Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 100
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #16
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,368, Level: 13
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    32PFL7606K FW Q5551-0.14.93.0_bld11a
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,368
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Displaying subtitles for videos played through DNLA would really be nice.

    It should be possible for us to do this with a some effort and programming skills using the Jointspace API. With that, it's possible to overlay text over the TV image.

    One way to do this would be to write a separate (external) Control Endpoint (e.g. running on the DNLA Server) that has access to the subtitle files. It would then start&control the playback on the TV and at the same time render the subtitles through remoteJointspace.

    What I'm not sure though whether the control endpoint has information on the current playing positon, which is needed to synchronize the subtitles. Otherwise, the subtitle overlay through Jointspace must probably embedded directly into the DNLA server.

    Update: I actually have something in the back of my mind that Philips bought and extended a DNLA Media Server software. Maybe Philips can use Jointspace to make this extension directly into the media server?

    Update2: New facts: DLNA _does_ support external subtitles,
    see below for details.
    Last edited by matthias; 06-01-2012 at 08:15 AM. Reason: New facts: DLNA _does_ support external subtitles

  2. #17
    New Member
    Points: 493, Level: 5
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 57
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5
    Points
    493
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks bluevoice, I've read your previous post and I'm accepting to resign the feature until Philips changes his mind.

    Meanwhile, user adb1973 write about PS3 Media Server. Seems to have the hability to transcode the video and add subtitles on the fly. Maybe what our TV doesn't support can be fixed at the DLNA side with no effort.

    Anyone tested it on a Philips TV? Maybe what our TV doesn't support can be done at the Server side with no additional effort.


    Quote Originally Posted by bluevoice View Post
    I spoke to a Philips representative on this matter and he told me Philips is not going to implement this function (subs via DLNA) as they think the costs are greater than the advantages of having this function. Besides, according to Philips, there's just a small user base that uses DLNA streaming and even a smaller base of customers using subs via DLNA. I told them for not English natives this function is a must but he told me it's not going to happen.

    Personnally, I never use the DLNA function because of the lack of subs. Now I have to copy a movie and subs to a USB stick and plug it in the TV or Bluray player. Why make things better?

  3. #18
    New Member
    Points: 619, Level: 6
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 131
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    7
    Points
    619
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by damian_gtn View Post
    Thanks bluevoice, I've read your previous post and I'm accepting to resign the feature until Philips changes his mind.

    Meanwhile, user adb1973 write about PS3 Media Server. Seems to have the hability to transcode the video and add subtitles on the fly. Maybe what our TV doesn't support can be fixed at the DLNA side with no effort.

    Anyone tested it on a Philips TV? Maybe what our TV doesn't support can be done at the Server side with no additional effort.
    Yes I did and it works ) It's not the most comprehensible DLNA server but it's working well and it's free. Apart from that it's platform independent afaik.

    @philips: yeah... If your hardware is super, but your software implementation and UI are crappy on more than a few points nobody is going to use those features. When do you learn?? So cut the crap about 'costs and benefi' and start to live up to you own slogan!

  4. #19
    Gold Member
    Points: 6,624, Level: 24
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience Points
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    361
    Points
    6,624
    Level
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by adb1973 View Post
    Yes I did and it works ) It's not the most comprehensible DLNA server but it's working well and it's free. Apart from that it's platform independent afaik.
    Does it work well? Where can I download this PS3 Media Server, do you have a link? I'd like to give it a try on my Qnap 219 NAS.

  5. #20
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,014, Level: 8
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,014
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

  6. #21
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,368, Level: 13
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    32PFL7606K FW Q5551-0.14.93.0_bld11a
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,368
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    we checked if there is any possibility to add Subtitles also to network streamed files.
    Sorry to say but with the current DLNA Standards and implimentations this is not possible.
    Sorry, but I have to disagree with this.

    The DLNA standard actually does support additional subtitle (.srt) files, and is already used by many DNLA media renderers, e.g. Philips HMP5000, Samsung B/C/D TV series, LG TV/player, Panasonic Viera and WD TV HD Live (see profiles.xml from Serviio Media Server and their page on subtitle support for details).
    It is specified in the DMR profile by using e.g. <SubtitlesMimeType>text/srt</SubtitlesMimeType>


    This is what serviio returns as item within the ContentDirectory: "urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:ContentDirectory:1"

    <item id="V_T^INI_65^V_9" parentID="V_T^INI_65" restricted="1">
    <dc:title>Arzak Rhapsody 01</dc:title>
    <upnp:class>object.item.videoItem</upnp:class>
    <res protocolInfo="http-get:*:video/x-msvideoLNA.ORG_PN=AVI;DLNA.ORG_OP=01;DLNA.ORG_CI=0;DLNA.O RG_FLAGS=01500000000000000000000000000000">http://192.168.178.27:8895/resource/9/MEDIA_ITEM/AVI*0</res>
    <res protocolInfo="http-get:*:image/jpegLNA.ORG_PN=JPEG_TN;DLNA.ORG_OP=00;DLNA.ORG_CI=1;DL NA.ORG_FLAGS=00D00000000000000000000000000000">htt p://192.168.178.27:8895/resource/9/COVER_IMAGE</res>
    <res protocolInfo="http-get:*:text/srt:*">http://192.168.178.27:8895/resource/9/SUBTITLE.srt</res>
    </item>


    As you can see, the URI to the .srt file is given in the media directory and can be read through HTTP.

    Now it's just a matter of the Philips TV to actually detect and load the text/srt resource entry and display it like an USB-based srt file.

    I realize Philips' limited manpower in adding such functions, but of course I still hope to see this one day in the distant future as firmware update for our TVs.

    Matthias

    Update: Technical stuff
    One additional note: The reason to assume that the DLNA spec doesn't support external subtitles, is probably, because it's already supported but not mentioned explicitly.
    That assumption is wrong, however: One or several external subtitle files can be added like any other additional resource, such as JPEG thumbnails, to the ContentDirectory.

    This document on AVTransport mentions this (p.56&58), but even though people from Philips are listed as co-authors, it didn't seem to have spread around the company.

    Update: Actually, as the HMP5000 supports external subtitles through DLNA, it _did_ spread around, just not to the TV guys.
    Last edited by matthias; 06-05-2012 at 12:11 PM. Reason: Added Philips HMP5000

  7. #22
    New Member
    Points: 493, Level: 5
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 57
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5
    Points
    493
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by el_lama View Post
    I've tested both.

    Serviio doesnt work for me. I couldn't get subtitles in the transcode.

    PS3 media server really works like a charm!!!!

    Thanks adb1973!!!

  8. #23
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,368, Level: 13
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    32PFL7606K FW Q5551-0.14.93.0_bld11a
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,368
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by damian_gtn View Post
    Serviio doesnt work for me. I couldn't get subtitles in the transcode.
    PS3 media server really works like a charm!!!!
    Thanks for this info. You're right, Serviio doesn't do transcoding with subtitles, while PS3 MS does.
    (You're lucky, as unfortunately, my DLNA NAS is not powerful enough todo realtime transcoding).
    Last edited by matthias; 06-01-2012 at 05:45 AM.

  9. #24
    Gold Member
    Points: 6,624, Level: 24
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience Points
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    361
    Points
    6,624
    Level
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by el_lama View Post
    Thanks for the links! I just tested the PS3 media server on my Mac and it works great, subtitles are also displayed! This is nice.

    However I keep all my movies on a QNAP 219 NAS. This media server is unfortunately not available for the QNAP NAS.

    Any suggestion about a media server that works on a QNAP 219 NAS and also displays subs will be highly appreciated!

  10. #25
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,164, Level: 9
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 186
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    12
    Points
    1,164
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Support of sub-titles over DLNA is indeed feature what Philips must add on their TVs if they want to remain competive. Well, of course in addition to nettv which doesn't actually constantly crash TV.

  11. #26
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,368, Level: 13
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    32PFL7606K FW Q5551-0.14.93.0_bld11a
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,368
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Maybe of interest is this thread:
    The Philips media player HMP5000 does support external .srt subtitles over DLNA.

  12. #27
    Bronze Member
    Points: 490, Level: 5
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 60
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    39
    Points
    490
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I am just thinking if it is possible to show the subtitle, where this file is not linked to the video, but in the same folder? Will it work?

    Thanks in advance.

  13. #28
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,558, Level: 69
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 592
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,982
    Points
    50,558
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 171 Times in 153 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    movie and srt file should have the same name...

    Toengel@Alex

  14. #29
    Gold Member
    Points: 6,624, Level: 24
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience Points
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    361
    Points
    6,624
    Level
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    I installed Serviio Media Server on my Qnap 219P last night and tried the "Philips" profile. Did not work on both my TV (58PFL9956H/12) and HTS (8562/12). Playback stopped after 7 seconds.

    I also tried the "Generic DLNA" profile and on the TV playback worked without stuttering, but no sutitles. On the HTS playback was stuttering.

    It would be nice if someone could make a working profile that works with 2011 Philips devices.

  15. #30
    New Member
    Points: 287, Level: 3
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 63
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    3
    Points
    287
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have both Samsung and LG smart TVs and both have .srt DLNA support out of the box. You browse media server, press play - that's it. It would seem Philips' "smart-TV" sadly just aint as smart as other brands. I regret buying my Philips already.

    Philips: This is standard for other successful brands damn it, just fix it (if not for us do it to keep up with your competitors).
    And what's that talk about the customer base using DLNA with subs aint big? We decide what we want and you sell it to us, not the other way around.

    Response please!

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. 0-10 how you rate your DLNA / streaming experience?
    By christopher in forum Blu-ray: Share Your Wish List and Insights
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 07-15-2013, 11:20 AM
  2. Subtitle support and MKV DTS codec
    By Velocity in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 09:42 AM
  3. BDP5180 - No srt support with DSLN
    By knob2001 in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-15-2011, 05:58 AM
  4. BDP5180 and SRT subtitle issue
    By Shurakai in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-25-2011, 02:53 AM
  5. Sort files by name on external disc
    By klaus in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-15-2010, 09:05 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •