Results 1 to 6 of 6
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 914, Level: 7
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3
    Points
    914
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Quick question about RGB range on my tv

    Hey there.

    I have a 42PFL8404 lcd tv and I have a very quick and straightforward question. I've been googling lots of time about it but can't seem to find an answer so I hope to hear from a Philips technical expert here.

    For RGB outputs (for example, playing a game in my PS3 connected by HDMI) does my tv support Full RGB range (0-255) or does it only support Limited RGB range (16-235)? Because the PS3 has the option to output in either one and I need to know which one does my tv support so I can make an educated decision.

    Thanks a lot in advance for the answer!

    BW,
    Sueisfine.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Points: 914, Level: 7
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3
    Points
    914
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Sueisfine View Post
    Hey there.

    I have a 42PFL8404 lcd tv and I have a very quick and straightforward question. I've been googling lots of time about it but can't seem to find an answer so I hope to hear from a Philips technical expert here.

    For RGB outputs (for example, playing a game in my PS3 connected by HDMI) does my tv support Full RGB range (0-255) or does it only support Limited RGB range (16-235)? Because the PS3 has the option to output in either one and I need to know which one does my tv support so I can make an educated decision.

    Thanks a lot in advance for the answer!

    BW,
    Sueisfine.
    Seriously, can't someone from Philips actually spare 2 minutes of their time to answer such a simple and direct question as this one?

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 5,271, Level: 21
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 279
    Overall activity: 32.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    34
    Points
    5,271
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I'm pretty sure it's a Full RGB TV. As far as I know, the Limited RGB range TVs were just common 5+ years ago, so it's a setting for old flat TVs.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 45,603, Level: 66
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 1,347
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!VeteranOverdrive25000 Experience Points
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2,774
    Points
    45,603
    Level
    66
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 131 Times in 110 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    the TV is not able to give out Full RGB.
    However, the PS3 should fall back to working settings if you activate this option by accident.

    Regards
    Thomas
    [many different Devices]-[many different Versions]-[Astra19,2°E/Cable Germany]-[50Mbit DSL]
    FAQ's, Tipps und Tricks etc

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 914, Level: 7
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3
    Points
    914
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi

    the TV is not able to give out Full RGB.
    However, the PS3 should fall back to working settings if you activate this option by accident.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Ok, I'm a bit surprised that such a modern TV doesn't support Full RGB specially since all HDMI inputs on this TV are HDMI 1.3 (which is supposed to fully support Full RGB) and since it also supports connecting with a PC.

    But anyway, thanks for clearing that out Thomas.

    Cheers,
    Sueisfine.
    Last edited by Sueisfine; 10-14-2011 at 02:26 PM.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 45,603, Level: 66
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 1,347
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!VeteranOverdrive25000 Experience Points
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2,774
    Points
    45,603
    Level
    66
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 131 Times in 110 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    [closed, due to no activity]
    [many different Devices]-[many different Versions]-[Astra19,2°E/Cable Germany]-[50Mbit DSL]
    FAQ's, Tipps und Tricks etc

Similar Topics

  1. Quick button for SleepTimer
    By Hackteck in forum TV Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-19-2011, 11:22 PM
  2. Question about tv settings
    By shankly1985 in forum TV Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-31-2011, 04:58 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •