Page 9 of 28 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 135 of 412
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #121
    Bronze Member
    Points: 918, Level: 7
    Level completed: 84%, Points required for next Level: 32
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13
    Points
    918
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Exclamation

    I have a dcm580/05 With the same problem I have tried to format my USB stick with fat and fat32.
    I have copied the file to 2 USB sticks both formatted in every way conceivable, I have tried the file in a folder out if a folder always unzipped.

    I have followed the insdtictions including unplugging the device for 5 mins and no joy.

    1 unplug the unit
    2 plug in the unit
    3 power on the unit
    4 insert the USB stick
    5 select USB source using the remote control
    6 uniit says no file found

    If I put a mp3 on USB file plays!

    Does any one have any ideas?

    Using this file, unzipped

    dcm580_05_fus_eng.zip
    Version: 45, Zip file, 358.45 KB, Date published: 2011-10-28

    Has anyone done an upgrade to a 580/05
    Also tried power on with the source set to USB no luck

  2. #122
    New Member
    Points: 880, Level: 7
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    9
    Points
    880
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Help for Mac users please

    Reposting:
    My device is a DCM580/12
    I don't succeed; I downloaded the latest firmware, and all the device can tell is either NO FILE, or "reading" and "reading" till I quit after half an hour; I am on a Macintosh, OS10.6, tried to format the usb stick many different ways, and it still is not upgrading; from what I read on this forum, the problem seems to arise from the fact that I'm not working on Windows; or am I doing something else wrong? Help would be welcome for this final step...
    Wrote to Philips, and had a call from someone who told me very nicely to wait for a further update... I assume he wasn't very well informed.
    I'm asking again if a Mac user found a solution when it didn't work like it seems to do for the majority here; or if Philips can provide an accurate answer.
    Thanks again
    Last edited by musicorso; 10-30-2011 at 04:25 PM.

  3. #123
    Bronze Member
    Points: 921, Level: 7
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 29
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    19
    Points
    921
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Help for Mac users please

    Seems philips only supports windows users – even though the device is made vor an apple product.-)

    WOULD PLEASE SOMEONE FROM PHILIPS GIVE CLEAR INSTRUCTIONS FOR MAC USERS

    My device neither reads the firmware on a FAT 16 nor a FAT 32 stick. It always says NO FILE.

    Help please.

  4. #124
    Bronze Member
    Points: 901, Level: 7
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 49
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Ehv, NL
    Posts
    10
    Points
    901
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The same request as Rich. (OSX 10.6) Got myself a new usb stick (FAT) as well.
    Result: NO FILE.
    Conclusion: No result for Apple(!) users.

  5. #125
    New Member
    Points: 865, Level: 7
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 85
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NICE, FRANCE
    Posts
    3
    Points
    865
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Firware 45 works just fine with my DCN 580/12 and iOS5.
    Download from the site here http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?ctn=DCM580/12&slg=en&scy=GB

  6. #126
    Bronze Member
    Points: 921, Level: 7
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 29
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    19
    Points
    921
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ludodolela View Post
    Firware 45 works just fine with my DCN 580/12 and iOS5.
    Download from the site here http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?ctn=DCM580/12&slg=en&scy=GB
    ludodolela, did you download and save the firmware on a mac / apple computer?

  7. #127
    Bronze Member
    Points: 918, Level: 7
    Level completed: 84%, Points required for next Level: 32
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13
    Points
    918
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Angry Dcm/580/05 won't upgrade

    I have a dcm580/05 With the same problem I have tried to format my USB stick with fat and fat32.
    I have copied the file to 2 USB sticks both formatted in every way conceivable, I have tried the file in a folder out of a folder always unzipped.

    I have followed the instructions including unplugging the device for 5 mins from mains and still no joy.

    1 unplug the unit
    2 plug in the unit
    3 power on the unit
    4 insert the USB stick
    5 select USB source using the remote control
    6 uniit says no file found

    If I put a mp3 file on the USB the file plays so USB ok

    Does any one have any ideas?

    Using this file, unzipped

    dcm580_05_fus_eng.zip
    Version: 45, Zip file, 358.45 KB, Date published: 2011-10-28

    Has anyone done an upgrade to a 580/05
    Also tried power on with the source set to USB no luck

  8. #128
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    Hi Joe 90,
    So reading through the posts here, there are successful cases of FAT32 and FAT format. Nainar said his upgrade didn't succeed when there's mp3 in it. After cleaning up the files, and the upgrade works again. Do you have other files along in the same USB?

  9. #129
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    Agree with Rich that it seems that there is some problem for the Mac Users. Support should have be better.
    What I think is that the actions for a Mac user and a Window PC user are similar:
    1) download file
    2) unzip file
    3) format USB
    4) drag file in USB
    5) plug USB in device

    what I think is that for action 1, 4, 5 there should be no difference in the actions/processing for MAC and Window PC.
    the prob should be in 2 and 3.

    Since I m not a Mac user, I don't know if the unzipping process is just the same with normal PC.
    But how about the USB formatting? Is that quite different? Have you try using a USB that with no files in it (absolutely empty one)? I am asking because I see successful cases that users are using a FAT32/ FAT, only with it formatted (no files in it)...

    I am just trying to see what can be the problem

  10. #130
    New Member
    Points: 880, Level: 7
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    9
    Points
    880
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kwinnie View Post
    Agree with Rich that it seems that there is some problem for the Mac Users. Support should have be better.
    What I think is that the actions for a Mac user and a Window PC user are similar:
    1) download file
    2) unzip file
    3) format USB
    4) drag file in USB
    5) plug USB in device

    what I think is that for action 1, 4, 5 there should be no difference in the actions/processing for MAC and Window PC.
    the prob should be in 2 and 3.

    Since I m not a Mac user, I don't know if the unzipping process is just the same with normal PC.
    But how about the USB formatting? Is that quite different? Have you try using a USB that with no files in it (absolutely empty one)? I am asking because I see successful cases that users are using a FAT32/ FAT, only with it formatted (no files in it)...

    I am just trying to see what can be the problem
    You are right, actions are totally similar; zip files automatically unzip after downloading, which gives us the correct file: PHILIPS_DCM580_V45_20111026.MCS, whether we download its french or english version.
    After reading all the posts, of course we do (at least most of mac users, I assume) format the usb stick; on every Mac computer there's a "disk utility" which allows erasing, repairing, and formatting; and of course formatting erases everything on the usb stick; but either FAT or any other way, this phase is not successful enough: copying the update file to the formatted usb stick still does not lead to its recognition by the Philips device.
    And of course none of the above suggestions is relevant, like plugging/unplugging the soundtower, etc: NOTHING WORKS!!
    A further update, or an adequate method, has to be provided, because it is very frustrating to have spent hours trying and failing.
    And to await a proper reply for days and days:
    PHILIPS, HELP, PLEASE?
    Last edited by musicorso; 10-31-2011 at 06:53 AM.

  11. #131
    Bronze Member
    Points: 921, Level: 7
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 29
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    19
    Points
    921
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kwinnie View Post
    Agree with Rich that it seems that there is some problem for the Mac Users. Support should have be better.
    What I think is that the actions for a Mac user and a Window PC user are similar:
    1) download file
    2) unzip file
    3) format USB
    4) drag file in USB
    5) plug USB in device

    what I think is that for action 1, 4, 5 there should be no difference in the actions/processing for MAC and Window PC.
    the prob should be in 2 and 3.

    Since I m not a Mac user, I don't know if the unzipping process is just the same with normal PC.
    But how about the USB formatting? Is that quite different? Have you try using a USB that with no files in it (absolutely empty one)? I am asking because I see successful cases that users are using a FAT32/ FAT, only with it formatted (no files in it)...

    I am just trying to see what can be the problem
    Thanks kwinnie, I share your views. But I really did what I was asked to:

    • USB is absolutely empty, just the firmware in it
      format was FAT16 on stick one (did not work)
      format was FAT32 on stick two (did not work)
      formatting the USB on a Mac is easy via disk utility


    Now, I am asking Philips again: please provide a solution. Otherwise I understand this as a breach of warranty!

  12. #132
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    Thanks Rich, for giving Philips and me more information on the scenario Mac users are facing.
    This needs to be addressed. And again, please give them some time to solve it for this Apple Mac issue...

  13. #133
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,444, Level: 69
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 706
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,974
    Points
    50,444
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    Mac user can try:

    Applications\Utilities\Disc Utility

    There you can format your stick (MS-DOS, FAT).

    Maybe someone can test this...

    Toengel@Alex

  14. #134
    Philips - Cassandra
    Guest
    Hi Everyone,

    Thanks for all of the information, just to let you know we are aware of the problem MAC users are having and our development team is currently looking into it for you.

    Kind regards,
    Cassandra

  15. #135
    Bronze Member
    Points: 921, Level: 7
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 29
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    19
    Points
    921
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Fine. Thanks Cassandra, thanks Philips team.

    I do not think that this is a big issue. In the meantime, I will try to save the firmware on a windows computer to my stick... and see, if this works.

Page 9 of 28 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. DCM278 and Iphone in a pouch
    By ledide in forum Sound: Other Apple Docking Solutions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 08:55 AM
  2. DCM580 "CD locked in demonstration mode"
    By PaoloLeva in forum Sound: Other Apple Docking Solutions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-06-2011, 01:59 PM
  3. Support for PhilipsMyRemote for iPhone
    By Yair in forum Blu-ray: HTS Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-29-2011, 09:16 AM
  4. Iphone appliacation
    By tolgaakcan in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-16-2011, 07:58 AM
  5. SBD8100/10 and iPhone 4
    By JJW in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-03-2010, 05:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •