kind of thing would happen as with the firmware update, wouldn't power on, looked dead. Hit reset with a paper clip and then powered on normally and it came on fine. I all these similar issues might has something to do with the player trying to go into repair mode.

    I really hope this issue can get resolved soon as the player has some amazing sound quality.

    (I do have to say, though, that the bundled earphones are some of the best sounding bundled earphones I've heard)
    Last edited by killjoyxp; 10-09-2011 at 04:58 AM.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •