Results 1 to 13 of 13
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 953, Level: 8
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 197
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Lausanne
    Posts
    6
    Points
    953
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy HTS9140 - doesn't start anymore since upgrade (sept 2011)

    Hi,
    Since I have upgraded online to the latest version of the firmware, I encounter many problems with the hts 9140.
    - At first, the upgrade did not fill properly, and each time I tried to start the device, it tries to upgrade again. After calling support, I removed the network cable, restarted the device, and was then able to upgrade with firmware on a usb key.

    Since this upgrade (can't remember the version, but it is today some weeks old, I would say the version from beginning of september):
    - If the device is plugged in on network, I am unable to start a dvd/blueray disk, even not eject it ! I removed the net cable and then I am able to eject and play dvd/blueray discs again.
    - Today (17.10.2011), our hts9140 just crashed on a mp3 located on the usb key and since then, I am not able to start the device again, with or without the cable plugged in !!! The device just keep saying 'starting' and no picture appears. You can remove the message while selecting a source, but nothing happens... no sound, no image, no dvd read, etc... argh....

    Please help

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    sorry i m not an expert but i have some questions:
    1) can you confirm that the USB upgrade you did last time was completed and was successful?
    2) the usb where the mp3 located is the same usb that contains the firmware and your firmware file is still inside the usb key?
    3) when you plug in the mp3 located usb key in your device, was there any disc inside the disc tray?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 953, Level: 8
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 197
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Lausanne
    Posts
    6
    Points
    953
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi kwinnie,

    1) yes, the usb upgrade complete properly
    2) no, it's another usb key
    3) I am not sure as I was not present, but I think there was no device in the blueray drive. (When I saw the issue, the drive was empty)

    Thanks,
    Yoda

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,113, Level: 72
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 1,437
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,136
    Points
    54,113
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 196 Times in 175 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    I suggest that you remove the power-plug for 2-3 minutes. Also a complete reset to factory defaults should be tested...

    Toengel@Alex

    @kwinnie - you have a full PM mailbox (again ^^)

  5. #5
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    thanks Yoda,
    i m just thinking if that s a software crashed.
    maybe you tried Toengel's advice first... maybe you can go to advance> software version to see what version you are using and if that matches the one in web (as i can see that s v52.01)

    hi Toengel,
    it's weird that i have deleted some messages and i still cant see any incoming ones...

  6. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,113, Level: 72
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 1,437
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,136
    Points
    54,113
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 196 Times in 175 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    @kwinnie
    "kwinnie has exceeded their stored private messages quota and cannot accept further messages until they clear some space."

    Maybe you should contact a moderator who can take a look at it...

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 953, Level: 8
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 197
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Lausanne
    Posts
    6
    Points
    953
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    I suggest that you remove the power-plug for 2-3 minutes. Also a complete reset to factory defaults should be tested...

    Toengel@Alex

    @kwinnie - you have a full PM mailbox (again ^^)
    Hi, already tried power plug off (for 2 hours...), did not change anything.

    I was unable to find how to factory reset... no button, nothing on screen...

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 953, Level: 8
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 197
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Lausanne
    Posts
    6
    Points
    953
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kwinnie View Post
    thanks Yoda,
    i m just thinking if that s a software crashed.
    maybe you tried Toengel's advice first... maybe you can go to advance> software version to see what version you are using and if that matches the one in web (as i can see that s v52.01)
    Hi, how could I without getting anything on screen ?

  9. #9
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    yes nothing on screen... if you put a disc in, will the disc load?
    i m just brainstorming ways to solve this... if a disc loads, maybe you can try downgrade solution/ try to burn the latest fw in a CD and let it load like you watch a dvd...

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 953, Level: 8
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 197
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Lausanne
    Posts
    6
    Points
    953
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The disc just inserts, and nothing happens, even if you switch source to disk and hit play... and so on...

  11. #11
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    ask more ...
    1) how do you know there s a crash with the mp3 file? is there any error message?
    followed by some stupid question:
    2) you are using the correct source? on my tv: hdmi1; hdmi2; side hdmi
    3) you plug in your hdmi cable or analogue cable firmly?
    Last edited by kwinnie; 10-20-2011 at 04:12 AM.

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 953, Level: 8
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 197
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Lausanne
    Posts
    6
    Points
    953
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    1) I haven't seen the issue, my wife reported it. The system just blocked while playing a usual mp3...
    2) yes, double-trippled checked and tried on other hdmi source
    3) yes, and tried with another hdmi cable as well...
    gee...

  13. #13
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear yoda68,

    please get in contact with your local call centre http://www.philips.com/

    Regards,

Similar Topics

  1. HTS9140 software upgrade question - MCU3
    By Lech1 in forum Blu-ray: HTS Series
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-19-2012, 10:19 AM
  2. Cursor navigation remote doesn't work anymore with NetTV
    By Peer in forum Smart TV: Software
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-02-2011, 12:21 PM
  3. WIFI Media Connect doesn't work anymore
    By dgh in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-20-2011, 11:14 AM
  4. philips 22PFL5403D/10 it doesn´t want to start!
    By bamseclaren in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-15-2011, 08:57 AM
  5. IP-EPG doesn't work anymore (after working more than one year)
    By ahasver in forum Smart TV: IP-EPG Program Guide, HbbTV, MHP
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 03-16-2011, 09:52 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •