Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 38
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,097, Level: 8
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 53
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Skopje/Macedonia
    Posts
    14
    Points
    1,097
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy Can't play .mkv files after firmware upgrade

    Hi, my TV come with Q5521_0. 75.13.54 firmware so I naturally decided to do an upgrade to the latest firmware Q5521_0.140.39.0 and now it seems that I can't play .mkv files anymore except for smaller ones. Can you please advice me what to do????

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,097, Level: 8
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 53
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Skopje/Macedonia
    Posts
    14
    Points
    1,097
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I didn't mention that the model is 42PFL5405H/12

  3. #3
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,311, Level: 69
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 839
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,965
    Points
    50,311
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    see: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...TS-and-Blu-ray)

    Only some Levels (High, Main) of H264 are supported...

    (But this does not explain why it does work with the old non-140.x firmware...)

    Toengel@Alex

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,097, Level: 8
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 53
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Skopje/Macedonia
    Posts
    14
    Points
    1,097
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Toengel, thanks for your replay. I'm trying to play the same files that I could play before the upgrade. I don't know how could this happen. It seems that now I can only play small .mkv files. I'v tried playing some sample files (under 1GB) and I can play them, but when I try to play a full movie (>4GB) it gives me a message "the file is missing or could not be read".

    Please help me because .mkv files is the main reason I bought this model!!! And now it's unusable

  5. #5
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,311, Level: 69
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 839
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,965
    Points
    50,311
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    please: take a look at you MKVs and the used codecs and H.264 level! You can use the freeware mediainfo for reading these parameters (mediainfo.sourceforge.net).

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,097, Level: 8
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 53
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Skopje/Macedonia
    Posts
    14
    Points
    1,097
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    hi, i'm curently at work but i'll check for sure. but i can gurantee for sure that i've played this files before! where can i find older firmware or is there new coming?

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,097, Level: 8
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 53
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Skopje/Macedonia
    Posts
    14
    Points
    1,097
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    This is the output for the video file:

    General
    Unique ID : 204205009369263394315297534381454399469 (0x99A07448AAD00CCE9A39B472345A17ED)
    Complete name : H:\Filmovi\Rango.2011.720p.Bluray.x264-VeDeTT\vedett-rango.720p.mkv
    Format : Matroska
    Format version : Version 2
    File size : 4.37 GiB
    Duration : 1h 51mn
    Overall bit rate : 5 596 Kbps
    Encoded date : UTC 2011-06-26 16:30:23
    Writing application : mkvmerge v4.8.0 ('I Got The...') built on May 24 2011 03:12:58
    Writing library : libebml v1.2.0 + libmatroska v1.1.0

    Video
    ID : 1
    Format : AVC
    Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
    Format profile : High@L3.1
    Format settings, CABAC : Yes
    Format settings, ReFrames : 5 frames
    Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
    Duration : 1h 51mn
    Bit rate : 4 086 Kbps
    Width : 1 280 pixels
    Height : 528 pixels
    Display aspect ratio : 2.40:1
    Frame rate : 23.976 fps
    Color space : YUV
    Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
    Bit depth : 8 bits
    Scan type : Progressive
    Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.252
    Stream size : 3.11 GiB (71%)
    Writing library : x264 core 115 r2008 4c552d8
    Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=5 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x3:0x133 / me=umh / subme=7 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.00 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=0 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 / threads=6 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / interlaced=0 / bluray_compat=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=2 / b_adapt=2 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / weightb=1 / open_gop=0 / weightp=2 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=23 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=50 / rc=2pass / mbtree=1 / bitrate=4086 / ratetol=1.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=0 / qpmax=69 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:1.00
    Language : English

  8. #8
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,311, Level: 69
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 839
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,965
    Points
    50,311
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    Format profile : High@L3.1

    isn't supported anymore!

    Toengel@Alex

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,097, Level: 8
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 53
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Skopje/Macedonia
    Posts
    14
    Points
    1,097
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    so where can i find older firmware? it unacceptable for me that new firmware has less supported format than older! it's nonsense!!! now all my mkv files are useless or should i say the tv is useless. i want my old firmware.

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,097, Level: 8
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 53
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Skopje/Macedonia
    Posts
    14
    Points
    1,097
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Toegel, please help me with my issue. I know that downgrade is not supported by Philips, but as far as I saw it's doable. As I understood the TV has Linux-like firmware and it has two partitions (active and passive) and if the upgrade (downgrade) is unsuccessful you can switch to the back-up partition. So I'm willing to do the downgrade (to an earlier version) that supports this kind of mkv files. BTW, why in the release notes there isn't anything about this, nobody expects that will lose some features after an upgrade.

    P.S. Can the firmware downgrade be done by the certified Philips service in my country?
    P.P.S. I really need this to work

    Regards
    Ratko

  11. #11
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,311, Level: 69
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 839
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,965
    Points
    50,311
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    as far as I know the downgrad is only supported within a software branche: 140.xx to 140.xx BUT NOT 140.xx to 7x.xx

    So I think you need to change your MKV files...

    Toengel@Alex

  12. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,097, Level: 8
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 53
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Skopje/Macedonia
    Posts
    14
    Points
    1,097
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    btw... changing my .mkv files means re-downloading 4-5 TB of video material.

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,097, Level: 8
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 53
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Skopje/Macedonia
    Posts
    14
    Points
    1,097
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    and Format profile : High@L3.1 is not supported in any of the 140.xx software branch??? If it's supported in any of these I will downgrade to that one. Where can they be downloaded?

    Thanks

  14. #14
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,311, Level: 69
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 839
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,965
    Points
    50,311
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    only Main@L3.0, L3.1 and L3.2

    and

    High@L4.0 and L4.1

    are supported.

    Toengel@Alex

  15. #15
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,097, Level: 8
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 53
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Skopje/Macedonia
    Posts
    14
    Points
    1,097
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    only Main@L3.0, L3.1 and L3.2

    and

    High@L4.0 and L4.1

    are supported.

    Toengel@Alex
    this is for the whole branch 140.xx???

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •